Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Ad Networks - CPA, CPM, CPL - Millionaire Makers..
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2011, 08:08 AM   #1
Active Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Maybe a scam?

Got an email the other day from someone at "article-writing-services.org" stating that one of their clients is interested in having a banner placed in one of my blog posts. I haven't posted to this blog in several months and it never really generated any money so I lost interest in it. I also doubt in ranks highly from a SEO standpoint.

After going back and forth with some questions the bottom line is they wanted to pay me $10 to place a banner on this post indefinitely which I could size and position however I want. They would pay me through PayPal. I last emailed her asking if they could pay more, but I think they lost interest since I didn't get a reply.

I know they can't do much with my paypal email address other than deposit funds, so I'm trying to figure out if this is some type of scam.

blazr63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:32 PM   #2
HyperActive Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 167
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

I wouldnt think its a scam really.
Sylent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:33 PM   #3
Senior Warrior Member
 
ChrisBa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,127
Thanks: 10
Thanked 507 Times in 401 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

Sound closer to spam than a scam

I'm Living MY DREAM Thanks to AFF PLAYBOOK! You Can Too!



Or Jump on the IM GRIND!
ChrisBa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:32 PM   #4
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
imback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,429
Thanks: 129
Thanked 279 Times in 199 Posts
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBa View Post
Sound closer to spam than a scam
lol this is def the case Spammer do not do anything besides hurt their rep!


Chad

imback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 07:01 AM   #5
Warrior Member
 
goldenbible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Sale, Ohio - aka - The Brunt of All Jokes
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blazr63 View Post
Got an email the other day from someone at "article-writing-services.org" stating that one of their clients is interested in having a banner placed in one of my blog posts. I haven't posted to this blog in several months and it never really generated any money so I lost interest in it. I also doubt in ranks highly from a SEO standpoint.

After going back and forth with some questions the bottom line is they wanted to pay me $10 to place a banner on this post indefinitely which I could size and position however I want. They would pay me through PayPal. I last emailed her asking if they could pay more, but I think they lost interest since I didn't get a reply.

I know they can't do much with my paypal email address other than deposit funds, so I'm trying to figure out if this is some type of scam.
It sounds genuine to me... Maybe a case of a spammer, but I wouldn't be so hasty to make that call...

goldenbible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:15 PM   #6
HyperActive Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

oohhh it's a bad luck !!!

if it is was not a scam then you surely lost some dollars. did they reply your email anytime? if not then it is a scam. in this type of case continuous contact is necessary.

but you should be glad some people still have taste on your that blog. so start putting posts on that blog again. hope this time you will not miss the opportunity to check whether these are scam or not.

best of luck
businesswarrior121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:29 PM   #7
Active Warrior
 
Flugelbinders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 30
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

you have been spammed my friend
Flugelbinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 07:42 AM   #8
Warrior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to InternetContentCreation
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

Its weird because I got a similar email once to a random blog I used to have and it was actually true and the person who emailed bought quite a lot of banners, it was quite random really.

There offering to pay you money so as long as the funds are in your bank account I'd say go for it

InternetContentCreation.com
Special Offer! - 500 Word Article only $1.00
InternetContentCreation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 12:14 PM   #9
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Moneyerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Living Free
Posts: 325
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: Maybe a scam?

That may not be the spam because their client may have the relevant website as yours and want to divert your visitors towards him. Some companies search the high PR websites relevant to their services or products, and offer a reasonable amount to their webmasters for publishing their ads there to increase their sale. So in my opinion it was a genuine mail.
Moneyerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Ad Networks - CPA, CPM, CPL - Millionaire Makers..

Tags
blog, paypal, scam

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 PM.