Keyword with 104156 impressions, 1120 clicks at $0.08 each?

15 replies
Wow, managed to find a keyword that has:
104156 impressions, 1120 clicks (per month) at $0.08 each

That's cool. So I searched for an offer for this and this offer's details:
EPC: $0.079, Payout: $2.65 / Lead

So it seems like if I deliver 100 clicks, it should cost me about $8 to an offer of $2.65 per lead.

Do you think it's worthwhile to test this out for a PPC campaign? I know I have to test, test and test but I'm just looking at maths before I select the right keywords and offers.
#$008 #1120 #clicks #impressions #keyword
  • Profile picture of the author SerpSlayer
    Yes, many times the network epc is low, especially if the campaign has been around a while. So with a little tweaking, many times you can easily get several times the network epc.
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  • Profile picture of the author Joseph Then
    The beauty of this keyword is that it's quite a general term but within a niche so I can always shift different offers of the same niche.
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  • Profile picture of the author Greedy
    Yes, give it a few tests if you are confident in it.

    Trust your gut, don't over look things too much.

    Good Luck
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  • Profile picture of the author zeroaffiliate
    Yes. And remember to drop it when you hit your budget. Don't get emotional attach to it. =)
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  • Profile picture of the author chintz24
    Originally Posted by Joseph Then View Post

    Wow, managed to find a keyword that has:
    104156 impressions, 1120 clicks (per month) at $0.08 each

    That's cool. So I searched for an offer for this and this offer's details:
    EPC: $0.079, Payout: $2.65 / Lead

    So it seems like if I deliver 100 clicks, it should cost me about $8 to an offer of $2.65 per lead.

    Do you think it's worthwhile to test this out for a PPC campaign? I know I have to test, test and test but I'm just looking at maths before I select the right keywords and offers.
    Damn, I had to reply since i saw this second post of yours with epc vs ppc.
    Dont get too mathematical, it isn't as easy as getting the ppc lower than the epc. Epc is directly proportional to conversion rate. Get your conversion rate high snd you will directly increase the epc.
    Ppc is related inversely to ctr, get your ctr higher and lower the PPC.

    It is not as simple as this that since epc is 0.5 and ppc is 0.05, for every click you send you will earn 0.45.
    Every click you send should convert.
    Focus on the strategy I mentioned above and you will understand everything better. Dont relate epc with ppc directly because there are too many metrics involved. Even those like eCPA, eCPC, etc which wont be understandable.

    Thanks
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    • Profile picture of the author volkansen
      Originally Posted by chintz24 View Post

      It is not as simple as this that since epc is 0.5 and ppc is 0.05, for every click you send you will earn 0.45

      Every click you send should convert.
      Nope, not his every click should convert, if it did his EPC would be $2.65 equal to offer payout.

      @Joseph
      In theory if you can manage a $0.08 CPC, you conversion rate should be atleast 3.02% to break even, if the network EPC is $0.079 then the network wise conversion rate is 2.98% , with a good offer 3% CR shouldn't be a problem IF your keyword isn't something irrelevant.
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  • Profile picture of the author Joseph Then
    So, when I reach about 100 clicks for this keyword and I realized that it's not converting, do I ditch that offer and look for a new offer for the keywords? Is 100+ clicks enough data to decide?
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  • Profile picture of the author TheMadHatter
    If the clicks cost almost .08 and the epc is .08 then when you send 100 clicks through, if you hit the network average epc, you will break even. If you can do this then focus on optimizing and your epc will be higher than the networks and you can profit. On the other side of things you could end up making less than the network average with the traffic and lose money. I have seen both. If you break even or a little below, I would suggest trying to improve it but don't put too much more money into it.
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  • Profile picture of the author Joseph Then
    Well, I've reach 100+ clicks and not a single conversion. Looks like it's time to change to another offer of the same niche?
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  • Profile picture of the author TheMadHatter
    It is possible that the traffic from the keyword is not good. To be sure, given that the traffic is consistent and fairly cheap, I would try 2 more times with different offers. If none of them convert then I would scrap the keyword.

    If your offers were worth 50$+ it would be worth further testing but only if you have the money to lose, up to 30$ or 40$ and see if you get a sale. At that point if you weren't making a ROI, I would also say scrap the keyword.

    Hopefully this helps.
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  • Profile picture of the author Joseph Then
    OK, nice results after I changed the offer:

    PPC Campaign: 57 clicks, $0.07 bid, $3.99 spent
    CPA: 57 clicks, $1.30 CPA, 2 conversion, $2.60 earned

    Looks like a loss but I'm thinking of tightening the keywords to just Exact match. Currently I'm targeting only Phrase and Exact match.

    What other things should I do?
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  • Profile picture of the author ChrisBa
    Originally Posted by Joseph Then View Post

    Wow, managed to find a keyword that has:
    104156 impressions, 1120 clicks (per month) at $0.08 each

    That's cool. So I searched for an offer for this and this offer's details:
    EPC: $0.079, Payout: $2.65 / Lead

    So it seems like if I deliver 100 clicks, it should cost me about $8 to an offer of $2.65 per lead.

    Do you think it's worthwhile to test this out for a PPC campaign? I know I have to test, test and test but I'm just looking at maths before I select the right keywords and offers.
    It's always worthwhile to test, that's the only way you will even know what will work
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  • Profile picture of the author TheMadHatter
    You should test those settings imo. You should also test doing broad match at .04c per click and see if you are still getting decent traffic. If so you should break even. I would also test the other offers out as well at the .04c per click and see if one of them is a hit which you can profitably scale up. I would test this on both the broad and exact search. This is good experience either way and is fairly safe.
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  • Profile picture of the author espresso
    what CPC company is this
    Google?
    I thought they hated affiliate marketing
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  • Profile picture of the author TheMadHatter
    Google will ban you for affiliate marketing in my opinion and as far ask my experience tells if you do either of these two things.

    1. Attempt to direct link

    2. Trademark infringement. You have to know what is trademarked and what isn't before you start submitting campaigns or u can get the banhammer.

    Other than that just follow iframing / cloaking practices and you will be good.
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