Strategy for Amazon Site

6 replies
I'm experienced in SEO and Adsense, but am new to the Amazon game. I recently stumbled across a product-based niche that I'd like to pursue. Because it's product based, I think Amazon will be the best way to go.

A Few Details:
  • A product-based niche
  • Extremely low competition (I'm confident I can rank at #1 in Google's SERPs without any backlinks).
  • ~3,000 exact matches/mo.
  • Average product price on Amazon: $10-$20

I realize I won't make a lot of money with this, but I think it will take minimal work to be successful. My questions are:

(1) Am I wasting my time with this? I know what to expect traffic wise from the stats, but I don't know how well that traffic will convert. Specifically (a) What is a good CTR for an Amazon Associate site? for a store? for a review site? (b) what percentage of those clicks might convert to sales?

(2) Would it be best to set this site up as a store with little content, or as a review site with more content? The review site will rank easily, but I'm not sure I can justify the cost to purchase the content. The store, I'm afraid, might require minimal work to rank.

Thanks for the help!
#amazon #site #strategy
  • Profile picture of the author d0r1n
    Around 3.000 exact match searches per month and extremely low competition? For me personally, this sounds too good to be true.

    You shouldn't be afraid to promote low-ticket items just because your commission will be lower. I learned the hard way that, the more expensive the product is, the more time it will require (for your visitor) to decide and make a purchase (within that 24h time frame).

    When I started with one of my affiliate sites, I used to promote a product from the Electronics category, priced around $350 - $700. The CTR from my site to Amazon was OKish, but my conversion rate was quite low. When the price is higher people need more time to decide, you also need to have detailed reviews and you also have to do a little bit of preselling.

    Consider the following scenario.. how many reviews (if any) would you need to buy a $5 potato peeler?

    I think it's easier to sell a cheaper product.

    As with the content... the more (quality) content, the better.
    I personally prefer review sites or hobby sites instead of stores.

    PS: how exactly do you measure the competition? I'm asking because at 3.000 EM searches a month there will probably be another few thousands long tails and I really doubt there's no (or "extremely" low as you mentioned) competition for that kw.

    Hope this help,
    Dorin
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    • Profile picture of the author ChristianSites
      Thanks for the reply Dorin.

      When you say the CTR was decent, what is considered decent? With Adsense, I aim for 2-5% (I know other people will go for much higher, but I'm happy with this).

      As for the competition, when the phrase is searched, there is one exact match website (title of site/page, not domains), and there is one Youtube video with the exact match. The other sites are PR2-5, with one PR N/A. None of them are exactly what the keyword is, though. I'm banking on nailing the term exactly in content, I think. It might fly; it might not. But I should know if it's worth more investment quickly.
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      • Profile picture of the author d0r1n
        Let's say I have 100 daily visitors, and a 5% CTR.

        1) if I monetize my website with AdSense, 5% from 100 visitors gives me 5 clicks on the ads and a small commission.

        2) if I monetize my website with Amazon, with ONLY 5% CTR from my website to Amazon means that I just sent Amazon 5 potential clients. If none of those visitors buy, I won't earn a penny.

        With Amazon affiliate website I always have in mind my site-to-Amazon CTR (the visits I refer to Amazon) and the conversion rate on Amazon.

        Lets take the 100 visits a day imaginary demo from above.
        100 visits a day x 30 days = 3000 visits a month
        CTR to Amazon = 5%
        3000 x 5% = 150 visitors sent to Amazon

        How much do you think you can earn from those 150 clicks?

        Just make sure you sent enough visitors to Amazon. From my content I link to Amazon multiple times. My CTR (from my site to Amazon) is between 15% to 40% but it fluctuates very very much depending on the product, the content type, the niche, the content length, etc.

        A friend of mine is promoting a product priced around $50. She has around 350 visitors a day and she is currently selling around 15 to 20 products a day. Last time I talked to her she was earning around $600 from that little website if I remember well. Until now her monthly traffic kept growing but with all the search engine algo updates you never know what could happen tomorrow.

        All the best,
        Dorin
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  • Profile picture of the author ChrisBa
    Originally Posted by ChristianSites View Post

    I'm experienced in SEO and Adsense, but am new to the Amazon game. I recently stumbled across a product-based niche that I'd like to pursue. Because it's product based, I think Amazon will be the best way to go.

    A Few Details:
    • A product-based niche
    • Extremely low competition (I'm confident I can rank at #1 in Google's SERPs without any backlinks).
    • ~3,000 exact matches/mo.
    • Average product price on Amazon: $10-$20

    I realize I won't make a lot of money with this, but I think it will take minimal work to be successful. My questions are:

    (1) Am I wasting my time with this? I know what to expect traffic wise from the stats, but I don't know how well that traffic will convert. Specifically (a) What is a good CTR for an Amazon Associate site? for a store? for a review site? (b) what percentage of those clicks might convert to sales?

    (2) Would it be best to set this site up as a store with little content, or as a review site with more content? The review site will rank easily, but I'm not sure I can justify the cost to purchase the content. The store, I'm afraid, might require minimal work to rank.

    Thanks for the help!
    1. I wouldn't even think about this to start. Just start the site and these questions will all be answered

    2. Get as much content is possible. I wouldn't do a store, at min I'd do a review site with as much content as possible.
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    • Profile picture of the author ChristianSites
      Dorin - thanks for the reply. Those numbers help me get an idea of what range to aim for.

      Christ - (1) I want to run some numbers, to see if I should invest resources in this site or another. As for (2), how would you structure a review site? I assume 1 product per page. How long would you make a review, though, of a $10-20 product? 300 words? 500? I know longer is better for a variety of reasons, but I must balance the investment in content with what I will make. Also, can I copy reviews from Amazon, to supplement the content?

      Thanks for all your help.
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  • Profile picture of the author pvk1000
    HI.

    I am a Newbie and would like to start with Amazon affiliate site. Can i have any advice plz.
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