Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2009, 11:36 AM   #1
Active Warrior
War Room Member
 
Robcarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 46
Thanks: 22
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Adsense phishing threat

PC Mag reported this this morning. Thought I'd pas it on...better to be safe than sorry.

"Domain Name Wire has a story with a warning for Google Adsense clients: A well-designed phishing campaign is underway against them.
The blogger himself received the e-mail and says it's the closest he's ever come to falling for one of these things, partly because it's really well-done and partly because his circumstances were such that the scam was all the more believable.
The e-mail tells the recipient that their AdSense account is disabled. It doesn't specify reasons. It uses proper English and seems to be based on an actual e-mail Google uses under these circumstances. The issue with his circumstances was that one of his sites got an unusually large number of clicks the day before, so he thought maybe Google found abuse.
But there were some other tip-offs in the e-mail that it was not right: There was no displayed To: address and no name in the salutation. And it has an attachment named "Invalid Clicks Appeal.html". The file opens a URL at 110MB.com.
Always be skeptical of e-mail, but e-mails related to important accounts like Adsense deserve extra scrutiny."

Robcarl
Robcarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 02:11 PM   #2
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 172
Thanks: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Adsense phishing threat

Personal policies ...
if I don't expect an email, I assume it is a scam.
ALWAYS hover over links to see the actual URL before clicking on it, Even better, go to a browser and visit the website yourself.
And never open an attachment unless you expect it.

evertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum

Tags
adsense, phishing, threat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 AM.