![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 |
| websiteshostingreviews.co War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Blenheim, New Zealand.
Posts: 490
Thanks: 221
Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
|
I have been noticing in my Statcounter stats for my websites some unusual 'Referring URL' sites. They have at the top when you click through on them "Todays Top Site my5Statcounter" or "my8Statcounter" and so on. I don't know whether to be concerned or not so any opinions would be appreciated ![]() BUYACUPRIL DOT INFO This one was the very first one I noticed and now these others are showing up. SUNSHINEALLEY DOT INFO BESOMEONE DOT INFO |
| Last edited by mistyone; 02-23-2010 at 11:10 PM. Reason: links changed as advised by bgmacaw | |
| | |
| | #2 |
| Advanced Warrior War Room Member Join Date: May 2004 Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 717
Thanks: 4
Thanked 185 Times in 138 Posts
|
Hi mistyone, I would stress about it. It is basically people trying to get a link from your site, as some sites show the top referers. Just ignore them! There's nothing you can do about it anyway.. Take care Bruce |
| ----------------- Get Your Backlinks indexed quicker at BackLinks2RSS Create Full Text Feeds from Partial RSS Feeds at FeedExpander.com. See the WarriorForum post about it here | |
| | |
| | #3 |
| websiteshostingreviews.co War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Blenheim, New Zealand.
Posts: 490
Thanks: 221
Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
|
Hi Bruce Thanks for your thoughts on it. It has only just started to happen and so if I needed to nip it in the bud then I thought it would be better sooner, rather than later ![]() Also you said you thought I should stress about it!!! lol |
| | |
| | |
| | #4 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Atlanta GA Metro Area, USA.
Posts: 3,643
Blog Entries: 5 Thanks: 309
Thanked 922 Times in 642 Posts
|
It's referrer spam being generated by a BH script, probably a new one that was just released a few months ago. The goal is to get you to go to the site looking to see if a link to your site is there (it's not) and while you're there click on a CPA offer or the like. The script spoofs the referrer information to look like someone visited your site from that site but this isn't what actually happened. You can try to block the sites using htaccess but since they use proxies it's like whack-a-mole. Just ignore them. Also, edit your original post to disable the links to those sites. They're considered bad neighborhood sites and you shouldn't link to them from here. |
| Product Reviews | Earn Online Cash | Free HTML Templates Free WordPress Themes: Boring Memo | Dateless Mini-Site | Info Magazine | 100 Twenty-Ten Niche Headers Discount Templates, Graphics and Scripts: Templates for Website | |
| | |
| | #5 |
| websiteshostingreviews.co War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Blenheim, New Zealand.
Posts: 490
Thanks: 221
Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
|
Thanks bgmacaw for your very informative response. I have edited the post as per your advice. I can understand your reasons for advising me not to link to bad neighbourhoods from here. I wish I could send some bad stuff back to them!! |
| | |
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| appearing, data, referring, statcounter, unusual, url |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |