Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2010, 10:50 PM   #1
Active Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

Melbourne IT Digital Brand Services emailed me today wanting me to transfer my domain name over to them because I violated the trademark name.

anyone ever heard of them? thought they were a scam at first, but they do look legit....

I guess i gotta give up my domain name.....any ideas or comments?
truewarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:58 PM   #2
Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

marlboro used the same scare tactic on my friend before but they left him alone after he took down the site and put a parked page on it. i think these companies just dont want you promoting them in any way or form.

baybossplaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:07 PM   #3
Active Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

there's no point in keeping the domain then if i can't make any adsense revenue off of it...so i should just give them the domain name?
truewarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:17 PM   #4
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 130
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

Do some research first and be sure that they are real.....

so many scams.........

Help for new marketers
www.for-new-marketers.info/blog
www.landscape-art.info My Art Blog

Jim Gillum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 12:41 AM   #5
Active Warrior
War Room Member
 
Manda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Thailand
Posts: 78
Thanks: 43
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to Manda
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

The company Melbourne IT (which seems to be the parent company of Melbourne IT dbs) is legit and registered with the Australian Securities & Investment Commission and the Australian Business Register.

I don't know whether they can force you to transfer the domain name to them (I also note the company provides domain acquisition services) but if the domain is a trademark I doubt you'd win the argument.

If you don't want to give up the domain the best thing to do is consult a lawyer who can advise you properly.
Manda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 12:49 AM   #6
Advanced Warrior
War Room Member
 
Bruce Hearder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 717
Thanks: 4
Thanked 182 Times in 138 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to Bruce Hearder
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

Hi TrueWarrior,

Melbourne IT are the biggest domain name registrar here in Australia. So yes they are legit..

The advice/suggestions I am about to give you are not from a lawyer and you will need your own legal advice before proceeding.. I am not a lawyer, nor have I ever played a lawyer on TV

1. Make sure the email did actually originate from MelbourneIT and not some domain name scammer.. It may just be a Phishing trip by some scammers trying to get your domain name.

2. Only hand over domain when you recieve a registered letter in the mail from a lawyer. Never do anything via email. Ignore emails.

3. Most likely you will hear nothing more from them, as some client has complained to them and then that as far as they are gonna take it.

Remember, its just my 2c worth, but I've been there done that..

Take care

Bruce

-----------------
Get Your Backlinks indexed quicker at BackLinks2RSS

Create Full Text Feeds from Partial RSS Feeds at FeedExpander.com. See the WarriorForum post about it here
Bruce Hearder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 02:57 PM   #7
Plundering the Web
War Room Member
 
paulgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: , , .
Posts: 4,416
Thanks: 670
Thanked 1,002 Times in 775 Posts
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

Nobody can take your domain or force you to sign over
anything. Those letters are either scare tactics or scams.

These issues must go through a legal process. That's
judge, court, the whole bit. Read the guidelines on
the ICANN website. It's quite a long process.

They cannot just up and take anything without a court
order.

The only dispute that is streamlined is cyber-squatting.

Your host may shut you down out of fear, but the domain
remains your property.

A lawyer is not a judge or panel. Why would you turn over property
just because a lawyer sends you a letter? A lawyer is not a police
officer either.

Like I said. The dispute process is a long one where everyone must follow
all rules to the letter.

In fact, ICANN will freeze your domain for 15 days in most cases,
making it impossible to change anything. That rules is there for a reason.
They will allow no transfers during that time.

Paul

Missed the last one? Don't be late on next freebie backlink space.
paulgl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 04:43 PM   #8
Advanced Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , , Israel.
Posts: 563
Thanks: 121
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

Me as well received such letter from Melbourne.
Boris_yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 05:17 PM   #9
HyperActive Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: www.mostinterestingfacts.com
Posts: 152
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

I guess It's a kind of scam as Usually violating trademarks will be announced by a lawyer not just by email like that.

firstdandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 07:21 AM   #10
Advanced Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , , Israel.
Posts: 563
Thanks: 121
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Post Re: Notification of Violation of Trademark rights

I didn't say it was email. It was a real letter.
Boris_yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum

Tags
notification, rights, trademark, violation

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 PM.