![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 227
Thanks: 156
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
Hi guys. I am really new to all this, and today I was contacted by someone who asked if I would like to do a link xchange. Her name is Molly and her sig said she is a web marketing consultant. She said if I added her sites to my website, she would stick my URL on both of her PR5 sites which are the following: Business Business Does this sound like a good or bad idea? Thanks. |
| | |
| | |
| | #2 |
| Troy Steele War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,763
Thanks: 723
Thanked 499 Times in 319 Posts
|
Those domains are only 1 and 2 weeks old and PR5? I wouldn't go near them - the PR is obviously fake. Edit: I did a quick check and smallworldteams.com is a 301 redirect from botablog dot com - so yeah, it is fake. |
| | |
| | |
| | #3 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 227
Thanks: 156
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
| |
| | |
| | |
| | #4 |
| Plundering the Web War Room Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: , , .
Posts: 4,849
Thanks: 804
Thanked 1,199 Times in 886 Posts
|
You fake PR by making your site forward to something like google.com. The problem is, if people check to see if it's been indexed and where it appears in the SERPs, it will most likely be non-existent. But, because some poor sap believes the PR, they never check. I can't remember 100%, but I believe that the site does not get indexed or listed because when it gets "crawled" the site appears to be the forwarded site. Link exchanging is not like it used to be. I myself never link exchange. Politely offer to sell a text link. EDIT: I checked the PR of both sites. The first one, smallworldteams.com the PR is not applicable. The other one, rebelcard.info, is PR 5, and is indeed may be fake. The site is screwing around with a unlv.edu site. Google shows it when doing a search for rebelcard.info, but the strange thing is the sub links on the entry all go to UNLV. Click on the more results, and the blog is shown. Something is fishy and I'd stay away from that site. But it just shows that I was wrong about the site not showing up, somehow, in SERPs. I think the domain may have been used by UNLV at one time and was let go, then bought. After researching, it was sold as a PR 5 domain. Eventually the PR will drop to 0 and google will get it's act together. Paul |
| How to Make Money off Facebook: Login to your account. Deactivate your account. Get your butt to work.
| |
| | |
| | #5 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 227
Thanks: 156
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
Thanks guys for your helpful insight |
| | |
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| exchange, good or bad, idea, link |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |