Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2010, 01:41 PM   #1
Warrior Member
 
The Duck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I know if this is a scam or not?

Just got this PM:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rightg
Ad Network

Hi,

Just read your thread, we're just about to launch an Online Ad Network: *link removed* (Don't want this guys getting any business off of this.)

We'd love to have you on as our first direct paying advertiser, if you're happy with that. Give us a try and see how it works out for you

Do you have an email address where we could talk?

Thanks.
If it looks like a rose, smells like a rose, etc. This screams scam to me.

Although, If I just sign up as a CPC Advertiser - I'm only paying for clicks, right? Obviously it could be some kind of scam where they commit click fraud and I have to pay a bunch of money, but other than that, what do I stand to lose?

I've only signed up with Google so far (AdWords) as an advertiser, so I'm pretty new to this.

My first inclination is to sign up for and advertise with any CPC network I can find to maximize exposure, but I'm sure that opens me up for some bad things.

Other than the obvious click fraud, what are some things I need to be on the lookout for?

Can someone tell me why this might be a bad idea?

HesedBooksandGifts.com
- Bookish sorts who create gifts for readers, writers, and the wonderfully unique.
The Duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:05 PM   #2
Motivationally Challenged
War Room Member
 
deloriagod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 360
Blog Entries: 3
Thanks: 38
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: How do I know if this is a scam or not?

"first direct paying advertiser"
They might be legitimate, but there are huge companies out there that you can use the CPC programs and get some huge exposure. These guys probably only have a few sites wanting to display their ads right now. They might cost you less than the bigger networks, but you won't get as much exposure. Also, I'm willing to bet a lot of other people got a similar message.

deloriagod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum

Tags
cpc, ppc, scam, sem

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 PM.