Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2010, 08:58 AM   #1
Advanced Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , , Israel.
Posts: 562
Thanks: 123
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Post Google: Notice Of Phishing?

I have XFactor type of websites. I received message from Google for several of my domains that said the following:


"Dear site owner or webmaster of mydomain.org,

We recently discovered that some pages on your site look like a possible phishing attack,
in which users are encouraged to give up sensitive information such as login credentials
or banking information. We have begun showing a warning page to users who visit this site
in certain browsers that receive anti-phishing data from Google, as well as users
redirected to this site from various Google properties.

Below are one or more example URLs on your site which may be part of a phishing attack:

http://www.mydomainname.org/~alani1/...domainname.org

Here is a link to a sample warning page:
http://www.google.com/interstitial?u...3674a6c58d9173

We strongly encourage you to investigate this immediately to protect users who are being
directed to a suspected phishing attack being hosted on your web site. Although some
sites intentionally host such attacks, in many cases the webmaster is unaware because:

1) the site was compromised
2) the site doesn't monitor for malicious user-contributed content

If your site was compromised, it's important to not only remove the content involved in
the phishing attack, but to also identify and fix the vulnerability that enabled such
content to be placed on your site. We suggest contacting your hosting provider if you are
unsure of how to proceed.

Once you've secured your site, and removed the content involved in the suspected phishing
attack, or if you believe we have made an error and this is not actually a phishing
attack, you can request that the warning be removed by visiting
Report Incorrect Phishing Warning
and reporting an "incorrect forgery alert." We will review this request and take the
appropriate actions.

Sincerely,
Google Search Quality Team"
Boris_yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 09:27 AM   #2
Active Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
Thanks: 24
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Seems like your website was hacked or you have malwares.
jay_vasdewani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 12:04 PM   #3
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Defunct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 254
Thanks: 23
Thanked 47 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Yep, seems like you were probably hacked, contact your web host company for assistance, you might have to check for rootkits too.

Many ways you could have been hacked though, i had to remove a friends site off my VPS recently because he kept getting hacked and getting phishing warnings from the RSA, meaning they shut down my entire VPS till it was sorted out...
Defunct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 12:43 PM   #4
SEO Strategist
War Room Member
 
yukon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Go to your sites Google cache (text-only version), If someone has planted links on your site they will stand out big time when looking at the cache.

Most hacks/backlinks are in the header or footer of the page.
yukon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 12:53 PM   #5
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
bgmacaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Atlanta GA Metro Area, USA.
Posts: 3,643
Blog Entries: 5
Thanks: 309
Thanked 922 Times in 642 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

I got an email like this a while back. It turned out that the email itself was a phishing attack trying to obtain my Google login info!

bgmacaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:24 PM   #6
Warrior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgmacaw View Post
I got an email like this a while back. It turned out that the email itself was a phishing attack trying to obtain my Google login info!
That would be the first thing I would be thinking in my mind. Main reason is that I am under the impression that G does not really interact with webmasters via email or anything really except maybe something like Adwords. But for adsense or the search engine general it was non-existent for your average webmaster.

see sxs videos for side by side UTV's here.
ImDoingIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:28 PM   #7
Advanced Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , , Israel.
Posts: 562
Thanks: 123
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

The security department from HostGator said that it was false alarm caused by "userdir" option being enabled for my account, so they disabled that option.
Boris_yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:05 PM   #8
Plundering the Web
War Room Member
 
paulgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: , , .
Posts: 4,849
Thanks: 804
Thanked 1,199 Times in 886 Posts
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgmacaw View Post
I got an email like this a while back. It turned out that the email itself was a phishing attack trying to obtain my Google login info!
Ditto...

I can't imagine google giving a rat's hat. Certainly they would have no reason
to send you an email like that. They would sure be sending out a boat load.

Paul

How to Make Money off Facebook: Login to your account. Deactivate your account. Get your butt to work.
paulgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 02:01 AM   #9
I'll Make You Rich
 
RyanEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 693
Thanks: 7
Thanked 94 Times in 76 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Myspace Profile  View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via AIM to RyanEagle
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Looks like someone hacked into your domain! It's happened to me before.

RyanEagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:47 AM   #10
Senior Warrior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,507
Thanks: 9
Thanked 82 Times in 81 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Myspace Profile  View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

Have you seen changes on the content of your website?
If no, i suggest you to check all of the content of your website using antivirus through your admin panel. Also its better to ask administrator of your server to help you to detect and remove probable virus or malwares.

socialbookmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:38 PM   #11
Advanced Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , , USA.
Posts: 590
Thanks: 96
Thanked 91 Times in 72 Posts
Default Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

I have a similar issue so I'm going to check with my host. I know these aren't fake emails, because they're also listed as message from Google at Webmaster Tools. The strange thing is that they're telling me various pages that don't even exist (that I can tell) are leading to phishing sites.

LarryC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:49 PM   #12
Advanced Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , , Israel.
Posts: 562
Thanks: 123
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Post Re: Google: Notice Of Phishing?

In my case i had outbound link from email going to my domain then after extension and slash was strange URL (alani~1 or something) and clicking it was going nowhere. I also checked email's source and there were Google's servers.
Boris_yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum

Tags
google, notice, phishing

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.