![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 | |
| SEO Strategist War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
|
I found this today, Google sent me an odd message inside my GWT account. Google really does care about me, LMFAO! ![]() Quote:
| |
| | ||
| | |
| | #2 |
| Julia Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: New York
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 375
Thanked 90 Times in 76 Posts
| |
| | |
| | |
| | #3 |
| Plundering the Web War Room Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: , , .
Posts: 4,849
Thanks: 804
Thanked 1,199 Times in 886 Posts
|
Notice it's from the search qaulity team? I could only find one blog post: Official Google Webmaster Central Blog: Message Center warnings for hackable sites They must have updated the message. Paul |
| How to Make Money off Facebook: Login to your account. Deactivate your account. Get your butt to work.
| |
| | |
| | #4 |
| Strategic Marketing War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2011 Location: Langley, BC Canada
Posts: 204
Thanks: 6
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
|
Usually when I receive an email from Google it's a bad thing... Consider yourself lucky |
| | |
| | #5 | |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Vancouver, WA, USA.
Posts: 3,500
Thanks: 327
Thanked 584 Times in 408 Posts
| Quote:
Yes, the next time I receive a nice note from Google will be the first. Fortunately I have received very few messages other than robot replies to an action on my part. | |
|
Tim Pears | ||
| | |
| | #6 | |
| SEO Strategist War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
| Quote:
The link they mention is an old 2009 blog post. I just found it odd they were tracking Wordpress versions. | |
| | ||
| | |
| | #7 |
| Active Warrior Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
|
Sometimes I just wonder what is going on with big G... But I guess it's a nice thing to send you a weird and old robotic mail... Just saying...
|
| | |
| | |
| | #8 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,118
Thanks: 57
Thanked 201 Times in 177 Posts
|
That's weird. Usually an email from Big G means bad news. Just strange that they'd send emails about outdated Wordpress installations.
|
| CLICK HERE For 8,671 PR1-PR5 (76,652 Total) Blog Post URLs From 805 Blogs -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- PR1: 6,020 / PR2: 2,023 / PR3: 482 / PR4: 45 / PR5: 1 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- KeywordLuv / CommentLuv Enabled - 14 Sold. Just 1 Remaining. | |
| | |
| | #9 |
| SEO D'Artagnan War Room Member Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4,980
Thanks: 476
Thanked 1,090 Times in 701 Posts
| They care about their results. its really not that unusual that they would update webmasters on this. its a Serps quality issue. Hackable sites are often used to manipulate links and search results.
|
| | |
| | |
| | #10 |
| WebsiteValueBot Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Looks like Google are cracking down on content spam farms and im guessing a certain type of version of wordpress is the most spammed of all because automatic backlink blasters (scrapebox lists) post to these sites and test these with rubbish backlinks sometimes including malware and fishing activity. What version of wordpress are you currently running? It may be that your version automatically accepts comments by default. |
| | |
| | |
| | #12 |
| Advanced Warrior Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 693
Thanks: 69
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
| |
| | |
| | |
| | #13 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 118
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
|
This smell fishy to be honest |
| You're given a chance, to change your life. What will you do? - imchimp.com | |
| | |
| | #14 | ||
| SEO Strategist War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
|
The Google message was inside my GWT (Google Webmaster Tools) account, not an email. The Wordpress version that recieved this message inside GWT was version 3.1.4., so the WP version I'm running isn't really that old. Heck WP 3.2 just came out a few days ago. I did edit my WP theme so it doesn't show the WP version inside the html source code. I think that might have been what Google bot was looking at when they sent me this message. I should mess with Google bot, & hard code a future WP version that doesn't even exist yet, something like: Quote:
![]() BTW, If anyone needs to remove WP generator info (WP version) from their html source code, add this code inside your WP functions.php file. Quote:
| ||
| | |||
| | |
| | #15 |
| Senior Warrior Member Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,643
Thanks: 162
Thanked 671 Times in 581 Posts
|
Hi yukon, This isn't exactly new, Google announce they were doing this back in October 2008. Here's a link to the annoucement: Official Google Webmaster Central Blog: Message Center warnings for hackable sites |
|
Don Burk * Get Results - Outsource Your PPC Management * Get a Keyword Domain Name - www.SeriousNames.com | |
| | |
| | #16 | |
| SEO Strategist War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
| Quote:
I've been running multiple WP sites for a few years now, I wonder why they just now sent the message? | |
| | ||
| | |
| | #17 | |
| HyperActive Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 121
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
| Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #18 | |
| Plundering the Web War Room Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: , , .
Posts: 4,849
Thanks: 804
Thanked 1,199 Times in 886 Posts
| Quote:
rich if google decided to deep six wordpress blogs? They own blogspt...I was just saying...no doubt they have something up their sleeves for blogspot blogs as well, or at least a higher scrutiny, whatever that may mean. When they start labeling sites as hackable, and take a notice, what's the point? I'm not sure. Every site is hackable. Some are easy, some are hard. The majority of average sites could be hacked quick. Is this some new part of the algo, how easy your site is to hack? That's crazy. Paul | |
| How to Make Money off Facebook: Login to your account. Deactivate your account. Get your butt to work.
| ||
| | |
| | #19 |
| Active Warrior Join Date: Jun 2011 Location: Dubai
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
thanks for sharing this link...
|
| | |
| | |
| | #20 | |
| Senior Warrior Member Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,643
Thanks: 162
Thanked 671 Times in 581 Posts
| Quote:
My understanding of this feature is that they only send the message when they detect that you running a CMS software platform version that is known to be vulnerable to exploits and a newer version is available to fix the vulnerability. If you regularly update your CMS software you should never see this message. | |
|
Don Burk * Get Results - Outsource Your PPC Management * Get a Keyword Domain Name - www.SeriousNames.com | ||
| | |
| | #21 | ||
| SEO Strategist War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
| Quote:
Quote:
| ||
| | |||
| | |
| | #22 | ||
| Senior Warrior Member Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,643
Thanks: 162
Thanked 671 Times in 581 Posts
| Quote:
In this post they confirm that the generator meta tag is one of the ways they identify sites to notify. They also encourage software developers to include version numbers in the generator meta tag if they want Google to notify users of updates to their software. Quote:
Source: Official Google Webmaster Central Blog: 'New software version' notifications for your site | ||
|
Don Burk * Get Results - Outsource Your PPC Management * Get a Keyword Domain Name - www.SeriousNames.com | |||
| | |
| | #23 | ||
| SEO Strategist War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,532
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,273 Posts
| Quote:
I should read the links I post, better. ![]() Now this has me wondering If Google will drop a sites/page in Google SERPs If the Wordpress version is outdated, thinking they are helping to protect their search traffic from vulnerable sites (outdated WP sites)? Most search traffic won't dig deep into the SERPs. [source] Quote:
| ||
| | |||
| | |
| | #24 |
| Active Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
|
mail from google = ban from adsense atleast that is when they send me mails.. |
|
Dropshipping for a living.
| |
| | |
| | #25 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 343
Thanks: 20
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
|
Mails from Google are not necessarily bad. They also send emails suggesting better ad placement. I received those emails in the past.
|
| | |
| | |
| | #26 | |
| Portuguese Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Good Old Europe
Posts: 4,013
Blog Entries: 7 Thanks: 1,660
Thanked 1,053 Times in 705 Posts
| I was expecting some "different", more caring, lolMakes sense their protective attitude, one hacked site can put G in trouble, at least common people will be like WTH!!!!??? And Paul has a point too... Quote:
| |
| | ||
| | |
| | #27 |
| Senior Warrior Member Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,337
Thanks: 73
Thanked 132 Times in 121 Posts
|
I wouldn't be sure that they were going out of their way to be nice to you. Then again, I don't have a very high opinion of Google. Seems more like a warning than anything else.
|
| | |
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| google, message, update |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |