Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2011, 07:37 AM   #1
Carpet Doctor
War Room Member
 
Dmreed4311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 137
Thanks: 7
Thanked 19 Times in 5 Posts
Default Is this Real or a scam?

This is an email I received, Is this a scam or real, just wondering if anyone else has ever seen this.



Dear Manager,
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)
This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On October 31st 2011, We received Tianhua Ltd's application that they are registering the name " carpetdoctorinc " as their Internet Keyword and " carpetdoctorinc .cn "、" carpetdoctorinc .com.cn " 、" carpetdoctorinc .asia "domain names etc.., they are China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so we are sending you this email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best Regards,

John
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Mobile: +86 136615 29704
Fax: +86 216191 8697


Carpet cleaning Tampa
Carpet Doctor inc.
10903 Brucehaven dr.
Riverview Florida 33578
(813)988-7946
Dmreed4311 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:42 AM   #2
Living Abroad
War Room Member
 
awddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: China
Posts: 110
Thanks: 24
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to awddude
Default Re: Is this Real or a scam?

I've been living in China for 4 years now.

At first glance, the email seems legitimate. They are not trying to take anything from you... the moment they are I would start getting suspicious however.

At the moment it seems their firm seems to be doing a good thing - trying to prevent future copyright problems for their client.

No I've never received an email like this before.

AWESOME WSO! - Travel the World & Make Money!
I tell you exactly how I do it and you can too by setting up your HQ China. You can do this even if you are flat broke (I did). Only $7 for a Limited Time.
awddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:43 AM   #3
SEO D'Artagnan
War Room Member
 
Mike Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4,980
Thanks: 476
Thanked 1,090 Times in 701 Posts
Default Re: Is this Real or a scam?

Sounds like just an inventive way to get you to register the other domains with them. If you want them I'd just register them where you regularly register them but if you don't who cares if you have the .com you won't be doing carpets in China anytime soon I guess

Mike Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:47 AM   #4
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
TopKat22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 403
Thanked 391 Times in 325 Posts
Social Networking View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to TopKat22
Default Re: Is this Real or a scam?

It looks like a scam to me. I think if it were legit, the company would use better translators and it would be in better English.

I would not respond. However, the best thing to do is contact an attorney who handles such matters as international copywrites and have them look at it.

TopKat22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:51 AM   #5
Living Abroad
War Room Member
 
awddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: China
Posts: 110
Thanks: 24
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to awddude
Default Re: Is this Real or a scam?

I agree with Mike - seems like a good way to get you to register with them.

@ TopKat22 - Because the English is not 100% does not mean it's a scam. I've done deals with many international certified factories with broken English that were legitimate. The biggest brands in China, multi-billion dollar industries have English problems. Down the street from me one of the banks has a misspelled sign for example.

AWESOME WSO! - Travel the World & Make Money!
I tell you exactly how I do it and you can too by setting up your HQ China. You can do this even if you are flat broke (I did). Only $7 for a Limited Time.
awddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:54 AM   #6
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Tina Golden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 3,257
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 4,724
Thanked 3,482 Times in 1,688 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to Tina Golden
Default Re: Is this Real or a scam?

I have received emails like this before. It's just a way to try to get you to buy domains or switch registrars, at a much higher price. Just ignore it.

Tina Golden is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:45 AM   #7
SEO Strategist
War Room Member
 
yukon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,533
Thanks: 355
Thanked 1,993 Times in 1,274 Posts
Default Re: Is this Real or a scam?

If you didn't ask for it, If you don't know them, it's spam.

Lol, they've scraped your email from a whois site, most likely.
yukon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Adsense / PPC / SEO Discussion Forum

Tags
real, scam

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.