Advice for Sales Letter & Site

25 replies
Hey everyone.. I'm new here, just signed up. I've launched an e-book and a site to sell it and I'm hoping for some suggestions on how to improve the site and sales letter.

I have no experience in writing sales letters, so I read several articles about them and read some that supposedly convert well and tried to use some similar language, ideas and design elements.

The site is Towering Tips, and the book is "Towering Tips," a guide to increase tips for waiters, bartenders, etc.

I'm open to all criticism and any ideas to improve. I haven't sold anything, but I know the sample size is extremely small (a couple hundred visitors via AdWords).

Thank you in advance!
#advice #letter #sales #site
  • Profile picture of the author Robert_Rand
    Hey Ryan,

    Forget the copy - the offer is fatally flawed. There's no market for this ebook.

    Is your goal to sell an ebook about how to generate more tips? Or is your goal to make money?

    Because if it's the ladder, I'd strongly recommend choosing a proven market.

    Can I ask: why did you choose this market?

    If you search any of your keywords, you'll notice there are no ads. This more than likely means people will not spend money on a product like this.

    If you're hell bent on trying to make it work... well then, your copy needs to be much more specific. And you need a much better offer.

    Don't mean to come off harsh... but I've been there, done that ... and making money in a competitive market is inexplicably easier.

    Give yourself permission to sell something people truly want; something they're already buying.
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    • Profile picture of the author ryan526
      Robert,

      Thank you for the reply - no worries about coming off harsh I appreciate the advice. The goal is certainly to make money, the vehicle by which to do that doesn't matter much to me - I just want to have a revenue stream that doesn't require too much work once it's established, thus the e-book.

      I actually chose this market because of the lack of competition - I brainstormed some e-book ideas, then looked for the cheapest cost per click that would give me a minimum of about 100 clicks per day to start. I figured I could get, say 100-150 clicks per day from AdWords for $50 to $75, so I could convert a lower percentage and be successful, then find other advertising sources.

      I read to expect to convert on 1 to 3 percent of visits, so I figured anything over $1 per click would be extremely difficult to profit off of, since I'd need to charge $100 per sale just to break even on the $1 clicks at 1 percent conversions.

      I took the lack of ads on this topic as nobody having thought of it before... Could you elaborate on what you mean by it being easier to profit in a competitive market?

      That's tough for me to grasp, and I need to grasp how I'm going to do it to be able to go get it done...

      Also, when you say make the copy more specific, what do you mean? Make it tighter, or focus on certain aspects? And by better offer, do you just mean cheaper?

      If this one isn't going to be profitable, I'll move on and try something else, but I'd like to improve my sales copy anyway to practice for the next one.

      Thanks again for the feedback!
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      • Profile picture of the author Shadowflux
        I disagree with the others, I do think there's a market for this. What they're saying is that there isn't a pre-established market for it. People like to go after markets that are already set up because it requires less work. This brings me to the biggest problem I have with what you've said so far:

        Originally Posted by ryan526 View Post

        Robert,

        - I just want to have a revenue stream that doesn't require too much work once it's established, thus the e-book.
        You have to want to work if you want to make it. There is no way to get around working hard. People may want you to believe that they don't work at their success but they do. "Make money easy" is a selling point for certain products, it's not the reality of working for yourself.

        When it comes to the copy, two things stand out to me:

        1. It's too long.

        Maybe I'm wrong but I feel like it's too long. This is a pretty simple concept. It's basically tricks and strategies for making more in tips. That's pretty simply. The key to copywriting is keeping it as simple as possible. I know you've probably seen copy that's longer than Russian literature but that doesn't make it better. Condense it down to the most important and most powerful elements and get them to that "buy now" button before they change their mind.

        2. You didn't start by connecting with them.

        You start the copy by trying to sell to your reader. This will turn off a lot of people. The first step is to connect with them. Start with your own experience working for tips. Start by addressing their problem which, in this case, is not getting enough tips. Here's a quick example:

        "If you're anything like me then you bust your ass for those tips. You're friendly, quick and hardworking. For a long time I couldn't understand why I never made as much in tips as some other people. I would see them getting huge tips on a small bill and wonder what I was doing wrong.

        Then, one day, I figured it out. It was so simple I couldn't believe I didn't realize it before. Soon I was making so much money in tips that my pockets couldn't hold it all. I had to trade my tip money for larger bills at the register just so my pants weren't bulging out at the sides."

        Also, is that picture really you? If not, I'd suggest you change it to something slightly more believable. That guy seems a little too "stock photo" to me. If, however, it is you then good for you, I guess lol
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        • Profile picture of the author ryan526
          Originally Posted by Steve The Copywriter View Post

          Ryan,Mals idea of a "underground" guide is a cracker. And as he says, you do need to change the title of the book. To make it a touch more exciting.
          I assume "cracker" is a good idea? I haven't heard that one before, and when you google slang word cracker, you get something else haha....

          I'll try to come up with a title that elicits some emotional response and excitement.

          Originally Posted by Shadowflux View Post

          You have to want to work if you want to make it. There is no way to get around working hard. People may want you to believe that they don't work at their success but they do.
          I have no problem working to get it set up - I'll put in hours and hours for weeks and weeks, or more, to get it established and running... I've been up until 5 a.m. researching and writing and building the site almost every night...

          Once it's established and successful, that's when I want to be able to minimize my role in the equation - hire customer service if needed, etc... Then I can move on to the next idea and try to create another success.

          Originally Posted by Shadowflux View Post

          When it comes to the copy, two things stand out to me:

          1. It's too long.

          Maybe I'm wrong but I feel like it's too long. This is a pretty simple concept. It's basically tricks and strategies for making more in tips. That's pretty simply. The key to copywriting is keeping it as simple as possible. I know you've probably seen copy that's longer than Russian literature but that doesn't make it better. Condense it down to the most important and most powerful elements and get them to that "buy now" button before they change their mind.
          Thanks for that - that is more in line with my gut feeling and all, but everything I came across urged me to make it longer so I did.

          Originally Posted by Shadowflux View Post

          2. You didn't start by connecting with them.

          You start the copy by trying to sell to your reader. This will turn off a lot of people. The first step is to connect with them. Start with your own experience working for tips. Start by addressing their problem which, in this case, is not getting enough tips. Here's a quick example:

          "If you're anything like me then you bust your ass for those tips. You're friendly, quick and hardworking. For a long time I couldn't understand why I never made as much in tips as some other people. I would see them getting huge tips on a small bill and wonder what I was doing wrong.

          Then, one day, I figured it out. It was so simple I couldn't believe I didn't realize it before. Soon I was making so much money in tips that my pockets couldn't hold it all. I had to trade my tip money for larger bills at the register just so my pants weren't bulging out at the sides."

          Also, is that picture really you? If not, I'd suggest you change it to something slightly more believable. That guy seems a little too "stock photo" to me. If, however, it is you then good for you, I guess lol
          That's great! I'll come up with something along those lines. And yeah, that's a stock photo. I wanted to keep my own face off the site since I want to keep my ebook ventures separate from my regular career. Maybe I'll find a friendly looking guy who isn't quite as stock.
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          • [QUOTE=ryan526;7653508] I assume "cracker" is a good idea?



            Lol, yes in the UK "cracker" means good. Or it's a kind of biscuit that falls to bits every time you crunch it.

            Thinking about it - it was also an excellent television program.

            But in the context of this esteemed thread.

            "Cracker" means - a really ace idea.


            Steve
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            • Profile picture of the author ryan526
              Originally Posted by The Copy Nazi View Post

              Naming resources? Already did - Amazon is your friend. I forgot this one. This was a highly successful blog before becoming a book - Waiter Rant: Thanks for the Tip--Confessions of a Cynical Waiter (P.S.): Steve Dublanica: 9780061256691: Amazon.com: Books

              Don't write for the Google spiders. Nobody's interested in those references. Write with "authority" and you don't need to prove a damn thing.

              And yeah - the pic just screamed "This is a stock photo" - your credibility goes down the gurgler with it.
              Yeah I'm going to grab Kitchen Confidential on the iPad and try to read it this weekend along with the Waiter Rant blog, then Waiter Rant the book next week. I'm wasn't referring to writing for the Google spiders, I was referring to AdWords (my campaign was disapproved almost immediately and I'm still working to get it cleared).

              [quote=Steve The Copywriter;7653874]
              Originally Posted by ryan526 View Post

              Lol, yes in the UK "cracker" means good.
              You guys have some funny words - but I guess you think we do too. Maybe I'll slip that one in to confuse my friends haha.

              So I think what I'm going to do is focus on three things:

              1. More research on the market, so that I can connect easier with my target audience. I waited tables a little bit a long, long time ago - probably about 10 years ago, and not for long enough to really feel like I easily connect. I think I did a better job connecting in the book, by taking an irreverent style, than I did in the sales letter. In reality, I should aim for the other way around.

              2. More research on longtail keywords to increase visits and decrease CPC, so that I can lower the price point and still have enough traffic to make a solid profit. I'm thinking $27 might be a better price point.

              3. Improving my sales letter right away. I don't NEED to make money off of this particular idea. I like it, and I think I can, but the potential isn't there for HUGE income. I want to learn a lot from this first one, and I do need to be able to write better sales letters to maximize sales. I'm thinking I may rewrite this sales copy and put it on here with parenthesis or brackets showing what my goal is for each sentence/paragraph and asking for feedback... I don't want people to just tell me to change X to Y and do the writing for me, I want to learn how to think in a way that I can do it myself and help others.

              So that's the plan for now - I'm laying it out for both feedback and my own sanity. I'm at the stage where I feel totally overwhelmed after putting a lot of work and some money in and falling flat on my face.

              But, I am going to go out on a limb and say I'm in the top 2-3% of the population trying to make money on the Internet because I actually tried, put in some work and am smart enough to recognize where I need to do better and hungry enough to take the time to learn it.
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      • Profile picture of the author Robert_Rand
        Originally Posted by ryan526 View Post

        Robert,

        Thank you for the reply - no worries about coming off harsh I appreciate the advice. The goal is certainly to make money, the vehicle by which to do that doesn't matter much to me - I just want to have a revenue stream that doesn't require too much work once it's established, thus the e-book.

        I actually chose this market because of the lack of competition - I brainstormed some e-book ideas, then looked for the cheapest cost per click that would give me a minimum of about 100 clicks per day to start. I figured I could get, say 100-150 clicks per day from AdWords for $50 to $75, so I could convert a lower percentage and be successful, then find other advertising sources.

        I read to expect to convert on 1 to 3 percent of visits, so I figured anything over $1 per click would be extremely difficult to profit off of, since I'd need to charge $100 per sale just to break even on the $1 clicks at 1 percent conversions.

        I took the lack of ads on this topic as nobody having thought of it before... Could you elaborate on what you mean by it being easier to profit in a competitive market?

        That's tough for me to grasp, and I need to grasp how I'm going to do it to be able to go get it done...

        Also, when you say make the copy more specific, what do you mean? Make it tighter, or focus on certain aspects? And by better offer, do you just mean cheaper?

        If this one isn't going to be profitable, I'll move on and try something else, but I'd like to improve my sales copy anyway to practice for the next one.

        Thanks again for the feedback!
        No problem. Yeah, "lack of competition" is the last reason to choose a market. It's actually the #1 reason to avoid it. Why? Because in a competitive market, people are already spending money. It's proven. Fertile soil.

        Look... if your mission in life was to market this ebook... to help each and every waiter possible increase their income... I'd say knock yourself out. I'd never question anyone's mission. But if your goal is simply to make money - which there is absolutely nothing wrong with by the way - then you always want to start with the market. The market is exponentially more important than the copy or the product.

        As far as conversion rates... in reality, that's not the way it works. Nothing should be expected. People throw out numbers with no real conception of what is realistic. 1% - even for targeted search traffic - is good. And this is far from easy to achieve. And that's assuming you are in a good market, with a good offer and good copy. 2% is very good. And anything beyond that is very difficult to achieve with any kind of significant volume. Most people don't respect the numbers because they've never achieved them yet they keep perpetuating myths. It's like the telephone game.

        Bottom line is: you shouldn't "expect" anything, just because you read it somewhere. And I hate to be the bearer of bad news but you are not going to pull 1% selling a get bigger tips ebook. Why? These people aren't that driven. Most of them probably think of serving as a short term gig, even if they've been doing it for years. And the ones who ARE motivated to achieve more aren't going to be buying an ebook like yours. They're going to be buying a bizopp that's going to show them how to instantly make $20k/mo so they can finally get the hell out of their j-o-b.

        And... to top all of this off... you're facing major resistance because let's face it... deep down they believe they already know how to get bigger tips: Be nice and upsell. So you really have to have some strong, enticing copy to shake them out of that belief.

        Now... as far as keywords... the biggest thing you need to understand is that all keywords are not created equal. You must use tracking, and when you do you'll see some keywords lead to conversions... and some (most) don't.

        So let's say you're spending .50/click and you receive 100 clicks... that's $50 you just spent for zero sales. It doesn't matter how cheap the traffic is if it doesn't convert.

        On the other hand, let's say you're selling... how about... wrinkle cream! And let's say you're spending $1/click, but out of 100 clicks... you generate 2 sales. So you have a cost per acquisition of $50. You with me? And here's the thing... certain keywords... like competitor/brand names for example... might even be a lot more than that... but they're worth it because they convert extremely well. They represent buyers.

        So maybe when someone types in "lancome wrinkle cream" you're paying $2 for every click. But 1/15 people buy - that means your CPA is $30. That's a lot better than buying 100 clicks at .5 each when you will inevitably make zero sales, don't ya think?

        You've gotten some decent advice here... but the problem is that none of it is really relative to you. Those products are made for entertainment purposes - not informational/educational purposes. Do you see the difference?

        Maybe... "MAYBE"... you could get some sales... if you craft the offer jjjjust riiight. Something like a black book concept with a lower price point. "How I Started Pocketing An Avg of $64 More Per Day Using This One Weird Trick" lol... I don't know... maybe. But again, why would you want to do things the hard way?

        I can guarantee you people have tried to sell the exact same kind of ebook and failed. That's why there are no ads. Not because no one has thought of it.

        Of course, before I even wrote this post... I realize you're probably going to do it anyway I understand. We have to start somewhere. It's all a learning process. And you're right, you might get some good experience writing copy and selling a product. But to me, the learning process is a lot more enjoyable and rewarding when you're making sales.

        Nevertheless, good luck! You seem like a sharp guy, I think you'll make it even if you do decide to voluntarily attend the school of hard knocks.

        Keep us updated...
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    • Profile picture of the author verial
      Originally Posted by Robert_Rand View Post

      Hey Ryan,

      Forget the copy - the offer is fatally flawed. There's no market for this ebook.
      [citation needed]

      Someone told me the same thing about my first ebook, yet I've still made a profit on it.

      Give him a chance to learn on his own. He came here for help with copy. Any one of his friends/family members could give him what you gave.
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      • Profile picture of the author ryan526
        Originally Posted by verial View Post

        [citation needed]

        Someone told me the same thing about my first ebook, yet I've still made a profit on it.

        Give him a chance to learn on his own. He came here for help with copy. Any one of his friends/family members could give him what you gave.
        Well, I'd love to hear more thoughts on that too if you have some advice there, because my logic was to find a market that didn't have competition. Most of my friends thought this was a great idea, but none have experience with ebooks.

        This market is about 50 cents per click through AdWords, so on a more competitive/expensive market, I'd need to either convert way higher than 1 to 3 percent of my visits into sales or charge a lot more, right?

        Is there something basic I'm missing?
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        • Profile picture of the author Steve Hill
          Originally Posted by ryan526 View Post

          ...because my logic was to find a market that didn't have competition.
          It's the demand that you want to be looking at. If there is no demand, it either means nobody wants it, or nobody knows they need it.

          In the case of nobody wanting it, well, it's hard (but not impossible) to create demand. Remember pet rocks?

          In the case of nobody knowing they need it, it's expensive (but again, not impossible) to educate the consumers.

          But in the case of products with high demand, then it's more a matter of getting attention before the next guy. And if the next guy has big pockets, a good page rank, and a long history, it's going to get expensive to get cost-effective traffic unless you can find some performing cheap fringe keywords and can do a better selling job in the copy.

          That said, I would have expected your concept to have some demand, especially in uncertain times when every dollar counts. A quick Google search for information related to better tips shows many articles, so clearly it is an area of interest. You may want to check the keywords and long tail searches that you are using and re-do your keyword analysis.

          Remember, though, it does no good to be ranked #1 in a term that nobody is looking for.
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  • ...Well, what does everybody want?

    A starving crowd * with no competition.

    I think Ryan may have cracked it.

    Even if he can't drive people to an inter web site.

    He could Kindle the book.

    Or do a Postcard campaign.

    Even small press ads.

    There's lots of options.

    My bet is it'll do extremely well.

    Although the copy does need to be dramatically improved.


    Steve


    P.S. * His audience need better tips to boost their income - so there really is a mass desire.

    They just don't know the product exists - they'll be glad when they do.
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    • Profile picture of the author bizgrower
      Originally Posted by Steve The Copywriter View Post

      ...Well, what does everybody want?

      A starving crowd * with no competition.

      I think Ryan may have cracked it.

      Even if he can't drive people to an inter web site.

      He could Kindle the book.

      Or do a Postcard campaign.

      Even small press ads.

      There's lots of options.

      My bet is it'll do extremely well.

      Although the copy does need to be dramatically improved.


      Steve


      P.S. * His audience need better tips to boost their income - so there really is a mass desire.

      They just don't know the product exists - they'll be glad when they do.
      Like Steve, Max and Shadowflux, I see potential.

      "Setting the Table" by Danny Meyer ($10.19 on Amazon now) was, I believe, a New York Times best seller. Helping servers to get more tips is a sub-niche?

      I see another angle too. Tips are often related to average ticket, so OP could help managers and owners train their staff and increase revenues.

      Maybe do the .99 cent kindle approach to break into the market.

      Just my take.

      Dan
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  • Profile picture of the author max5ty
    As a couple posters above said, there isn't a big demand for your product.

    But, that doesn't mean there isn't a big demand, they just don't know there's a demand YET.

    There have been products I never thought would work and they sold like gang busters. There have been ads I thought would have customers rolling in, and they bombed, so this is only my opinion and sometimes it can be flawed. Goes back to the whole testing thing.

    Your sales letter isn't horrible, but it's weak.

    1. I don't think you'll be able to sell your ebook in one swoop.

    2. I think your price point is too high for the type of customer you're after.

    3. I'd do a teaser landing page with a free report to start things off...get them excited about your offer, then allow them to buy the full report.

    4. Your typical customer is probably into social media a great deal. Facebook, etc., would be a good place to start advertising. I would also think they're pretty heavy into videos. Maybe a viral type approach. Get them to your landing page with a free report, then go from there.

    Just some quick thoughts.
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  • Profile picture of the author The Copy Nazi
    Banned
    Look...for starters...the name sucks. And the writing wanders all over the place - cut to the chase. Junk this. Start again. Imagine your ebook is a kinda field manual for people in the hospitality trenches. Imagine its a red-hot underground guide of dirty rotten tricks that wait staff use to extract money from diners. And its passed on by word-of-mouth. The stats, the references - junk all that. You're not writing a college paper. Get yourself a copy of Anthony Bourdain's "Kitchen Confidential" for inspiration. But this as it stands is a turkey.

    Kitchen Confidential, Insider's Edition:...Kitchen Confidential, Insider's Edition:...
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    • Profile picture of the author ryan526
      Originally Posted by Steve Hill View Post

      It's the demand that you want to be looking at. If there is no demand, it either means nobody wants it, or nobody knows they need it.
      That makes sense, but how do I gauge demand? I checked on the volume of searches for the keywords I'm trying to target. Is there more to it than seeing how many people are searching and estimating their interest level? Should I do a sample sale on Ebay or something?

      I will take your advice on redoing my keyword analysis. I'm trying to use a lot of long tail keywords, but maybe I can find more to bring the CPC down and the traffic up.

      Originally Posted by Steve The Copywriter View Post

      Although the copy does need to be dramatically improved.
      Thank you for your reply - I'm looking into some of the other ways to market this that you mentioned. Do you have any feedback on the copy? I don't expect you to read it all and break it down line by line, but if there is any general impression you got or something you can point me toward that I can read, I would greatly appreciate it!

      Originally Posted by max5ty View Post

      2. I think your price point is too high for the type of customer you're after.

      3. I'd do a teaser landing page with a free report to start things off...get them excited about your offer, then allow them to buy the full report.
      Thank you - I was actually already in the process of trying to advertise on Facebook and on the Twitter stream of a restaurant server website. Facebook rejected me, which I'm sorting out now, and the other guy is being kind of slow to get back to me.

      On the price point, I kind of agree - my problem is if the CPC is roughly .50, can I convert enough at a lower price point to break even? I thought I might have a better chance trying to justify the higher value and offer a strong guarantee than trying to convert at two to three times as high of a rate.

      As for the teaser landing page, you basically mean one page just to give them a free sample and submit an e-mail address, then after they do that they get taken to the full sales page?

      Originally Posted by The Copy Nazi View Post

      Look...for starters...the name sucks. And the writing wanders all over the place - cut to the chase. Junk this. Start again. Imagine your ebook is a kinda field manual for people in the hospitality trenches. Imagine its a red-hot underground guide of dirty rotten tricks that wait staff use to extract money from diners. And its passed on by word-of-mouth. The stats, the references - junk all that. You're not writing a college paper. Get yourself a copy of Anthony Bourdain's "Kitchen Confidential" for inspiration. But this as it stands is a turkey.
      Can you point me toward any naming resources? I am terrible at that, admittedly. I just went for alliteration and an image of a tower of cash.

      I am curious your thinking on junking the stats. First, Google is already disapproving me so I added the stats and references to back up the claims. Should I scrap all of the numbers all together and just sell bigger tips in general?

      Second, everything I read says back up your claims, show proof, etc. Is your thinking that my target audience isn't going to be into research, numbers, etc and I should focus maybe on testimonials and that sort of thing?

      To everyone, thanks so much for all of the help so far! I'm still trying to figure out where the button is to "officially" thank someone for their post.
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      • Profile picture of the author The Copy Nazi
        Banned
        Originally Posted by ryan526 View Post

        Can you point me toward any naming resources? I am terrible at that, admittedly. I just went for alliteration and an image of a tower of cash.

        I am curious your thinking on junking the stats. First, Google is already disapproving me so I added the stats and references to back up the claims. Should I scrap all of the numbers all together and just sell bigger tips in general?

        Second, everything I read says back up your claims, show proof, etc. Is your thinking that my target audience isn't going to be into research, numbers, etc and I should focus maybe on testimonials and that sort of thing?
        Naming resources? Already did - Amazon is your friend. I forgot this one. This was a highly successful blog before becoming a book - Waiter Rant: Thanks for the Tip--Confessions of a...Waiter Rant: Thanks for the Tip--Confessions of a...
        Don't write for the Google spiders. Nobody's interested in those references. Write with "authority" and you don't need to prove a damn thing.

        Get into your target's head. Start by reading those books - particularly Waiter Rant. Here - http://waiterrant.net/ That's all the resources you need. Immerse yourself in that brilliant blog.

        And yeah - the pic just screamed "This is a stock photo" - your credibility goes down the gurgler with it.
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  • Ryan,

    Don't worry about the "Thanks" button - you may not have enough posts to use it.

    Anyway you have thanked us.

    About the copy, it just isn't irresistible.

    The "big idea" is great - but the copy goes off track, on track and way off again.

    It's a little bit boring - and laborious.

    You could give out one technique that will stun your audience making them say "Wow, now THAT is good!"

    Mal's idea of a "underground" guide is a cracker. And as he says, you do need to change the title of the book. To make it a touch more exciting.

    BTW - If you're unhappy about saying "dirty rotten tricks" say "proven psychological triggers* - that work - ethically "forcing" more customers to leave bigger tips"

    I think the stats and the references are OK, tagged on at the very end. They give credibility, and as you say they help keep google happy.

    And yes, you do need lots of testimonials.

    Steve


    P.S. * the reason this might work better is because you mention the 50 years of research and 25 case studies. These could resonate with your audience many might be at college or university and appreciate the tested and proven "scientific" and "academic" angles.
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  • Profile picture of the author The Copy Nazi
    Banned
    From WaiterRant via Huffington Post - http://topcultured.com/35-tip-jars-d...you-give-more/
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  • There’s a lot of data on this that I don’t know.

    Have people tried to market a similar book and crashed and burned? – I’ve got no idea.

    Do waiters, waitresses and bartenders actually want the book, or do they feel they know how to maximise on tips? – I’ve got no idea.

    And it would be difficult to get definitive research on this.


    So, I’m taking the view that there are 100,000’s of “waiting staff” across the US of A. And like everybody else they want to bump up their income.

    And I’m assuming that the book is crammed full of brilliant techniques to get more tips

    So I would be to refer to my well used copy of "Breakthrough Advertising" by the late great Eugene Schwartz.

    To help write a remarkable Headline (and use these principles in keywords).


    New products – the prospect recognizes the need, but not the connection between the fulfillment of that need and your product

    Three steps in developing the headline:

    1.Name the need and/or its solution in the headline

    2.Dramatize the need so vividly that the prospect realizes just how badly he/she needs the solutions

    3.Present your product as the inevitable solution


    How to open up a completely unaware market

    The approach in this stage is essentially to call your market together in the headline.

    You are writing an identification headline.

    You are selling nothing, promising nothing, satisfying nothing.

    Instead, you are echoing an emotion, an attitude, dissatisfaction that picks people out from the crowd and binds them together in a single statement.


    If you are first in your market:

    Be simple, be direct.

    Name either the need or the claim in the headline – nothing more.

    Dramatize that claim in your copy – make it as powerful as possible.

    And then bring in your product, and prove that it works.


    Put it all together - and see what happens.


    Steve
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  • Profile picture of the author don777
    I just PMed you Ryan. I hope to hear from you soon.
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    • Profile picture of the author Jeremey
      Ryan,

      I think you're going to have to get out and get some mud on your boots in the marketplace.

      You've got to have testimonials...Print out some copies of your book and get them in the hands of some waiters and bartenders. If you don't have any friends who are in the profession, go out to some restaurants and bars and strike up conversation with the bartenders and wait staff. "You know, Jeff, I just wrote a book that a lot of my friends are using to get bigger tips. I'm about to get it on the market and I'd love to see what you think?"

      Or get some QR codes on some business cards, and hand them to your waiter or bartender. Hand them four or five cards and tell them to pass them along to their co workers. They'll empty their pockets on the nightstand that night and with any luck take a look at your book the next morning (afternoon LOL).

      And tip them heavily.

      Get some testimonials from real people in the field who have used your techniques and seen results.

      Servers, bartenders...they're a clique-y, skeptical lot, and I doubt your target market is going to be spending much time on the internet searching for techniques on getting bigger tips. There's a reason why the competition is so low for your keywords...just because waiters may want to make more tips, doesn't mean they go searching Google for ways to do that. I just don't know that any PPC, long-tail or not, is going to produce any impactful results.
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      • Profile picture of the author Ross Bowring
        Originally Posted by Jeremey View Post


        Servers, bartenders...they're a clique-y, skeptical lot, and I doubt your target market is going to be spending much time on the internet searching for techniques on getting bigger tips. There's a reason why the competition is so low for your keywords...just because waiters may want to make more tips, doesn't mean they go searching Google for ways to do that. I just don't know that any PPC, long-tail or not, is going to produce any impactful results.
        As a former full-time restaurant server myself in a past life, I agree with Jeremy...

        I just don't see the market here.

        Servers are notoriously broke. They're more likely to be searching for a payday loan than tips on getting bigger tips.

        Why not enter a market that has money to spend?

        --- Ross
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  • Profile picture of the author cfperez
    Waiters? Really?

    The issue with this is not just the marketplace, it is also the motivation.

    Force a tip?

    I can hear the voice from the crypt with "Bwah-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! From my cold, moldy dead fingers, you will!!!"

    A waiter is not going to force anyone to do anything, and if he does, he's a goner. Their reason for being is polite service with a smile, so your copy has no room or visualization of the reality shared by the waiter and the diner at his table.

    There is where you must find your "pain point."

    Here's a headline:

    "Your best table of the evening was happy. Everything was correct. Except your tip."

    Proceed to talk about the subtle circle you make around your table, the perfect wine, the compliments, their delight. Then ask your prospect, "What could have gone wrong?"

    The pain point is badly defined, and nothing follows with the solution your typical waiter/waitress wants to hear.

    What about offering your number one tip for free in exchange for an opt-in?

    Ah.

    We could go on.
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  • Ok I used the word "forcing" in thread 11 (I did say "ethically forcing").

    Maybe not the best choice because you can't really "force" anyone to do anything.

    Although - it is a powerful copywriting word. Intended for the readers of the book - not the customers at the bars or restaurants.

    Let's change it to "compel"

    Because that's what happened to me last night. I was compelled.

    After seeing a client I nipped into a restaurant for some pasta (it's a place I go to quite often but yesterday the staff were different not the usual crew).

    Probably without being aware of any techniques the "new" waitress (later she mentioned it was her 3rd day) did the following -

    Opened the door for me with a huge smile.

    I went straight to my 'favourite" table (ever noticed that staff try and "force" you to the table that suits them rather than you?).

    I asked for my usual tea - "English Breakfast" (yea I know it's a UK thing, I was driving so I wasn't drinking). It was on the table almost instantly.

    She gave me a menu - I pointed it out saying I wanted my favourite pasta. She pronounced it (my italian isn't great), told me about a local shop where I can buy it freshly made. And said she would get me an extra large portion from the kitchen. She even wrote out the name of the shop and the pasta for me.

    The manageress popped over and had a chat.

    I noticed it, and she gave me a close up of her super sexy dragon tattoo on her neck (now if that isn't a tip getter I don't know what is - but that might just be my view. It's unlikely but if any waitresses are reading this - don't feel you have to get some "ink" done).

    Anyway, throughout the meal nothing was too much trouble.

    It was just naturally friendly (for all I know it was a "set up" right from the start) but it was never obvious that anyone was touting for a tip.

    So was I compelled to give a tip?

    Absolutely.

    My point to all this - if the staff really look after the drinkers and diners - and have a few "ideas and tactics" which most probably don't know (haven't we all been in bars, diners and restaurants where the service was dreadful?) - they'll make a lot more money.

    So let them get the "Underground Guide" - so they can discover how to do it.


    Steve
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  • Profile picture of the author bizgrower
    There's more to this than meets the eye.
    I googled "how to get more tips" -1,640,000,000 results - yes seven zeros

    Then, when you think about it, good servers are marketers.
    SO, everything we know about client service really applies,
    even if it's short visits.

    It's about what Kennedy calls marketing touches as the server
    proceeds through the meal.

    Being attentive, asking questions, adding personal touches such as
    mints if the restaurant does not provide...

    Providing an EXPERIENCE for more tips return and referral business.

    Dan

    PS - Another stock photo guy out of work.
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    "If you think you're the smartest person in the room, then you're probably in the wrong room."

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