![]() |
| ||||||||
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Full-Time
War Room Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 160
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 32
Thanked 41 Times in 25 Posts
|
Hi WF,
I was browsing the web when a website sneakily bypassed my pop-up blocker and loaded up what looked to be a news website. Now, my experience told me that it was 90% going to be an ad, but then the product it was promoting confirmed this. I was actually quite torn between my views of this. On one hand, I didn't like the fact that the owner was simulating a news website (which people usually trust without looking too deep into them, they just assume these guys are providing news). The comments are, in my opinion, almost certainly fake although I didn't bother to check. On the contrary, I was impressed with this tactic because I felt it provided a trustworthy platform for which to redirect traffic to the chosen product. I'm sure a lot of money could be made from this landing page setup. What are your views on this technique? Would you class this as 'grey hat'? The URL: Breaking News: Google Now Hiring People To Work From Home Alex |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Lvl 1 Internet Marketer
War Room Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In Your Computer
Posts: 571
Thanks: 43
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
|
Yeh, I do think it's a little shady. But I've seen this used many times in offline marketing. I think it's quite a novel idea.
|
|
|Affordable Web Development |> css/html/javascript/php/mysql..
|PHP Application Tweaking |> Wordpress customisation, shopping carts, forums.. |References (rentacoder) |> In Top 1% of Developers on site! |My Warriors For Hire Page>> |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Marketing Mentor
War Room Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Massachusetts, USA.
Posts: 423
Thanks: 22
Thanked 120 Times in 77 Posts
|
The test is whether or not there are false statements in the ad.
I question the statement that Google is now hiring anyone (just because Google sends you checks, you are not being "hired" by Google) and that Google is the origin of the "kit" being sold. If those two statements are not true, then the entire ad is extremely deceptive. If all the statements in the ad are true, then the format is fine. Marcia Yudkin |
|
Author, 6 Steps to Free Publicity: http://www.yudkin.com/6steps.htm
Marketing Mentor: http://www.marketingformore.com New FTC Regulations: Attorney Decodes Their Implications for Marketers http://www.yudkin.com/ftc.htm |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Glad I Got Canned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 509
Thanks: 260
Thanked 53 Times in 39 Posts
|
No, it's not ethical. It's scammy BS that gives all IM a bad name. First of all, you should respect someone's popup blocker. Second, "faking" anything is unethical in business. If your product is good, it should stand on its own two feet.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Following User Says Thank You to SurviveUnemployment For This Useful Post: |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| ethical, fake, news, sites |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
![]() |