Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2009, 04:06 PM   #1
My Time Is Coming!
War Room Member
 
Hackbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Midlands, United Kingdom.
Posts: 1,765
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 828
Thanked 230 Times in 202 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Myspace Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Yahoo to Hackbridge Send a message via Skype™ to Hackbridge
Default pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Can anyone tell if using this PDF search engine is really just stealing peoples' products?. I'm wondering how it is allowed to do this. I could do a search in Google and place "filetype:<nospace> pdf" at the end, but this site does it all.

It reminds me when Alexa allowed people to rip off peoples products by revealing their download pages.

Isn't this the same?

I'm looking for some weight loss ebooks to use for a bonus. I'd like to get them for free or low cost, not steal them, but I knew about pdfgenie for a while but I am questioning if it's okay to use.

Thanks for reading so far.

Brian


Last edited by Hackbridge; 07-31-2009 at 04:08 PM. Reason: :p incon removed by adding <nospace>
Hackbridge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 06:19 PM   #2
Advanced Warrior
War Room Member
 
Didier Faucher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South West France
Posts: 932
Thanks: 170
Thanked 100 Times in 57 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Guns exist, but it doesn't mean you are free to use one to kill someone.


Didier

Saya Mau Makan Angin - I Want To eat The Wind (Why not?)

* Unique Minisite Templates and Graphics For Rapid Action Profits, $7 Secrets Script, and More:
Get Your Copy --- Affiliate Program (instant commissions)
* Marketing Graphics Pro Vol.2: coming soon
Didier Faucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX, USA.
Posts: 327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Notice it's powered by Google. The "filetype : pdf" (without spaces) command is no different, it just makes it easier (for those who don't know it).

Marty Foley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 06:53 PM   #4
Man on the Move...
War Room Member
 
Hasan Barbary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 145
Thanks: 56
Thanked 31 Times in 21 Posts
Social Networking View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Yahoo to Hasan Barbary Send a message via Skype™ to Hasan Barbary
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Many ebook creators VOLUNTARILY submit their products to free directories. If you're looking for a good bonus PDF and a clean conscience, simply google "ebook directories" and you should find what you're looking for.

I've uploaded my own products in the past. Just be aware, most of them are full of affiliate links... that's how the author profits; on the back-end.

{***sig break***}
Hasan Barbary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:06 PM   #5
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: , , .
Posts: 5,430
Thanks: 274
Thanked 183 Times in 140 Posts
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

How is searching for a pdf file any different than searching videos or images?

Granted some pdf's are for sale, but so are movies, and there is a thing called copyright with graphics IIRC.

Yeah, it's possible to steal stuff with any of them. Does that make the tech any more illegal than a VCR that can copy?

Floyd Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:25 PM   #6
Advanced Warrior
War Room Member
 
Didier Faucher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South West France
Posts: 932
Thanks: 170
Thanked 100 Times in 57 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Just to add this:

Millions of PDF's are not commercial products, and these are not
internet marketing related reports, ebooks, etc.

You can find research reports about cultural consumption of opium in
North Vietnam, articles about blue whales reproduction in the Sea of
Cortez, dissertations and thesis about phonetic and phonological
description of the Mentawai dialect in Siberut Island (Indonesia), etc.

These search engines make research quick and easy. I love them.


Didier

Saya Mau Makan Angin - I Want To eat The Wind (Why not?)

* Unique Minisite Templates and Graphics For Rapid Action Profits, $7 Secrets Script, and More:
Get Your Copy --- Affiliate Program (instant commissions)
* Marketing Graphics Pro Vol.2: coming soon
Didier Faucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 08:02 PM   #7
Warrior Member
 
empress9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

pdfgenie.com is very similar to pdf-searchengine.com by Gabor Olah of PLRwholesaler, if I'm not mistaken. I've used them both and it seems that the full ebooks that are available are also found elsewhere on the internet. Most of the pdfs consist of articles, though.


empress9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 08:12 PM   #8
My Time Is Coming!
War Room Member
 
Hackbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Midlands, United Kingdom.
Posts: 1,765
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 828
Thanked 230 Times in 202 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Myspace Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Yahoo to Hackbridge Send a message via Skype™ to Hackbridge
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMG Enterprises View Post
You would still need to do your due diligence to find out if it's available freely or whether you have to purchase it.

Tina G
I'll do that thanks.

Brian


Last edited by Hackbridge; 07-31-2009 at 08:13 PM. Reason: edited quote
Hackbridge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 09:05 PM   #9
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , , .
Posts: 473
Thanks: 21
Thanked 59 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

I once read...

"There is no evil in the atom; only in men's souls."
~Adlai Stevenson

But seriously - lots of people submit their pdf ebooks
to free ebook directories, so not every pdf is for $$.


.

LegitBlogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 09:15 PM   #10
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
netkickstart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 113
Thanks: 28
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: pdfgeni.com - Isn't it theft?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didier Faucher View Post
You can find research reports about cultural consumption of opium in
North Vietnam, articles about blue whales reproduction in the Sea of
Cortez, dissertations and thesis about phonetic and phonological
description of the Mentawai dialect in Siberut Island (Indonesia), etc.
Damn. I know what I'm doing this weekend!

netkickstart is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Tags
ebooks, illegal download, pdfgenicom, theft

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 PM.