![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 |
| Smart Old Lady Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Inland Empire, So. Calif., USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
I googled my URL to see what else came up, and found that someone else's website came up as well as my own. I don't know if that is a good thing or a bad thing, but I called "GoDaddy" and they said short of getting hold of them and threatening to sue, there was not much I could do. Anyone have any thoughts on this? |
| Get Google Ads at no out-of-pocket cost.Click here. Tired of looking older than you are? Try this. Help understanding your Teenager. Click here.
| |
| | |
| | #2 |
| One Man Army War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,890
Thanks: 93
Thanked 309 Times in 182 Posts
|
can you elaborate what you mean by "SOMEONE IS USING MY URL", Because a website comes back in a search for your domain, it doesn't mean they are using your domain. Google a lot of the time retuns similar urls also. |
| | |
| | |
| | #3 |
| John Schwartz War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Near Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 1,620
Thanked 3,245 Times in 1,140 Posts
|
Did you google your actual URL - as in http://yourdomain.com - or something else, like the title of your site? If it was your actual URL, then what might have happened is a previous version came up. In other words, if the domain you're using was used by anyone else before you purchased it, Google might still be showing that old content. Someone more technically savvy will correct me if that's wrong, but that's what occurred to me when I read your post. John |
| | |
| | |
| | #4 |
| HyperActive Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Illinois
Posts: 354
Thanks: 103
Thanked 56 Times in 43 Posts
|
Let me get this straight... On the search results page it shows your site/url and also another version of your site with the same url? Or is the issue that they copied your site and put it on their own url? I would check out the nameserver settings with your host while you are at it. If you can find their host through a whois you can send them both a dmca. Interested to see how this one pans out. Good luck! |
| | |
| | #5 |
| HyperActive Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Illinois
Posts: 354
Thanks: 103
Thanked 56 Times in 43 Posts
|
BTW you can post a link to your search so we can see what you are seeing.
|
| | |
| | #6 |
| Smart Old Lady Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Inland Empire, So. Calif., USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
When I opened the Google Page there were references to things I had done. However, there also were other places and referrals that were not mine, yet my site URL showed up in them. Clicking on the "Title" took people to another domain. But my EZ or ez moneymaking store was in their commentary. I don't know the proper terms so hope you understand what I am saying. You could take a look maybe and tell me what you think. Thank you for the response.
|
| Get Google Ads at no out-of-pocket cost.Click here. Tired of looking older than you are? Try this. Help understanding your Teenager. Click here.
| |
| | |
| | #7 |
| Smart Old Lady Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Inland Empire, So. Calif., USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
That makes sense, and I did go on their site(s) which appear to be valid and active. GoDaddy told me that I was being plagiarized (his word) and there was nothing they could do. Is that true? (I cannot believe how suspicious I have become about people. My trust levels are dwindling). Ruth |
| Get Google Ads at no out-of-pocket cost.Click here. Tired of looking older than you are? Try this. Help understanding your Teenager. Click here.
| |
| | |
| | #8 |
| One Man Army War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,890
Thanks: 93
Thanked 309 Times in 182 Posts
| |
| | |
| | |
| | #9 |
| Just hitting the mouse! War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Posts: 1,936
Thanks: 335
Thanked 204 Times in 164 Posts
|
The 2 sites under you are adsense sites which appear to be keyword targeting your domain. You need to email a cease and desist to them in a polite manner. If they still have the info there then you'll have to decide what to do - engage a lawyer. By the way you can find the website owners contact email details via whois.net Rich |
| | |
| | #10 |
| Smart Old Lady Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Inland Empire, So. Calif., USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
What is a dmca? How do I post a link to my search? I went to Google search bar and typed in www.ezmoneymaking store and there it was. They have not copied my site (don't think anyone would want it) and their content is different. In two cases it read EZmoneymakingstore.com right under the title. Ruth |
| Get Google Ads at no out-of-pocket cost.Click here. Tired of looking older than you are? Try this. Help understanding your Teenager. Click here.
| |
| | |
| | #11 |
| Senior Warrior Member Join Date: Aug 2002 Location: LaFollette, TN
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 107
Thanked 96 Times in 60 Posts
|
I, as many have already, ask that you POST THE URL! We can't help if you're not willing to do that. The link in your last post is useless. Pete |
| | |
| | |
| | #12 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Vancouver, WA, USA.
Posts: 3,369
Thanks: 288
Thanked 527 Times in 380 Posts
|
I think this is the search he is talking about. I don't quite follow what is going on yet. ezmoneymaking.com - Google Search |
|
Tim Pears Niche blog, insurance, for sale. Plr rights. High CPC, plus low competition key words. Check it out here for just $19. | |
| | |
| | #13 |
| One Man Army War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,890
Thanks: 93
Thanked 309 Times in 182 Posts
|
That looks like a domain parking page. There is no unique contnt on it. What exactly are people using that is yours?
|
| | |
| | |
| | #14 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Hudson, NH
Posts: 321
Thanks: 99
Thanked 25 Times in 17 Posts
|
looks like they are using a similar url in the title that's all.
|
| | |
| | |
| | #15 | |
| Active Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
| Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #16 | |
| Videos for the Web War Room Member Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Virginia, USA.
Posts: 2,704
Blog Entries: 5 Thanks: 2,586
Thanked 2,818 Times in 1,421 Posts
| Quote:
Is there a prize for figuring this riddle out? ![]() KJ | |
If you are a Real Estate Agent or know someone who is...Branding Videos for Real Estate Agents Video Creators - Sign Up to get your FREE Sample Pack of 15 Viralmation Video Effects and start using these today. Works great with all video software. Videos for the Web - Got Video? Watch this!...Videos by Rapid 3D Graphics | ||
| | |
| | #17 |
| HyperActive Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Illinois
Posts: 354
Thanks: 103
Thanked 56 Times in 43 Posts
|
I pulled that search up and saw them in the top 2 listings and this thread @ #3. There has to be a WSO in there somewhere for this.... |
| | |
| | #18 | |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Tucson, AZ, USA.
Posts: 1,025
Thanks: 120
Thanked 158 Times in 115 Posts
| Quote:
I don't see how it's a bad thing myself. Steve | |
| Executive I.T. consulting for small/medium business Website development | PHP - MySQL - JavaScript expert programming Software requirements analysis | Specification writing Project management | Vendor relationship management | ||
| | |
| | #19 |
| Media Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Everything-can-be-accomplished
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
Things like this are bound to happen. Your title is one that other people might tend to use. I would say that before you even talk about plagiarism and dmca that you personally check their content with yours and see if it is indeed the same. Also if you haven't wrote your content yourself and you bought it from a writer go to your writer first. It might be his fault (sometimes these things can happen). Only if all point to plagiarism until now you can get more worried and know it's time to seek legal action. Justice is and we'll be on your side as long as you are right. Don't be hasty about it though. Check all of the above details (only few conincidences don't qualify as that site being a copy of yours) |
|
The best seo software in this world.. Need to write content fast? Use Voice Software or if you are in the health niche then buy Gerovital. | |
| | |
| | #20 |
| Domain Names... War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,833
Thanks: 71
Thanked 85 Times in 68 Posts
| |
| | |
| | |
| | #21 |
| One Man Army War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,890
Thanks: 93
Thanked 309 Times in 182 Posts
|
It looks like the domain was previously registered so it was on a domain drop list, this is why it is on the other page listed as a domain that has been dropped. Forget about it and move on, its nothing to worry about. |
| | |
| | |
| | #22 |
| HyperActive Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 210
Thanks: 7
Thanked 101 Times in 20 Posts
|
Hmm, lots of sites use your URL, this happens to all public sites. It's not really a bad thing. Heck, it even links to your site. EzMoneyMakers.com - AboutUs Wiki Page ezmoneymakers.com - Traffic Details from Alexa Ezmoneymakers.com - Ez Money Makers edit- Removed the hyperlinks. |
| Last edited by tommygunn; 08-30-2009 at 01:08 PM. Reason: removing hyperlinks | |
| | |
| | #23 |
| Warrior Member Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
shoot...sounds like you got yourself an aged domain at a cut rate...complete with backlinks!
|
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| url |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |