Freelancer.com

Go Back   Warrior Forum - The #1 Internet Marketing Forum & Marketplace > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum
Register Blogs Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread 16th February 2010, 04:29 AM   #1
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Sparhawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2009
Location: Watching you from a tree with binoculars...
Posts: 1,165
Thanks: 288
Thanked 165 Times in 140 Posts
Default Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

I have tried and tried to get my adsense to show up on my site ad with the help of google forum have narrowed down the problem to the way the site is getting published...

It keeps changing the code which should be:

<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>

into

<script type="text/javascript" src="show_ads.js">
</script>

No matter what I do the result is always the same, I wirte it out and it is good, save it and it is good, as soon as I publish though it has a hissy fit and changes it...

Is there a hidden setting somewhere to make it work correctly that I havent found?

“Thinking is easy, Acting is difficult
And to put one's thoughts into action is the most difficult thing in the world ~ Goethe”
Sparhawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 04:39 AM   #2
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: 2005
Posts: 268
Thanks: 80
Thanked 40 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparhawke View Post
I have tried and tried to get my adsense to show up on my site ad with the help of google forum have narrowed down the problem to the way the site is getting published...

It keeps changing the code which should be:

<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>

into

<script type="text/javascript" src="show_ads.js">
</script>

No matter what I do the result is always the same, I wirte it out and it is good, save it and it is good, as soon as I publish though it has a hissy fit and changes it...

Is there a hidden setting somewhere to make it work correctly that I havent found?
Can't you go into site after publishing and change? ... why don't you just upload using FTP or c-panel instead of using the Editor's feature

Thom
T.R. McCarroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 02:34 PM   #3
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Kevin Birch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: Manchester, UK . . .but I would rather be elsewhere!
Posts: 1,513
Thanks: 87
Thanked 61 Times in 51 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Odell View Post
Kompozer/NVU has this annoying way of altering code (it also alters php tags), you would be better off using Trellian WebPage.
Yup - I totally agree with Richard. Trellian is one of the best WYSIWYG editors out there that writes 'proper' code.

Been using it for years!

Kevin Birch is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 02:36 PM   #4
Banned
War Room Member
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA & Montreal Canada
Posts: 2,427
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 1,067
Thanked 871 Times in 597 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

You could just open the page create with Kompozer with a proper text editor and change the value manually, then FTP it to your site.

Bill
ereadergold is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 02:50 PM   #5
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Sparhawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2009
Location: Watching you from a tree with binoculars...
Posts: 1,165
Thanks: 288
Thanked 165 Times in 140 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom McCarroll View Post
Can't you go into site after publishing and change? ... why don't you just upload using FTP or c-panel instead of using the Editor's feature

Thom
Not sure how to do that on godaddy, it might be the simplest thing but I cannot find the option lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Odell View Post
Kompozer/NVU has this annoying way of altering code (it also alters php tags), you would be better off using Trellian WebPage.

Its free and does just as good a job as the other two.

-Rich
I have just looked on trellian but for some reason I cannot figure it out...publishing and all that, I will try afresh tomorrow and hopefully have more luck

Thank you all for the suggestions

Any more?

“Thinking is easy, Acting is difficult
And to put one's thoughts into action is the most difficult thing in the world ~ Goethe”
Sparhawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 03:00 PM   #6
Advanced Warrior
War Room Member
 
Heidi White's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2009
Location: Down by the sea...
Posts: 841
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 434
Thanked 120 Times in 90 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

If you're not making ALL of your changes inside the Source View (vs Normal view) that could be the problem.

Heidi White is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 03:30 PM   #7
John Schwartz
War Room Member
 
Zeus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Near Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 3,883
Thanks: 1,851
Thanked 3,557 Times in 1,283 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

I use Kompozer for pretty much everything I do in static HTML, but I don't publish through it. Get Filezilla or another free FTP tool, or upload through your host's cpanel functions. I have not seen Kompozer fudge code like that when you just save files to your computer... only when publishing with it directly. Easy problem to get around.

John
Zeus66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 04:18 PM   #8
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Join Date: 2002
Location: , , .
Posts: 1,289
Thanks: 96
Thanked 116 Times in 106 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

I had a problem with Kompozer changing some encrypted code back to unencrypted no matter which way I used to save it. I ended up copying and pasting the HTML code before trying to save it in Kompozer into notepad, and saving it as an HTML file. Then I'd upload via FTP using Filezilla. Kompozer's FTP tends to be REALLY buggy anyway. Just don't use Kompozer to save it or changes the code back.
thecableguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 04:56 PM   #9
Warrior Member
 
Join Date: 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

I have used Kompozer for a few years now and have never had a problem , I always use Kompozer to edit my sites then i upload my
website with Filezilla .

Earn Big Money , Without Spending one Cent !
For The First Time Ever A 100% FREE MLM !
http://jrawlins.tageverycar.com
jraw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16th February 2010, 06:05 PM   #10
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Don Schenk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH and beautiful Park City, UT
Posts: 2,076
Thanks: 1,487
Thanked 925 Times in 578 Posts
Default Re: Problem with using Kompozer/Nvu to publish

I have done a number of sites in KompoZer, but never used it to do the upload. Like others I have used filezilla and an inexpensive FTP program called CuteFTP (I use their cheapest version - don't need the other whistles and bells).

These work fine with Godaddy hosting. Just use the FTP user ID and FTP password you have at Godaddy. Plug those into Filezilla or CuteFTP and start the FTP software.

What you will see on the screen is a window with two parts - it looks like Windows Explorer. The left-hand side is your hard drive, the right-hand part is the folders in your site area at Godaddy. Upload your index and any images or image folder depending on how you set those up when you designed the page in KompoZer.

Kompozer shouldn't change the script if you are not using KompoZer to upload.

@Richard - Thanks for the heads up on Trellian. I will take a look. I usually use Dreamweaver, but always interested in seeing what else is out there.

:-Don

Don Schenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Warrior Forum - The #1 Internet Marketing Forum & Marketplace > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Bookmarks

Tags
kompozer or nvu, problem, publish

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 PM.