Banner Ad Advertising buyers, Success stories needed!

27 replies
Banner Ad Advertising buyers, Success stories needed!


I am considering spending more than just a few bucks on this thing called Banner ad Advertising, before I do that, I am hoping to first read some success stories from warriors who have done it successfully in the past. Please do not make up stories, I have heard that some of the people who bought into Banner Ad Blueprint are running around making up all kinds of stories trying to get others to buy into it.

thanks in advance

edit/adding: unsuccessful stories related to banner ad advertising are also welcome, please just do not make things up
#advertising #banner #buyers #needed #stories #success
  • Profile picture of the author Jay F
    My day job is at a company where the majority of the revenue comes from display advertising. We do well because of the very targeted content, therefore, the CPMs are high. So, if you are thinking of display advertising, consider your targeting. It costs more, but may be worth it.

    btw - depending on your niche, behavioral is very popular right now, so find a site/partner/network that does behavioral and try that.

    One final item, ask to be billed off of your own tracking pixels. Those always load last and the publisher's tracking pixel loads first. So, you have greater confidence that your ad served properly.
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by Jay F View Post

      My day job is at a company where the majority of the revenue comes from display advertising. We do well because of the very targeted content, therefore, the CPMs are high. So, if you are thinking of display advertising, consider your targeting. It costs more, but may be worth it.

      btw - depending on your niche, behavioral is very popular right now, so find a site/partner/network that does behavioral and try that.

      One final item, ask to be billed off of your own tracking pixels. Those always load last and the publisher's tracking pixel loads first. So, you have greater confidence that your ad served properly.
      Thanks for the information, So, what is your success story with banner ad advertising?
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  • Profile picture of the author Igor Pauer
    You need only success stories or also unsuccess so you can judge?
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by Igor Pauer View Post

      You need only success stories or also unsuccess so you can judge?
      I was looking for success stories, but if you have unsuccessful related ones which you would like to share is okay with me also, by the way I am adding that to the OP


      note for those noticing my two consecutive posts: I am not trying to bump the thread, I just do not know how to do those posts in which you quote a bunch posts at just one time, sorry not a forum expert
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  • Profile picture of the author acrasial
    HAHA wow. Since when did you start to really consider 'BANNER ADVERTISING SUCCESS'...?
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by acrasial View Post

      HAHA wow. Since when did you start to really consider 'BANNER ADVERTISING SUCCESS'...?

      No rocket science at all, I explain:

      One of the recent products on the subject was poorly reviewed on a thread in which most people who posted to it had not actually bought it, what do you think would be the most logical thing to do? you got it! Get the success stories from people who have tried the method before (not the product, but the method itself)
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    • Profile picture of the author richdirtygirl
      Originally Posted by acrasial View Post

      HAHA wow. Since when did you start to really consider 'BANNER ADVERTISING SUCCESS'...?
      I would say since yesterday...

      We are doing a full decoding by the way. Interesting stuff.

      Laura
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      • Profile picture of the author acrasial
        Originally Posted by richdirtygirl View Post

        I would say since yesterday...

        We are doing a full decoding by the way. Interesting stuff.

        Laura

        Well since banner advertising is "nothing new" and has been around forever, I gather that there must be a TON of warriors who have experience in this. So now I am interested to see who will step up to the plate and share their experience, preferably in detail?
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      • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
        Originally Posted by richdirtygirl View Post

        I would say since yesterday...

        We are doing a full decoding by the way. Interesting stuff.

        Laura

        Banner advertising have been around for years, I just have never tried because what I have been doing until now have given me good results, no I do not play around with keywords, keyword market research, and with things of that nature that much, I consider it to be extreme hard work which for the most part should be left for those who REALLY do not know how to get their bread the EASY way.

        Keyword market research is mostly related to wanting to succeed with PPC, SEO, article marketing, and promoting other people's products whether it is pay per action campaigns or whatever (nothing to do with what I do for a living)
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        • Profile picture of the author richdirtygirl
          Originally Posted by TheGraduate View Post

          Banner advertising have been around for years, I just have never tried because what I have been doing until now have given me good results, no I do not play around with keywords, keyword market research, and with things of that nature that much, I consider it to be extreme hard work which for the most part should be left for those who REALLY do not know how to get their bread the EASY way.

          Keyword market research is mostly related to wanting to succeed with PPC, SEO, article marketing, and promoting other people's products whether it is pay per action campaigns or whatever (nothing to do with what I do for a living)
          yep! banner advertising was probably the first form of online advertising, following the branding system used offline; then they came the squeeze pages, which resemble direct response; and finally we are in the social advertising era where we came back to the town fair with a couple of millions of people instead of a few...

          But of course, yesterday post left us thinking... hum?

          Adding a bit to this, I never played with banner advertising, but I did see a seminar where Dr Mike talked about this, and he followed a system similar to the one our man from yesterday was playing with.

          Laura
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    • Profile picture of the author TheRichJerksNet
      Originally Posted by acrasial View Post

      HAHA wow. Since when did you start to really consider 'BANNER ADVERTISING SUCCESS'...?
      Notice the keywords used in the title ....LOL .. It was posted like that for a reason (I noticed it it listed #10 in google) ...

      James
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      • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
        Originally Posted by TheRichJerksNet View Post

        Notice the keywords used in the title ....LOL .. It was posted like that for a reason (I noticed it it listed #10 in google) ...

        James

        Yes you are right, I just checked, and it is there indeed, I wonder what that could accomplish for the OP.

        any ideas? (without taking the thread away from the main subject please)
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  • Profile picture of the author Igor Pauer
    We spend few tenth thousands USD on banner advertising in certain territories. We carefully measured results and come to following conclusions:

    1. CPM payment is extremely disadvantageous for advertiser in recent world. (We made few experiments, i.e. we buyed banner on big site and negotiate PPC payment. We payed only USD1000 per clicks, but if we pay by CPM the price would be over USD9400! - ceteris paribus).
    2. Conversion rate from banners is misarable.
    3. The "banner-blindness" theory is true.
    4. The "branding" theory is just BS of advertising agencies and publishers to excuse their poor efficiency.

    Results:
    1. We are focusing mostly on in-house affiliate advertising - pay only for results.
    2. If no possibility to pay according to point 1., either do not advertise at all, or pay PPC.
    3. Never use CPM payment!

    The school fee for these results was about $20K, but it shows us the right way.
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    We are direct producer. We dropship worldwide. Details of our affiliate, dropship and wholesale program find here.

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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by Igor Pauer View Post

      We spend few tenth thousands USD on banner advertising in certain territories. We carefully measured results and come to following conclusions:

      1. CPM payment is extremely disadvantageous for advertiser in recent world. (We made few experiments, i.e. we buyed banner on big site and negotiate PPC payment. We payed only USD1000 per clicks, but if we pay by CPM the price would be over USD9400! - ceteris paribus).
      2. Conversion rate from banners is misarable.
      3. The "banner-blindness" theory is true.
      4. The "branding" theory is just BS of advertising agencies and publishers to excuse their poor efficiency.

      Results:
      1. We are focusing mostly on in-house affiliate advertising - pay only for results.
      2. If no possibility to pay according to point 1., either do not advertise at all, or pay PPC.
      3. Never use CPM payment!

      The school fee for these results was about $20K, but it shows us the right way.

      Great post, thanks a million for it

      I just did not want to jump head first into something without first listening to some stories from those who "have been there and done that", Not that this is going to be my only criteria to measure against, but truly it helps a lot.
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      • Profile picture of the author Igor Pauer
        Originally Posted by TheGraduate View Post

        Great post, thanks a million for it
        You are welcome. Your school fee will be much smaller, I suppose
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        114.000 pcs of silver jewelry physically in stock. Diamond jewelry also available (in stock).
        We are direct producer. We dropship worldwide. Details of our affiliate, dropship and wholesale program find here.

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  • Profile picture of the author Clint Butler
    I found that banners work best when you do them in conjuction with other programs, i.e. if you are using safelists or traffic exchanges throw a banner into their system as well, but all in all converstions of my banners regardless of where I put them were less than optimal
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  • Profile picture of the author LMC
    I spend over $10k on banner advertising each month.

    I use multiple verticals such as BuySellAds and Adbrite.
    I know exactly whom I am trying to target
    I have 15 different ads per product promotion and each ad is designed to a different person.

    I design ads to:

    People who Browse
    People who Compare
    People who Buy

    Browsers do not know what they want and are searching for a solution to a problem, your ad has to be designed to tell them what they want and to provide the solution

    People who compare know what they want, but want to make sure they have the best price, so your ad needs to signify that you have the best product.

    People who buy know what they want and need just are looking for the place to buy, so you need to design your ad around why your website is the best place to purchase.

    -----------------------------

    Once you design ads to people.

    You place those ads on the websites that the people you are targeting visit.

    That is how you get a good CTR.

    That is how you make large returns.
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by LMC View Post

      I spend over $10k on banner advertising each month.

      I use multiple verticals such as BuySellAds and Adbrite.
      I know exactly whom I am trying to target
      I have 15 different ads per product promotion and each ad is designed to a different person.

      I design ads to:

      People who Browse
      People who Compare
      People who Buy

      Browsers do not know what they want and are searching for a solution to a problem, your ad has to be designed to tell them what they want and to provide the solution

      People who compare know what they want, but want to make sure they have the best price, so your ad needs to signify that you have the best product.

      People who buy know what they want and need just are looking for the place to buy, so you need to design your ad around why your website is the best place to purchase.

      -----------------------------

      Once you design ads to people.

      You place those ads on the websites that the people you are targeting visit.

      That is how you get a good CTR.

      That is how you make large returns.
      I may try the AdBrite CPC banner ads option where you pay for actual clicks to your banner (I have not tried it yet), So How is this working for You?
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  • Profile picture of the author innitmedia
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by innitmedia View Post

      I spent more than few bucks on a thing called Adbrite promoting CPA offers. Despite being as careful and analytical as possible regarding targeting, niche, offer and demographics, CTR was very low. However, conversions from those clicks were good and I made some profits so ROI was acceptable, if not outstanding.

      This gave me a taste of banner advertising but in order to further drill down into targeting and to try to negotiate better rates, I now approach owners of relevant sites direct.

      I should add that banner advertising is just one component in my marketing strategy but it can be profitable.

      Cheers,

      Steve

      Yes I have heard of this method before, which is basically to Keep an eye on the PPC guys and hit them with an offer they can't resist , the problem with this is that most people showing up at the top of the google ads section are just losing money like crazy and not even getting the right amount of traffic to their websites. (yes there are better ways of finding the right sites)
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  • Profile picture of the author sdentrepreneur
    I have banners on several Business Opportunity Websites. It is one of over 20+ ways I market my business. There is some skill and research that needs to be done before you pay someone for banner space.
    It helps if you have a high end product, I sell $400, $2,000 and $10,000 products from my banners, don't need many sales to cover the cost of banner.
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by sdentrepreneur View Post

      I have banners on several Business Opportunity Websites. It is one of over 20+ ways I market my business. There is some skill and research that needs to be done before you pay someone for banner space.
      It helps if you have a high end product, I sell $400, $2,000 and $10,000 products from my banners, don't need many sales to cover the cost of banner.

      Can you provide a link to one of those products (as long as it is not an affiliate link of course) I am curious to see one of those landing pages where from banners you successfully sale high ticket products in such economic conditions.
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  • Profile picture of the author AdInventive
    Whatever you do, please don't listen to the person that stated buying on a CPM basis is a waste of time. If done correctly it can be up to 100% cheaper than buying per click.

    There are obviously a lot of variables involved such as targeting, context, message, ad placement, and a lot of other things.

    Consider this though, say you're paying $1 per CPM and have a CTR of 0.4% on your ad. That's as if you're paying .25 per click. The more that you can improve your CTR on an ad the cheaper your effective cost per click obviously becomes. However, if you were paying a static cost per click it would actually screw you over in the end because the more that you improve your ads CTR (which you should always be doing) the more you end up paying for that traffic.
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    • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
      Originally Posted by AdInventive View Post

      Whatever you do, please don't listen to the person that stated buying on a CPM basis is a waste of time. If done correctly it can be up to 100% cheaper than buying per click.

      There are obviously a lot of variables involved such as targeting, context, message, ad placement, and a lot of other things.

      Consider this though, say you're paying $1 per CPM and have a CTR of 0.4% on your ad. That's as if you're paying .25 per click. The more that you can improve your CTR on an ad the cheaper your effective cost per click obviously becomes. However, if you were paying a static cost per click it would actually screw you over in the end because the more that you improve your ads CTR (which you should always be doing) the more you end up paying for that traffic.
      very good advice, thanks a lot

      For some odd reason my mind was tricking me into believing that paying for actual clicks instead of paying for every thousand impressions was going to be a better deal.

      question:

      doesn't paying for every thousand impressions instead of paying for clicks slows down your campaign?
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    • Profile picture of the author 2gts
      Originally Posted by AdInventive View Post

      Whatever you do, please don't listen to the person that stated buying on a CPM basis is a waste of time. If done correctly it can be up to 100% cheaper than buying per click.

      There are obviously a lot of variables involved such as targeting, context, message, ad placement, and a lot of other things.

      Consider this though, say you're paying $1 per CPM and have a CTR of 0.4% on your ad. That's as if you're paying .25 per click. The more that you can improve your CTR on an ad the cheaper your effective cost per click obviously becomes. However, if you were paying a static cost per click it would actually screw you over in the end because the more that you improve your ads CTR (which you should always be doing) the more you end up paying for that traffic.


      It's best to start on a banner network that is easy to test new designs. We had to test dozens before we got a high enough CTR to be profitable.

      Plus all sizes need to be treated differently... we found that one size is a hit almost every time for us. Where others will always bomb.... but maybe we just haven't found the right banner.

      Last don't try to compete with the brands... they're paying $15 to $50 per CPM... don't make the mistake of thinking they know what they're doing. We don't pay more that $1 cpm ever.
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      • Profile picture of the author TheGraduate
        Originally Posted by 2gts View Post

        It's best to start on a banner network that is easy to test new designs. We had to test dozens before we got a high enough CTR to be profitable.

        Plus all sizes need to be treated differently... we found that one size is a hit almost every time for us. Where others will always bomb.... but maybe we just haven't found the right banner.

        Last don't try to compete with the brands... they're paying $15 to $50 per CPM... don't make the mistake of thinking they know what they're doing. We don't pay more that $1 cpm ever.
        Yes the BIG guys always over pay for online advertisement, reason being that online marketing is just a tiny part of their advertisement strategies, which most of the time their marketing guys know very little about.
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