Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2008, 03:02 PM   #1
theratracelab.com
War Room Member
 
EndGame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,Newcastle Upon Tyne , United Kingdom.
Posts: 957
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 450
Thanked 151 Times in 80 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to EndGame
Default Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

Hi gang.

So I have a blog in a niche. All I have been doing is adding content to it. Haven't promoted it at all.

Someone recently uploaded my article to a larger article site and linked back to my page which was cool, and I have one or two comments.

Then I got a comment which just made some reference to some "worst case scenario" vote on Diggwow. My post (which I made less than 24 hours ago) has 153 votes at this time and is second on the page. I have NO idea what this means. Is it a good thing?

Help!

I am hoping the 153 votes MIGHT mean at least a few of those people may have actually read my article, which if that is the case, I am chuffed!

Heres the link the commentator left on my blog:

worst case scenario | Digg hot tags

I am not sure whether to approve the comment as it may look like a reciprocal link or may look like I am gaming the system some how? I don't want to come across all "spammy".

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Cheers

Alex

"Better a student of reality than a master of illusion"
EndGame is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 03:17 PM   #2
theratracelab.com
War Room Member
 
EndGame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,Newcastle Upon Tyne , United Kingdom.
Posts: 957
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 450
Thanked 151 Times in 80 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to EndGame
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

Just checked it again, and it had gone down to 26 votes. Maybe its as a result of me posting a link here and approving that link in a comment?

"Better a student of reality than a master of illusion"
EndGame is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:35 PM   #3
Programmer Extraordinaire
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Olathe, KS USA.
Posts: 700
Thanks: 39
Thanked 30 Times in 26 Posts
Social Networking View Member's FaceBook Profile 
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

I had a post show up on diggwow too, and was surprised that it had 12 votes. I looked at all the other articles on the same page and they also had 12 votes too. I wasn't nearly as happy after that.

I'm tired of my signature... Deleted.
Bishop81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:51 AM   #4
theratracelab.com
War Room Member
 
EndGame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,Newcastle Upon Tyne , United Kingdom.
Posts: 957
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 450
Thanked 151 Times in 80 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to EndGame
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

Do you know what diggwow is, how it works etc?

Is it just another take on Digg?

"Better a student of reality than a master of illusion"
EndGame is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:55 AM   #5
Carol
War Room Member
 
rosetrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,735
Blog Entries: 13
Thanks: 341
Thanked 736 Times in 516 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

I'm using Chrome and when I clicked on your link, Chrome gave me this message:

Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
The website at diggwow.info contains elements from the site www.wowxman.com, which appears to host malware

Offliners - Client Guide to Editing a Wordpress Site
Atahualpa Theme Tutorial. Available to promote via Clickbank
Beginners Guide to SEO - Good, solid, grounding in SEO techniques
rosetrees is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 08:56 AM   #6
Getting Smarter every Day
War Room Member
 
getsmartt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Spokane, WA, USA.
Posts: 915
Thanks: 316
Thanked 156 Times in 122 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via ICQ to getsmartt Send a message via AIM to getsmartt Send a message via MSN to getsmartt
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

Diggwow is a pligg site ( a digg clone) the results you see when you click on one of the links that end up on your blog are faked, note the link structure below...
Code:
http://diggwow.info/tags/107/200812/worst-case-scenario-6.html
  • If you go directly to the Diggwow home page you will notice that there are only 4 stories.
  • If you follow the link above you will see multiple stories all with the same vote count (currently 12)
  • If you strip off the '/200812/worst-case-scenario-6.html' part of the link you will be taken to a list of "tags" which are mostly irrelevant to the site.
  • When the owner sends you a link to vote on your blog, the link simply searches for your post title and adds a fake vote count to the result.
None of these "features" are built into pligg so the owner must be using some other script to generate the fake results. All in all it is a scam.

LAST CHANCE! The Worlds Easiest Amazon Site Script is about to get Much Better - Lock in your Price! - Features + Instant Amazon Review Sites See Demo
Was mich nicht umbringt, macht mich stärker -Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche
getsmartt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:17 PM   #7
theratracelab.com
War Room Member
 
EndGame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,Newcastle Upon Tyne , United Kingdom.
Posts: 957
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 450
Thanked 151 Times in 80 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to EndGame
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

Excellent, really appreciate this. I shall just delete the link then as it may be harmful to me.

Rosetrees, I wonder if you got that warning when you visited my site, or the diggwow site? I'd be very concerned if it was from my site, there shouldn't be an issue there.

"Better a student of reality than a master of illusion"
EndGame is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 06:41 PM   #8
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Will_Surren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 160
Thanks: 69
Thanked 38 Times in 21 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to Will_Surren
Default Re: Did I Just Get Some Good Link Love? Help!

Alex, I was hit with a virus on almost all of my sites and the message that was showing was this site may be harmful. I found a string of java code added to my body tag and sometimes the /body tag. My word press was affected very bad as I had to totally remove my wordpress files. You may want to take a look just in case you were hit.

Hope you are doing great.

Oh, by the way a buddy of mine recommended wpremix.com to me the other day. I thought what a small world we live in..

Have a great weekend.

Will

Will_Surren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Tags
backlinks, diggwow, good, link, love, seo help

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 PM.