![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 | |
| Advanced Warrior War Room Member Join Date: May 2003 Location: Still Looking... Currently back in Zim...
Posts: 674
Thanks: 117
Thanked 64 Times in 28 Posts
|
I got this comment on one of my blogs: Quote:
It was caught by Akismet, so I'm inclined to think it was an ad... What do you think? | |
|
Sig not working today - too hung over...
| ||
| | |
| | #2 |
| Advanced Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 822
Thanks: 257
Thanked 74 Times in 64 Posts
|
defintely an ad. I get annoying word press spam that is any variation of the following: "Hi, gosh darn it golly gee! You have a great site, i visited it from _urlhere_" or (some were even too lazy to replace the automated code) "Hi! I read your %TOPIC% on %WEBSITE_URL%, and think it was a great post." and in the username it is their username/keyword stuffing/url. etc, etc. |
| | |
| | #3 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: South Florida
Posts: 112
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
|
Reverse psychology in effect. Nice...
|
| | |
| | #4 |
| Advanced Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 538
Thanks: 17
Thanked 210 Times in 51 Posts
|
Clever ad... I might have to use it! *sarcasm*
|
| | |
| | #5 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: Northeast Fl USA.
Posts: 1,608
Blog Entries: 2 Thanks: 18
Thanked 25 Times in 14 Posts
|
Sounds like a clever ad. I imagine people would be curious to see the dark art scripts free of charge I had a strange one recently. The posters name was the keyword Acai Berry which was not so unusual considering my blog. The url was some sort of acaiberrysomething.com address. The strange part is that the url redirected to the Sham Wow website shamwow.com/ with that guy from the Sham Wow Infomercials I keep seeing on T.V. That dude is everywhere lol |
| Last edited by Tom Dean; 01-09-2009 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Forgot top sentence | |
| | |
| | #6 |
| Advanced Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: Waikele, HI, USA.
Posts: 748
Thanks: 35
Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts
|
At first glance it looks like a dumb comment by an overly enthusiastic "ethics cop", which probably means it works well on readers - making it a clever ad (albeit an annoying one)!
|
| | |
| | |
| | #7 |
| Advanced Warrior War Room Member Join Date: May 2003 Location: Still Looking... Currently back in Zim...
Posts: 674
Thanks: 117
Thanked 64 Times in 28 Posts
|
I guess it was a clever ad, but it it got me curious because I've been accused of polluting the web with my premade websites and seen enough "you are ruining the web" comments to make me want to stop selling them and go into flipping instead. Tom, I also got that Acai Berry comment - It wasn't a bad comment as spam goes, but it was way off topic and I left Akismet to blitz it . |
|
Sig not working today - too hung over...
| |
| | |
| | #8 |
| HyperActive Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Lake of the Ozarks
Posts: 104
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
|
Definitely an ad
|
| Today’s Tools & Insights To Insure Your Success Tomorrow! Join The Earners Digest Top 2% Club Free membership for limited time | |
| | |
| | #9 |
| Warrior Member Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Thats rather clever.. using reverse psychology to get the reader intrigued and makes them want to click.. thats an ad in my opinion!
|
| | |
| | #10 |
| Active Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 48
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
|
I wasn't sure at first, either! LOL
|
|
Joanna Benz Hosting Report Card | |
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| blog, clever, comment, dumb |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |