Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
Share
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2012, 09:21 AM   #1
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Michael Mayhew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN , USA.
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 62
Thanked 135 Times in 101 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Myspace Profile  View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

Everyday almost on the hour I get a visit like this

Referer: http://88.198.7.221/?xurl=88.198.7.2...automation.com

3 different IP's, all everyday.

Just trying to figure out the purpose?

IMO Partnership. A National Insurance Marketing Alliance.
http://www.imopartnership.com/
Michael Mayhew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:34 AM   #2
HyperActive Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 153
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 25 Posts
Default Re: Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

Trying to figure out it's purpose from your link is hard. What you need to do is look over your logs and see exactly what the referrer is trying to access. They are basically using a proxy service if that is what you were wondering about. Read this post on how to disable people using an xurl to come over. You may want to read that whole thread.

visitors from an xurl redirect what is it?
Farish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:41 AM   #3
copy and paste geek
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,720
Thanks: 116
Thanked 273 Times in 222 Posts
Default Re: Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

At least the ip isn't in the spam database I checked.

If you treat the ip as a domain and do a whois, it looks like ripe.net has that whole range of ips.

88.198.7.221 - Who.is

It looks like it might be slightly related to your sig site, so maybe they are just keeping a check for new material.

It doesn't really answer your question, but maybe some of that is useful, or could lead to other ideas.

A lot of people become pessimists from financing optimists. CT Jones

The KimW WSO
Lloyd Buchinski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:45 AM   #4
Warrior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to arthurnyc
Default Re: Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

I have the same IP hitting us (starreviews dot com) but I think it is some sort of bot for posting comments. We use wordpress and I am trying to match up IPs with the Spam comments. Let you know.

Arthur
arthurnyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:37 AM   #5
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
automaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 123
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Default Re: Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

Weird, searching with the operators inurl:"xurl" inurl:"xref" yields other examples.
There are some Russian sites blocked by their hosting in those examples so I guess there is a high probability that nothing good is of these kind of requests.

automaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 04:45 AM   #6
Keyword Research Addict
War Room Member
 
williamk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Multiverse
Posts: 776
Thanks: 1
Thanked 41 Times in 41 Posts
Contact Info
Send a message via MSN to williamk Send a message via Yahoo to williamk Send a message via Skype™ to williamk
Default Re: Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

I think it is a spam bot too. Its better you change some comments to approval based. Its hard to tackle them.
They are persistent.

williamk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:15 AM   #7
Advanced Warrior
 
prismkuet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 669
Thanks: 5
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Default Re: Techie Question? What is this IP doing?

Probably they are keeping on eye to your site to see what the update you have that they can use. This sometimes happens for similar/same segment. And I don't think, they will be anyhow useful for you.

check out the Pros and Cons of CPA
prismkuet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Bookmarks

Tags
question, techie

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.