![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,652
Thanks: 207
Thanked 127 Times in 47 Posts
|
Hey Warriors. I just came across this email in my inbox with a subject line of: "You've got a payment" The return address shows it is from: service(AT)paypal.com but when I open it, the email address says it's from: restore(AT)service-paypal.com. Obviously not the same. That was the first clue something wasn't right. Next, the email looks really really close to what PayPal would send you, however, on the inside it says: "Hello, You sent a payment of $7.95 to shopping(AT)*********.com" Hmm, another non match. No name is mentioned, which is another clue that it's a phishing email. And finally, the entire email is actually an image that no matter what portion you click on, will forward you off somewhere. Obviously I wasn't dumb enough to click on anything and forwarded the email to PP immediately. I just wanted to warn everyone to look out for this as it was new to me. Some of you may have already received something like this in your inbox. The scammers are getting better at what they're doing folks and we have to be ever vigilant to report these things and share the info with others that may not know. Sorry if someone else already posted about this, but it was new to me, so I thought I'd post it up here to help protect those that may not have known about it like me. Tracy |
| EBE MRR & PLR Membership Site: $1.99 3 Day Trial -- Limited Spots! Sign Up Here WFH: Professional Ebook Formatting Services | 2 New Ebook Template Packs - On Sale! | WSO: Kindle Template Bundle - Limited PLR Available Now! | |
| | |
| | #2 |
| Bob Steward Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
|
Thanks Tracy! I got an email like that also I almost clicked on but choose not to. |
| | |
| | |
| | #3 |
| HyperActive Warrior Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 139
Thanks: 17
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
Go the exact same email on the 20th as well. These things make their rounds every few days. |
| | |
| | #4 |
| Warrior Member Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
I've gotten those in the past. I've even gotten them from my bank and eBay, or what appeared to be from them. It looked really authentic with the disclaimers, logos and all. The headlines were "You just made a payment" or "Your account will be closed if we don't hear from you." There's always some eye catching, immediate action required so you don't think, you just act and put in your information. The scammers will address you in a general way, i.e. without your name or the last 4 digits of an account number. If something looks suspicious, always check the URL where it sends you to. |
| | |
| | #5 |
| Warrior Member Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: London
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
Yeah I got one of those yesterday. These people are swine. I heard on the radio about a guy who was selling an X-box or Wee or something. He got an email from paypal@hotmail saying they had got the money and could he please send the item. He was about to when he got a notification from ebay telling him that there was a problem with this member. So he waited but the got an email from ebay@hotmail saying that they had made a mistake and that it was OK to send he item. Apparently it took two of his friends to physically stop him from taking it to the Post Office. Some people will always be victims, no matter what you do and this is what the scammers rely on. |
|
Zerivabella has the site for graphics.
| |
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| email, paypal, phishing, scam |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |