Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2009, 08:31 AM   #1
I Get Mine, Got Yours?
War Room Member
 
GoGetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 1,686
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 363
Thanked 505 Times in 197 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Anyone Shed A Little Insight On This.........

Hi Warriors,

Hope you are all having a great weekend!

Ok, I need a little info and advice from you guys!

One of my offline clients contacted me today via email asking if an email they had recieved was a scam!

Now I don't want to post the email here but the email was basically an IMPORTANT NOTICE from what looked like a domain registration company.

The Subject Line:

Domain Notification: (My Clients Name) This is your Final Notice of Domain Notification

Now the email basically read out that the domain name in question needs registering to avoid any problems with customers finding you on the web. It was obviously a scare tactic and they were charging:

$75 for 1 year Registration!

The email was sent from a donotreply@ email address. I have URL'd the email domain and it has brought up one of those information.com type of pages.

Now this looks like a company searching the web and scaring people into buying domains at a high price. Has anyone else recieved one of these or has any offliners recieved one of these for clients in the past?

I have never had an email and its the first I have heard about it!


Any info?

GoGetta



GoGetta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 08:56 AM   #2
KEY
The Chaotic Marketer
War Room Member
 
KEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Swamplands of NJ - USA
Posts: 294
Thanks: 161
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
Social Networking View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Anyone Shed A Little Insight On This.........

you are correct that it is an elaborate scam.

just a program that surfs the net...hits a site and then run a domain search for other variants of the domain (net, org, etc) and if available? pulls an email from the site and sends the type of mail you are writing about. "your business is in danger...blah...blah"

even if you feel that your client may need the other 'sister' domains? just go buy them at whatever registrar you use.

KEY
KEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:06 AM   #3
I Get Mine, Got Yours?
War Room Member
 
GoGetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 1,686
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 363
Thanked 505 Times in 197 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Anyone Shed A Little Insight On This.........

Just what I thought KEY!

Thanks for that,

GoGetta

GoGetta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:10 AM   #4
Writer Extraordinaire
War Room Member
 
Vince Runza Online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scranton, PA, USA.
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 65
Thanked 403 Times in 85 Posts
Social Networking View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to Vince Runza Online
Default Re: Anyone Shed A Little Insight On This.........

I get direct mail pieces offering the same kind of "service". This must be profitable for these guys to do. Postage and mailing fees far outstrip the cost of spam...

"The will to prepare to win is more important than the will to win." -- misquoting Coach Vince Lombardi
Vince Runza Online is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:16 AM   #5
Mal Lambe
War Room Member
 
The Copy Nazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Bunker, Paris
Posts: 2,292
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 705
Thanked 1,260 Times in 603 Posts
Social Networking View Member's FaceBook Profile  View Member's Twitter Profile  View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to The Copy Nazi
Default Re: Anyone Shed A Little Insight On This.........

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoGetta View Post
Hi Warriors,

Hope you are all having a great weekend!

Ok, I need a little info and advice from you guys!

One of my offline clients contacted me today via email asking if an email they had recieved was a scam!

Now I don't want to post the email here but the email was basically an IMPORTANT NOTICE from what looked like a domain registration company.

The Subject Line:

Domain Notification: (My Clients Name) This is your Final Notice of Domain Notification

Now the email basically read out that the domain name in question needs registering to avoid any problems with customers finding you on the web. It was obviously a scare tactic and they were charging:

$75 for 1 year Registration!

The email was sent from a donotreply@ email address. I have URL'd the email domain and it has brought up one of those information.com type of pages.

Now this looks like a company searching the web and scaring people into buying domains at a high price. Has anyone else recieved one of these or has any offliners recieved one of these for clients in the past?

I have never had an email and its the first I have heard about it!


Any info?

GoGetta


The other scam to be aware of is the Domain Name Appraisal Scam They send an email like this one -

Quote:
From: Harrison [management@phreaker.net] Hello,
We’ve have visited several online auctions. We are very interested in your domain name.
Just email me your price and we will consider it.
Of course, domain reselling is not a main direction of our business (we develop software). But domain aftermarket is hot now, so we are always interested in domain names.
Looking forward to do business with you. Regards,
Anthony Harrison
COO
PDS Consulting
More on it here at my blog Welcome to Wallyworld


"By offending nobody, you impassion nobody" - Gary Halbert
The Copy Nazi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Tags
insight, shed

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.