War Room

Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Featured Warrior Special Offer...
"Members Of The *War Room* Discover Secrets To Immediate Success!"
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2009, 07:30 PM   #1
Active Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , , .
Posts: 71
Thanks: 30
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

Hi all!

Today, I got this e-mail to one of my domains (edited with cheeze69 instead of real info ):
------------------
Dear cheeze69:

We are Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, which is the domain name register center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.

We have received an application formally,one company named "Shengteng (China) Investment Co.,Ltd" applies for the domain names(www.cheeze69.com.cn www.cheeze69.cn etc.) ,and the Internet keyword(cheeze69) on the internet April 09, 2009. We need to know the opinion of your company because the domain names and keyword may relate to the copyright of brand name on internet.

we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
------------------

Do you think this is legit or is this a way to try to get me to pay for domain registrations in China? The domain in question is my personal blog, which has been established for a few years and I make a bit of text-link-ad/adsense money from, but it's not really a "business" -- just my own brand if you can call it that.

Any advice on what's going-on? It seems odd to me that a registrar would take the time to research reserved/existing words online, but who knows.

Thanks!
cheeze69 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:48 AM   #2
Domain Names...
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , , .
Posts: 1,437
Thanks: 8
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

It's a potential scam to safely ignore. Search around and you'll find variations
of it all around.

David on Twitter...
Private Domain-Trademark Forum Coming Soon...
davezan is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:49 AM   #3
Active Warrior
 
danielgb123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia.
Posts: 41
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Social Networking View Member's YouTube Profile
Contact Info
Send a message via Yahoo to danielgb123
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

Just ignore it, looks like any other spam, scam email I have seen about domain registers.

danielgb123 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:50 AM   #4
Active Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , , .
Posts: 71
Thanks: 30
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

Thanks for the input!
cheeze69 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:53 AM   #5
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 127
Thanks: 163
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

Yes, scam that is becoming very common now, with about 4 variations of what you received.

Edward W. Smith For your FREE 30 page TOOLKIT of success/motivational information not available anywhere else, email edsmith@brightmoment.com, www.brightmoment.com.
edd666666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:57 AM   #6
Active Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , , .
Posts: 71
Thanks: 30
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

Yeah, I did some searches on the exact first few words and found some good pages. One showed them wanting $20K to register several domains for 20 year. lol!

I'll delete the message - thanks for the input everyone and sorry to post about such a n00bish thing - I just didn't do my research
cheeze69 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 11:05 AM   #7
Wombat King
War Room Member
 
derekwong28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: , , .
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 29
Thanked 52 Times in 42 Posts
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

I don't think it is scam because I have received one of these in the past. I did communicate with them and they just wanted to know whether I had a trademark on my domain. I told them that I did not and they thanked me for telling them and left it at that. At no point did they ask for any money.

I think they just wanted to check whether their customer could run into trademark problems.

Do not get between a wombat and a chocolate biscuit; you will regret it dearly!
WebTalkForums - the friendliest webmaster forum on the planet!
derekwong28 is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 11:20 AM   #8
Active Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Advice: e-mail from Chinese registrar about domains

You could always use the money you got from the Nigerian bank to pay for these domains.

A Leading Online Reputation Management Firm and also our reputation management blog
Check out our choices of Nashville hotels today!
primeelite is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Tags
advice, chinese, domains, email, registrar

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 AM.