Go Back   WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Social Groups CalendarHelp Desk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2009, 11:09 AM   #1
20DayPersuasion.com
War Room Member
 
Michael Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 3,050
Thanks: 224
Thanked 167 Times in 100 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Yahoo to Michael Lee Send a message via Skype™ to Michael Lee
Default Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

Hi Warriors,

I've been a loyal reader of Early to Rise Newsletter. But when I clicked on their issue in their email, it says the site was blocked because it's been reported as an attack site.

I searched earlytorise.com in Google and it says "This site may harm your computer."

Is this true or not? I don't believe it since I've always known it to be trustworthy and reputable. Hopefully, they'll see this message and resolve this. I'll be sending them an email too.

Thanks,
Michael

Michael Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:26 AM   #2
Christmas Rocker
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Pole
Posts: 2,380
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 545
Thanked 696 Times in 372 Posts
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

Yup,

Just got the same message. Google said it had quite a few instances of malicious downloads from various pages.

Wonder what happened?

Martin

"Merda taurorum animas conturbit"
Martin Luxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:33 AM   #3
Advanced Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 714
Thanks: 24
Thanked 94 Times in 62 Posts
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

Very strange.

I've been receiving their ezine for quite a while and never noticed this problem until you brought it up.

I just opened up another tab and went directly to their site (without clicking on the link in the newsletter) and it took me to their site just fine.

Jill

Jillian Slack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:14 PM   #4
HyperActive Warrior
War Room Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: , , .
Posts: 110
Thanks: 38
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

It seems that someone hacked their website.

http://www.attractorgenie.com - The Secret Software Behind The Law Of Attraction
johnpetrov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:37 PM   #5
Advanced Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 824
Thanks: 29
Thanked 148 Times in 126 Posts
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

Just in case it happens to any of your web businesses...
Yes, You’re An Attack Site That Contains Malware, Now Here’s What To Do About It

Dave
Dave777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 01:59 PM   #6
Conscious Creator
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 73
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

Thank you so much Dave! Well - today my site - through no knowledge of my own is now labeled and blocked as an attack site. Just found this out!!!!! right this moment! So, my programmers are off on Saturdays.... and I don't have a clue what that 'bad code' may look like... so it looks like I'll be dealing with this for a few days (hopefully not longer).

I do not use a CMS (which previously placed me vulnerable to a different kind of hacker), and I don't know how to protect my site moving forward (after we get the fix)... any advice?

Thank you!
Anisa

Conscious Creation and The Power of Intentionality using EFT, LOA, & NLP http://www.CreataVision.com and http://www.ManifestingProsperity.com - Free Comprehensive Manifesting Abundance Program.
Ravenaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 02:30 PM   #7
Wordsmith
War Room Member
 
Tsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: , , USA.
Posts: 2,530
Thanks: 260
Thanked 621 Times in 320 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Contact Info
Send a message via Skype™ to Tsnyder
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenaven View Post
Thank you so much Dave! Well - today my site - through no knowledge of my own is now labeled and blocked as an attack site. Just found this out!!!!! right this moment! So, my programmers are off on Saturdays.... and I don't have a clue what that 'bad code' may look like... so it looks like I'll be dealing with this for a few days (hopefully not longer).

I do not use a CMS (which previously placed me vulnerable to a different kind of hacker), and I don't know how to protect my site moving forward (after we get the fix)... any advice?

Thank you!
Anisa
This happened to me about 2 months ago. In the end I had to delete
all files from the server, institute a new, much more complicated, password,
and re-upload the files. I've been fine since... so far.

Tsnyder

There is still nothing for sale here but a person with
some imagination and a sense of humor might have a bit
of fun at http://www.facebook.com/pages/DucTales/195406083832415
Tsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 10:48 AM   #8
Conscious Creator
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 73
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Social Networking View Member's Twitter Profile 
Default Re: Early To Rise: An Attack Site Or Not?

I wanted to post an update so that if anyone else gets hacked maybe they can learn from my experience.
Problem: My site was hacked; malware code was placed on the site and the tech-criminals used my pages to spy on users/download malware to their computers. Our normal scans did not detect any problems until it was too late.
We are unsure about the exact vulnerable entry point, but suspect it was one of the following:
- my forum, wordpress blog, CHMOD settings, my host’s server, old files no longer in use
What we did wrong:
- failed to delete older developer ftp accounts
- we received an email from someone about a month ago telling us our site was hosting malware, we submitted it to our host asking what we needed to do about this - he said it was a 'scam and we should ignore it' and we believed it.
- failed to evaluate unused files on the site and delete
- did not scan our 'open-source' scripts for vulnerabilities and our overall site for bad code
- failed to stay abreast of the scripts that we do use to be knowledgeable of when others have experienced security breeches
What we did to correct:
- backed-up the entire site
- replaced the bad code
- deleted all old developer accts, changed passwords
- resubmitted to google for review

What we intend to do moving forward:
- Edit passwords at least quarterly
- Find a way to systematically scan the site for bad code (still looking for a solution to this)
- Stay abreast of other solutions and security issues w/in the scripts we use

Fortunately, we are back online with the search engines. However, hotmail is still rejecting my server’s emails because ‘this site is bad’. Not sure how to correct that, or have them update their records or how to find out what other servers/ISPs still have the bad data.

I hope others find this helpful!
Thanks,
Anisa

Conscious Creation and The Power of Intentionality using EFT, LOA, & NLP http://www.CreataVision.com and http://www.ManifestingProsperity.com - Free Comprehensive Manifesting Abundance Program.
Ravenaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  WarriorForum - Internet Marketing Forums > The Warrior Forum > Main Internet Marketing Discussion Forum

Tags
attack, early, rise, site

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 AM.