![]() | | ||||||||
| | #1 | |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Earth
Posts: 5,953
Blog Entries: 15 Thanks: 72
Thanked 872 Times in 579 Posts
|
i just got an email which tells me "...i have already 25 paid members "in my team" and i am "guaranteed $576 commission every month" and i just need to "lock in" and purchase this underground cash system for $49 and change. (The letter has an affiliate link at the end going to this sales page) Now..i never heard of this system and i don't know why and how those people are "in my team" because i am pretty sure i never promoted this particular product. The names look kind of familiar, i think its some names from the warrior forum, probably people who actually purchased this product. Just to get an idea about how the letter is written Quote:
| |
| *** Affiliate Site Quick --> The Fastest & Easiest Way to Make Affiliate Sites!<-- -> VISIT www.1UP-SEO.com *** <- Internet Marketing, SEO Tips, Reviews & More!! *** Free Ipad * LinkAloha * Kindle Vs Ipad * What is the Best Tablet Article Spinning Service - The BEST SPUN ARTICLES you Have Ever Seen! - Thread Here * | ||
| | |
| | #2 |
| Portuguese Warrior War Room Member Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Good Old Europe
Posts: 3,488
Blog Entries: 6 Thanks: 1,311
Thanked 810 Times in 556 Posts
|
George, Looks a very clever (or not) approach to make sales fast. Notice the "buy now or lose the goodies". Is this from a reputable source? Fernando |
| | |
| | |
| | #3 |
| Greg Schueler War Room Member Join Date: Jul 2002 Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,101
Thanks: 193
Thanked 398 Times in 292 Posts
|
It's just a lead generating sales (spam) pitch. I am sure the "catch" is that once you sign up, there is a good chance you won't make that much and their excuse will be that "not enough people signed up by the deadline, but if you keep promoting you will get there yourself". And if the $49 purchase is solely for the purpose of promoting the program and earning commissions, then it is an illegal pyramid plan. Proceed with caution. |
|
Greg Schueler - Wordpress Fanatic... Offline Marketing Rockstar... | |
| | |
| | #4 |
| The Nature Lady War Room Member Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: , , USA.
Posts: 4,099
Thanks: 2,675
Thanked 3,195 Times in 1,754 Posts
|
Just a scam, delete it. There are all sorts of scams that tell you that you are already part of something - keeps you from objecting to their program if they can fool you that you already signed up. There used to be a program when I was new on the net that I looked over once - they captured my info on the page somehow, I never gave it to them. After that for a long time I received spam similar to the one you have posted. It always showed me how many people were already in my downline if I paid right now. There are other scammers that just spam you and have a line that you are a subscriber to their list even though you never heard of them. This kind of thing used to (might still) go on terra as well as online - copier toner companies were real good for sending "orders" that were never actually ordered. They would call a company and ask a question about their copier and if they got any answer the company would suddenly get a several hundred dollar package of toner COD. IF the person in accounting didn't know better, they would sign a check for it. Lesson - if you don't know someone and they claim that you are in their program, just delete, hang up, or report them for fraud, depending on how serious the situation is. |
| | |
| | |
| | #5 |
| Active Warrior Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
Let them know that they can deduct the $49 from the $576 in commissions they owe you--and then forward the remaining $527 through Paypal. In all seriousness, though, I would assume this is a scam unless you have a really good reason to think otherwise. If it isn't a scam, it's probably just a ploy to get you to look at a sales page. |
| | |
| | #6 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Gulf Coast, USA.
Posts: 15,147
Thanks: 3,715
Thanked 4,149 Times in 2,262 Posts
|
Sounds like an old upgrade ploy used by many mlm's. Bet it leads to a site with one heck of a disclaimer.... |
| | |
| | #7 |
| Please get a net biz plan War Room Member Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: , , USA.
Posts: 1,428
Blog Entries: 3 Thanks: 1,107
Thanked 559 Times in 427 Posts
|
Frankly, I'm sick and tired of all the mlm, recruiting people stuff. 99% of the people that will never make any money with their online business are involved in some sort of mlm crap. Leave it alone or else. TL |
| | |
| | #8 | |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Earth
Posts: 5,953
Blog Entries: 15 Thanks: 72
Thanked 872 Times in 579 Posts
| Quote:
![]() Well, i am/was 99,99% sure that it's a scam...but the funny thing is, the letter puzzled me that much they actually succeeded making me look at the sales-page - a few times. a) Create a LOT of confusion. Who on earth are those people? Why are they "in my team"? Things like that. b) The need to check the site because the prospect to lose the "guaranteed commission"...things like that. (Letter created confusion..so you want to check and see whats going there) Actually, thinking about it, its brilliant. Very scammy, fraudulent even, since i can assume its a blatant lie that i have "$576 Guaranteed commission waiting" as the letter does indeed state - but different from other spam/scam letters where i usually dont even bother reading them. | |
| *** Affiliate Site Quick --> The Fastest & Easiest Way to Make Affiliate Sites!<-- -> VISIT www.1UP-SEO.com *** <- Internet Marketing, SEO Tips, Reviews & More!! *** Free Ipad * LinkAloha * Kindle Vs Ipad * What is the Best Tablet Article Spinning Service - The BEST SPUN ARTICLES you Have Ever Seen! - Thread Here * | ||
| | |
| | #9 |
| Warrior Member Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
| AM new to internet marketing And I will like to learn all the basics of internet marketing,dear admin u can enlighten me by sending an email
|
| | |
| | #10 | |
| Dare To Be Different War Room Member Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: U.K.
Posts: 8,878
Thanks: 1,318
Thanked 2,807 Times in 1,041 Posts
|
Hi, The small print is fun. I especially enjoyed this bit - Quote:
| |
| | ||
| | |
| | #11 | |
| I will name him PacMan War Room Member | Quote:
Someone following up via a forum from spam email. Let me see if this is how it works: Step 1: Setup Google Alerts with the name of something I wanna promote. Step 2: Blast out a **** ton of spam email Step 3: Follow up whenever I get an alert | |
| | ||
| | |
| | #13 |
| Senior Warrior Member War Room Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: , , USA.
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 40
Thanked 155 Times in 148 Posts
|
I used to get that spam all the time. It went on for a few years before I was able to block them. They keep changing their return address and email servers. |
| | |
| | #14 |
| Vegas Whale. War Room Member Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Wild blue yonder
Posts: 180
Thanks: 36
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
|
It is a scam. A friend of mine actually fell for it. Then I swowed her how to make some legit money with lessons I've learned right here in the warrior forum.
|
| | |
| | |
| | #15 |
| Student of Marketing... War Room Member Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Adelaide,South Australia
Posts: 233
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
|
I smell scam/spam. Things like this i'd delete straight away. Paying someone 49$ to get a supposed 500 or so is rubbish. If it's too good to be true,better of deleting it. What makes me sad,is the number of people who would/does actuall fall for scams like that all the time. Here in oz,there is a radio duo called hamish and andy. (are actually currently caravanning across USA!! ) They play all sorts of pranks on air between 4pm and 6pm. Anyway,usually on wednesdays they have a segment 'blast from the past'. 1 of them rings a random phone number and tries to convince the person on the other end that they are a long lost friend from the past. Hahah,they have succeeded numerous times. Anyway,1 time to change things up a bit,they did a 'nigerian scam' lottery scenario -had this lady totally convinced they were legit and she was totally prepared to give cash. After the call they immediately told her it wasn't real and it was their radio show etc. I was ROLF'ing but at the same time,absolutely just stunned at how gullible people are. I mean, Hamish Blake's voice is pretty distinctive. Hopefully newbies read this thread and become aware of things. |
| Wordpress Install service. PM me for rates and packages or what you need and we can work something out. | |
| | |
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| cash, email, secret, underground, weird |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
![]() |