how do your seo clients make a roi?

41 replies
I started doing seo for local businesses but I don't see how they can make an ROI and I find it hard to close clients.

Example: for my area, the keywords for a chiropractor might total 100 searches a month and thatll get the business maybe 1-2 appointments a month but I'm charging $300/month.

It wouldn't be worth my time to charge less and most chiropractors say they won't make a return on that.

Also, I'm using chiropractors because I'm focusing strictly on them as I find getting the appointments is easier as they're most interested.

I've been dealing with this a lot so I've been thinking of making my own sites, doing the seo, and selling people who are interested the leads/appointments. That way I control everything. I don't see how SEO is profitable for a small business.

edit- i know the selling leads/appointments isnt a revolutionary idea or anything but I wanted to get opinions on what I'm doing currently and if there's a problem I'm not seeing.
#clients #make #roi #seo
  • Profile picture of the author Aaron Doud
    Lifetime Value = Profit per visit x avg visits per month x number of months a new customer stays a customer. Example: $30 x 2 x 24 = $1,440

    Lifetime value is what a customer is truly worth to the business.

    100 searches and $300 a month I would expect them to be in the number 1 position so they should get at least 50 visits. How many of those can they honestly expect to convert?

    You think 1 or 2. Let's say 2. So is the lifetime value of a customer more than $150? Is it more than $1500? Let's say it is $1500. Wouldn't they be dumb to not take a 10 times ROI? I'll give you dollar bills all day long if you will hand me tens back.

    You just have to work these numbers with your prospects.
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Originally Posted by Aaron Doud View Post

      Lifetime Value = Profit per visit x avg visits per month x number of months a new customer stays a customer. Example: $30 x 2 x 24 = $1,440

      Lifetime value is what a customer is truly worth to the business.

      100 searches and $300 a month I would expect them to be in the number 1 position so they should get at least 50 visits. How many of those can they honestly expect to convert?

      You think 1 or 2. Let's say 2. So is the lifetime value of a customer more than $150? Is it more than $1500? Let's say it is $1500. Wouldn't they be dumb to not take a 10 times ROI? I'll give you dollar bills all day long if you will hand me tens back.

      You just have to work these numbers with your prospects.
      I ran numbers. Let's say 2 patients, each visit is $30 and patients stay for 6-8 visits in total. *These are real numbers I've gotten from chiropractor clients*

      So that's a lifetime value of $360-480 which I can definately see is not worth it for the client.

      edit- i haven't done other industries because the first few clients i've gotten were chiropractors and they need more patients continuously so i've sorta stuck with that niche
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      • Profile picture of the author JohnLogar
        Originally Posted by RimaNaj2011 View Post

        I ran numbers. Let's say 2 patients, each visit is $30 and patients stay for 6-8 visits in total. *These are real numbers I've gotten from chiropractor clients*

        So that's a lifetime value of $360-480 which I can definately see is not worth it for the client.

        edit- i haven't done other industries because the first few clients i've gotten were chiropractors and they need more patients continuously so i've sorta stuck with that niche
        RimaNaj,
        Stop working with clients who sell low value services you will go broke they are demanding and don't value what you do. If you're selling services at $300 per month the amount of work that you have to do for 1 client let alone 5 clients limits your income potential. Even if you out sourced this, as a business it's not sustainable

        Target bigger clients that have a larger life time value and higher ticket sales and charge them 2K - 6K per month I have 7 consultants that are going through a beta mentoring program and are charging an verage of 3K minimum per month because thay are targeting bigger clients that undersatnd value.

        Some examples I have commercial Plumber who invests 8k per month I've been working with him for 2 years that's 192K his average sale is 15K the profit is 4K The lifetime value of his clients on average is 25K profit so I only need to attract 1 client per month and he has more than doubled his profits in my 8K per month services.

        Example 2. I have a HR Consultant her average sale is 10K her profit margin is 5K she investes 3K per month in my SEO services.

        I only need a handful of clients and I'm easily converting six figures with high profit margins because I outsource the work to premium providers when a client invests 3K - 5K in SEO per month you can do some very special work and implement high quality strategy for your clients.

        If you want to get high value seo clients there are free training videos on how you can do that easily at www.MakeEveryDayAPayDay.com/FREE Training no sales pitch just real nuts and bolts strategies that work.

        I hope that helps.
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        • Profile picture of the author mrtrance
          Originally Posted by JohnLogar View Post

          RimaNaj,
          Stop working with clients who sell low value services you will go broke they are demanding and don't value what you do. If you're selling services at $300 per month the amount of work that you have to do for 1 client let alone 5 clients limits your income potential. Even if you out sourced this, as a business it's not sustainable

          Target bigger clients that have a larger life time value and higher ticket sales and charge them 2K - 6K per month I have 7 consultants that are going through a beta mentoring program and are charging an verage of 3K minimum per month because thay are targeting bigger clients that undersatnd value.

          Some examples I have commercial Plumber who invests 8k per month I've been working with him for 2 years that's 192K his average sale is 15K the profit is 4K The lifetime value of his clients on average is 25K profit so I only need to attract 1 client per month and he has more than doubled his profits in my 8K per month services.

          Example 2. I have a HR Consultant her average sale is 10K her profit margin is 5K she investes 3K per month in my SEO services.

          I only need a handful of clients and I'm easily converting six figures with high profit margins because I outsource the work to premium providers when a client invests 3K - 5K in SEO per month you can do some very special work and implement high quality strategy for your clients.

          If you want to get high value seo clients there are free training videos on how you can do that easily at www.MakeEveryDayAPayDay.com/FREE Training no sales pitch just real nuts and bolts strategies that work.

          I hope that helps.
          So are businesses such as dentists, chiropractors, home improvement not good ones to be targeting with our lead generation websites?

          If I look up a dentist on manta and it shows revenue for them to be $500K-$1MIL..would they still be a good candidate to go after?
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          • Profile picture of the author ZRIM
            Great thread.

            So, I definitely get the great advantages of getting leads on your own and selling them. I just question whether I can do that. I've tried something similar -- a county directory sort of thing. It's done well all in all, but it doesn't really drive many leads. Maybe the information I provide is too generic....

            I think it would be much easier to rank for the local business keywords -- with the local business sites. Obviously with google local/maps -- but also I think "real" businesses have many build in advantages with google and those advantages are likely to increase. Real locations, real customers, real reviews, pictures, videos, etc....

            Of course the problem is their sites aren't "good".

            But, we are uniquely positioned to go in and make them good relatively easily I think. So, it seems to me there is great untapped value in helping clients improve their websites. I think there are some pretty simple things we can do for them that will result in oh, maybe 10 times the number of leads to their sites. I mean just some basic keyword targeting, getting them on google plus local/maps -- shooting a few videos to add to their site, their google plus page, youtube, optimizing their pages for conversions --

            It just seems like most of us could spend even a few days working a typical small business website and the work we could do in those 20 or 30 hours would over time result in LOTS of additional income to that business.

            And, it seems to me this is a relatively easy value add and nearly risk-free, guaranteed.

            So, it seems like it would be a win-win for me to walk into a business, tell them I'll improve their website, bring them more leads and if they don't get those leads, they pay me nothing.

            What a great relationship. Everyone's happy.

            The hard parts are

            1. Valuing the leads.

            2. Tracking them.

            Here's my ideas on those issues.

            Value -- simply use the average google adwords price for their main keyword and multiply it by say 50 -- assuming a conversion rate of 2%.

            So, if the adwords click would cost $3, then a lead is worth $150.

            And, tell you what Mr. Business owner, I'll deliver it to you (using your own website) for $100. You can't get a lead cheaper anywhere else. AND, to boot, you get your website dramatically improved and this will have many other benefits to you that you don't pay me for -- word of mouth, credibility in your field, maybe speaking enagements ,etc -- all that brings you more clients and you don't pay me anything for all that.

            But, we've got to track this stuff.

            The forms on the website are easy.

            It's the darn phone that's a tough nut to crack.

            I like the idea of putting a tracking number in an image so the official business number stays the same and no negative effects on NAP's.

            But, even with that, I think you lose tons of calls from especially mobile users who just see the number on the google local/maps listing or on various other directory type websites and just call. And, this is happening more and more.

            So, my idea to capture those and avoid any tracking number problems is to have the business owner get a good VOIP service which tracks all incoming calls. VOIP also allows multiple numbers to be inexpensive. So, he asks all employees to have family and friends use a new number he sets up. And, if he runs offline campaigns -- he can use a different number. Over time, we get it so more and more -- all the calls coming into the main business number are leads. And the business owner and I both review that report every month and weed out whichever ones for whatever reason weren't leads.

            It's imperfect, but maybe a better option than

            1. trying to capture leads without using the client's website and
            2. using a tracking number that has NAP issues and misses more and more calls.

            But, the main thing about all this is the idea that if we truly add value, we will be rewarded for that in the end. It helps to work with trustworthy business owners of course. But, the key is bring true value to the marketplace, track that value as best you can, and reap the rewards.

            Imagine if I could do this with say 50 businesses. Theoretically, in a year, I could "do" 50 businesses (1 a week) -- and hey, if a few screw me over, oh well, i have lots more. And, some would be so happy with what happens that they'd surely hire me to do more, and more, etc.

            Or, again in theory, after doing this with 50 businesses I might well have enough passive income coming in from all the leads to all the sites, that I'm set.

            So, critiques? I welcome any criticisms of this model as that might save me a lot of trouble...

            thanks!
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          • Profile picture of the author CageyVet
            It is usually better to get clients where their average customer value is a larger number because they have more wiggle room to pay for marketing services on client acquisition and retention.

            The one things you have to recognize those is JohnLogar is talking about SEO services. Not once did he mention strictly Lead Gen services. With SEO, it is so much easier to get a client to sign up for a contract for a few thousand dollars a month when they are selling services/products for a $50,000-$100,000 per customer.

            With Lead Gen, as long as YOUR ROI with a client is manageable, then it does not matter what their customer value is...I have a client that does holistic therapy and her average customer value is $24 dollars and lifetime value is $310. I charge her $15 a lead with a follow up commission of $15 if they return for a second appointment. This might not sound like much money but it costs me around $25 a month in time plus expenses when averaged out over 1 year. In 1 year it costs me $300 to do the work for her and last year I was able to make $1800 in revenue from that contract. Now in the overall scheme of things it does not sound like much but to me it is more money and that is what I am about...

            So do not worry too much about the customers average value as long is it works out for you in terms of ROI for your own business.


            Originally Posted by mrtrance View Post

            So are businesses such as dentists, chiropractors, home improvement not good ones to be targeting with our lead generation websites?

            If I look up a dentist on manta and it shows revenue for them to be $500K-$1MIL..would they still be a good candidate to go after?
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  • Profile picture of the author Aaron Doud
    Is $30 the profit or the revenue?

    But looking at those numbers you will be hard pressed to get a ROI for them if you only get 1 client a month. At 2 or above there is a ROI that may be worth it to them.

    $300/2 = $150 acquisition cost

    $480 (8 visits) - $150 = $330 Profit per Customer.

    Let's say each of the visits with prep and such are an hour each that is still $40/hr before taxes and that doesn't seem bad.

    You need to find out what their current acquisition costs are. You may be able to show you would be a cheaper and better way to get customers that way as well. If you can get 2 customers a month at $150 per and they are paying $200 per with normal methods why wouldn't they add your service? You are getting them customers for 75% of what they normally pay.
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Originally Posted by Aaron Doud View Post

      Is $30 the profit or the revenue?

      But looking at those numbers you will be hard pressed to get a ROI for them if you only get 1 client a month. At 2 or above there is a ROI that may be worth it to them.

      $300/2 = $150 acquisition cost

      $480 (8 visits) - $150 = $330 Profit per Customer.

      Let's say each of the visits with prep and such are an hour each that is still $40/hr before taxes and that doesn't seem bad.

      You need to find out what their current acquisition costs are. You may be able to show you would be a cheaper and better way to get customers that way as well. If you can get 2 customers a month at $150 per and they are paying $200 per with normal methods why wouldn't they add your service? You are getting them customers for 75% of what they normally pay.
      That's $30 per visit so it's revenue.

      And $480 is the lifetime value of TWO patients. They make only $180 profit for both patients. Some months there might not even be 1 new patient.

      And it's similar with many chiropractors I've consulted/worked with. Their good money is from auto accidents and they get those from partnerships with lawyers and things like that.

      So that's why I feel it's a better idea to have my own directory/website and get all traffic and sell the leads at $30/$50 a pop or something.
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  • Profile picture of the author Aaron Doud
    I live in the heart of chiro country and often don't understand why they do it. The prices are so low that they can't make a good living if they stay here.

    Around here they get regulars who go for years though. I have friends who go like every 2 weeks.

    The question comes down to this. Can you find a way to lower your price to be cost effective for them? If not this will be a hard group to close based on those numbers.

    But if you like Chrios why not find a better product to offer such as the newsletters that have been mentioned in other threads.

    Let's be real here. You may be getting easy appointments because other have in the past ran these numbers and don't try to cold call chiros. Getting 100 appointments will do you little good if you know none will buy.

    Right now you don't think their is value in what you offer to them so you either need to find a way to show yourself and them value or you need to stop offering it.
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Yeah, but my question is in general towards local businesses in general. That's why I think they'd prefer to buy based on per lead and honestly I feel like I would like that better if I controlled the site and everything. I just focus on selling good leads.

      Sort of how 123chiropractor does when they sell you appointments made.

      Do you or anyone here have experience with selling appointments/leads to businesses?
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  • Profile picture of the author vndnbrgj
    A few things I noticed...
    1. You may need to find some new chiro clients. The average customer should stay for more than 8 visits. My chrios minimum number of visits is 12. If their customers aren't staying longer, they either need larger packages or to work on customer retention. Or both.
    2. I find it hard to believe that there are only 100 searches a month.
    Chiro city
    Chiro city state
    Chiros city
    Chiros city state
    Then chiro in ...
    Chiros in...
    Chiro office ...
    Chiro office in ...
    Same thing above just add zipcode
    Then, you focus on why they come into the chiro in the first place
    Geo target all these keywords:
    Migraine (treatment/relief)
    Back pain (treatment/relief)
    Neck pain (treatment/relief)
    Etc... I am not going to do your keyword research for you, but I think you get the point.
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Originally Posted by vndnbrgj View Post

      A few things I noticed...
      1. You may need to find some new chiro clients. The average customer should stay for more than 8 visits. My chrios minimum number of visits is 12. If their customers aren't staying longer, they either need larger packages or to work on customer retention. Or both.
      2. I find it hard to believe that there are only 100 searches a month.
      Chiro city
      Chiro city state
      Chiros city
      Chiros city state
      Then chiro in ...
      Chiros in...
      Chiro office ...
      Chiro office in ...
      Same thing above just add zipcode
      Then, you focus on why they come into the chiro in the first place
      Geo target all these keywords:
      Migraine (treatment/relief)
      Back pain (treatment/relief)
      Neck pain (treatment/relief)
      Etc... I am not going to do your keyword research for you, but I think you get the point.
      I definitely agree they need to work on customer retention but that's an in-house issue I can't really control except offer suggestions.

      The 100 searches a month if for my city and a few nearby cities. They never want to go bigger keywords like state for example because no one is going to drive an hour for a 15 minute adjustment and the clients don't want to go after a bigger market, just local areas.
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  • Profile picture of the author vndnbrgj
    You don't have to focus on the whole state....
    You need to find a good course on keyword research.

    The only reason state is mentioned is because its a part of the keyword.
    Chiro Dallas
    Chiro Dallas TX
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Originally Posted by vndnbrgj View Post

      You don't have to focus on the whole state....
      You need to find a good course on keyword research.

      The only reason state is mentioned is because its a part of the keyword.
      Chiro Dallas
      Chiro Dallas TX
      oh i misread your first post.

      Yeah, I know all that. Those keywords total about 100 searches. The problem isn't me finding good keywords.
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  • Profile picture of the author vndnbrgj
    Okay... I have a list of well over 100 keywords for chiros.
    You should as well.
    I still find it hard to believe you are ranking well for each of those and still only getting 100 visitors a month. However, if you are, find a different area.
    I don't care what the keyword tool says.... and you shouldn't either.
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  • Profile picture of the author Paul Gram
    $300 per month for SEO is nothing. I know Chiropractors paying $1,000 per month for SEO and making lots of profit from it. Many of their customers are repeat customers and they also get referral business as well.

    When you get them to #1 in Google, the leads come pouring in, especially when it's for various terms.
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  • Profile picture of the author CageyVet
    I am a little confused.

    So you are doing Local SEO on the clients website and from that, they are getting 1-2 new clients a month. I have 1 simple question....do you know how many calls that the chiro is getting "from the website"? If you do not have a way of tracking the number of calls, then you have no way of knowing what their lead conversion rate is from the website. Without that information, you have no way of knowing exactly how well your SEO marketing tactics are doing other than seeing how many visits the site is getting and the keyword rankings.
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    • Profile picture of the author DABK
      Does the 100 include only keyword that have chiro as the root or all keywords, including keywords like
      lower back pain + city
      acupuncture + city?

      How about
      competitor's name as keyword? Are there people who search by competitors' names? Are those included in the 100?

      How well does the site convert? How do you know? As mentioned before, you need to know... And improve conversions.

      You're also not taking into account that for every keyword you're ranking for, you get a bunch of visitors via keyword you've never dreamed of.

      On my sites, it seems for every 100 that come because of keywords I target, there are at least 100 (sometimes 200) that come for keywords I never thought of.
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      • Profile picture of the author Techie Turtle
        How about just running the numbers but not using a "one size fits all" pricing strategy? My idea is, 1st consult is getting to know your client and his/her business. What is the primary service they offer? What's their profit on that service? If they don't want to discuss their profit margins, how do you know what to charge?

        Client A makes $50 per new customer while Client B makes $1500 per new customer. If you charge $300 per month for your SEO services, how many clients will client A need just to pay for your service? How much "demand" (monthly search volume) is there for his/her keyword? What's the Adwords avg CPC for his/her keyword? If you can deconstruct what his/her competition is doing (the Adwords advertisers) then you can get a pretty good idea of the value of a customer.

        On the other hand, Client B wouldn't be too quick to jump on board with your service. Why? Because he/she is accustomed to paying large amounts for quality advertising. It's no different than if your BMW needed repair: the dealership quotes the repair @ $900. A "friend" comes over and quotes you the same repair work for only $50. You would naturally place a higher value on the trained professionals at the BMW dealership as opposed to a friend working out of his truck. Perceived value...

        As an SEO business, who is your client? Anyone needing SEO services? Not all clients are created equal. Using the analogy of car repair, what if someone comes with their lawnmower, asking for repair work? You can't quote the same price as an automobile because it just wouldn't be worth it. It would be easier to buy a new mower.

        OK, I'll shut up now LOL
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    • Profile picture of the author mrtrance
      Originally Posted by CageyVet View Post

      I am a little confused.

      So you are doing Local SEO on the clients website and from that, they are getting 1-2 new clients a month. I have 1 simple question....do you know how many calls that the chiro is getting "from the website"? If you do not have a way of tracking the number of calls, then you have no way of knowing what their lead conversion rate is from the website. Without that information, you have no way of knowing exactly how well your SEO marketing tactics are doing other than seeing how many visits the site is getting and the keyword rankings.
      How would you do tracking on a client's site if they have their business number on the site for a while and it is assiciated with Google+ Local Pages and other citations across the web? I know it would be easy if we have a local business keyword optimized site ranking and are ranking it high on Google, getting traffic, and leads. We can have one of tracking numbers where if we rent the site it would forward to their business and we can track exactly how many leads came in that month.

      But the question is how do you track calls when you don't have tracking # on their website n the first place. I mean we can't just take theirs off since that would mess up their citations which could affect their listings or rankings.
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      • Profile picture of the author CageyVet
        Originally Posted by mrtrance View Post

        How would you do tracking on a client's site if they have their business number on the site for a while and it is assiciated with Google+ Local Pages and other citations across the web? I know it would be easy if we have a local business keyword optimized site ranking and are ranking it high on Google, getting traffic, and leads. We can have one of tracking numbers where if we rent the site it would forward to their business and we can track exactly how many leads came in that month.

        But the question is how do you track calls when you don't have tracking # on their website n the first place. I mean we can't just take theirs off since that would mess up their citations which could affect their listings or rankings.
        When I am talking to a business about leads generated from the Internet, I strongly recommend they invest in a phone number that has some sort of tracking system. If they do not want to listen, that is fine by me but I do let them know that they are losing money by not accurately tracking their sales and knowing exactly what their sales funnel is doing for them. Once I start using words like sale funnel, prospecting channel etc, the conversation tends to go away from just the Internet and more towards their general business practices. Once I have them understanding things like...if they know how many sales are made for each type of marketing method and they know how much each marketing method costs....then they can easily drop the methods that are very low ROI and work on the ones that are high ROI. At that point, most businesses are very quick to get a few extra phone numbers to allow them to maximize their profits and if they are not, that is also fine by me and there is no sense worrying about it on your part.

        In terms of the Internet phone number, they can easily use their normal telecom number for the Internet and utilize the base reporting features of their telco business line to do basic reporting on call volumes etc. Then they can get a few extra local telco numbers for other marketing efforts, like print, business cards etc etc They can talk to their telco to get more detailed data about their calls also.

        A simple option is to add the question "where did you find us?" and do the data collection manually.

        The best solution is to get a virtual number for their internet properties to do the call tracking but that can be a bit of a daunting task for many businesses. I have gotten businesses to change their entire online presence to a virtual number because they were able to see the huge benefits of tracking their sales funnels better.
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        • Profile picture of the author abbot
          Banned
          Offer a patient re-activtion program. Get a list of inactive patients and form a campaign around that. Take a % cut per reactivated patient or charge a flat rate.

          Did this just 2 months ago. A 'dead deal' turned into a 5 figure account.
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  • Profile picture of the author jgant
    I do local SEO where I bear the risk yet get well paid.

    I generate leads for local businesses with SEO and PPC. I earn $200 to $650 commissions for sales. It's my job and I take on the risk for ranking and getting traffic. My clients only pay me when they make a sale.

    The commissions I earn are below the industry average client acquisition cost, yet are large enough that I earn excellent profits (even with Adwords and I'm a novice at Adwords).

    This model means I never have unhappy clients and attracting new clients is pretty easy because they pay only for results.
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    • Profile picture of the author Techie Turtle
      Originally Posted by jgant View Post

      I do local SEO where I bear the risk yet get well paid.

      I generate leads for local businesses with SEO and PPC. I earn $20 to $650 commissions for sales. It's my job and I take on the risk for ranking and getting traffic. My clients only pay me when they make a sale.

      The commissions I earn are below the industry average client acquisition cost, yet are large enough that I earn excellent profits (even with Adwords and I'm a novice at Adwords).

      This model means I never have unhappy clients and attracting new clients is pretty easy because they pay only for results.
      Very interesting business model. How do you track referrals with 100% accuracy, if you don't mind me asking?
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Originally Posted by jgant View Post

      I do local SEO where I bear the risk yet get well paid.

      I generate leads for local businesses with SEO and PPC. I earn $20 to $650 commissions for sales. It's my job and I take on the risk for ranking and getting traffic. My clients only pay me when they make a sale.

      The commissions I earn are below the industry average client acquisition cost, yet are large enough that I earn excellent profits (even with Adwords and I'm a novice at Adwords).

      This model means I never have unhappy clients and attracting new clients is pretty easy because they pay only for results.
      Yes, this is what I'm doing now. I just to collect a retainer but I've started my own lead generation site for clients and I'm going to get these appointments and sell them. How much do you sell your guaranteed appointments for?
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  • Profile picture of the author Beverley Boorer
    sheesh! I've been paying $50 a go for chiropractic treatment. Where do these guys live?
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  • Profile picture of the author ZRIM
    jgant -- I'd love to hear more about it. How, for instance, do you know when a client made a sale resulting from a visitor you got for him? Of course, I know how affiliate sales work -- but are you talking about something different than that here?

    I have this idea, similar to RimaNaj2011's of "selling leads" -- but I think it would be easier to do from the client's own site. I think it's tough to rank, for instance, for "dallas chiropracter" unless the site is, in fact, a real Dallas Chiropracter's site. Certainly, you won't be able to show up in google local/maps. And, conversions will be tougher as well.

    So, my idea is to do lots of things free for clients to get them traffic and leads and then we simply track the leads and I get a cut of the lead value -- which can be established via google adwords marketplace.

    What do folks think of this business model?

    Yes, it's 0 money up front. On the other hand, that should help with attracting clients and if what we do works (like we say it will) then we'll get paid on the backend -- forever -- as long as they are getting more leads from their website then they were before we started our work -- we'll keep getting paid.

    Just do that for lots of clients and continue to do little things to keep their sites fresh, but mostly live off the additional income/leads their sites generate hopefully forever.

    Now, a big problem I have with this, has been alluded to above I think. I really need to be able to track increases in phone calls. But, can't really change the number without risking negative impact on NAP's citations -- google local/maps.

    So, I'm really struggling with this problem. I've asked lots of people without getting any consistent answers on how to do call tracking and not negatively impact local search rankings.

    I can see how it might be possible to put tracking numbers on the site, in javascript, so spiders wouldn't even see them. BUT, you still then have to take off the hard-coded phone number off the top of the page, which might be a problem with consistency of NAP...

    love this conversation though

    mo
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    • Profile picture of the author mrtrance
      Originally Posted by ZRIM View Post


      Now, a big problem I have with this, has been alluded to above I think. I really need to be able to track increases in phone calls. But, can't really change the number without risking negative impact on NAP's citations -- google local/maps.

      So, I'm really struggling with this problem. I've asked lots of people without getting any consistent answers on how to do call tracking and not negatively impact local search rankings.

      I can see how it might be possible to put tracking numbers on the site, in javascript, so spiders wouldn't even see them. BUT, you still then have to take off the hard-coded phone number off the top of the page, which might be a problem with consistency of NAP...

      love this conversation though

      mo
      This is my concern as well. I've been talking to a few clients and they already have a domain and website up and running with all their info and phone# and I was explaining to them how I could help them get it ranking high on Google and increase traffic which can lead to more leads. The way we would try to capture leads is either by a contact form right at top and/or a phone# with a strong Call to Action message.

      But the issue still will be how do we track calls that come from our SEO work when it's their own number their (no tracking number with forwarding feature to get stats on) and trying to change that number to new with probably raise a ton of issues with NAP citations, Google+ page, etc.

      The other option would be to start a brand new domain for them and rank that for their key terms, but like you said it might not rank as high and we can have them in the Google+ Local 7 pack listings like they we can with their own site or if they are already there to rank them in the A-C spot.

      If anyone can offer a solution on how to go about tracking phone calls that comes to client site without messing up the NAP that would be very helpful to many here.
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      • Profile picture of the author Techie Turtle
        Excellent discussion! There has to be some kind of SOLID lead tracking in place. The last thing any of us want is a client claiming that they got those leads themselves by putting ad sheets with valuable coupons in each customer's bag during checkout. Or they distributed 2000 door hangers around their area.

        Not to get off topic but the same holds true when doing SEO work. You bring their site up to page 1 & they claim it was always there. If you didn't sit with the client & do a basic keyword search then you're hard pressed to prove you did anything at all. :-(

        So yes, there has to be tracking in place. How about this: you & your client can come up with a fair discount code to offer new clients. The client MUST mention the code in order to receive the discount. Question is, how do you track a discount code?
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  • Profile picture of the author jgant
    @Techie Turtle & @ ZRIM

    I hired a call center and got my own toll free number that I put on all my web properties promoting my clients. When a prospective customer calls my tel. number, my call center answers the call as if they are my client such as "hello, XYZ firm". My call center takes the callers' names and tel. # and records it in a database for me. Once the name is taken, the receptionist forwards the call to my business client and gets the right person. This is done while caller is on hold and my hired call center deals with my client's receptionist to forward the call appropriately.

    This set up is pretty much leak-proof. Each month I download the spreadsheet of all callers and send it to my client for payment. MY client cross checks every lead and pays me commissions for each sale.

    @RimaNaj2011 - I don't get paid for consultations. I only get paid when a lead hires my client.

    You can certainly set this up a number of ways. I'll be expanding hopefully in 2013 bringing on another client or two once I've maxed out my current campaigns (targeting all towns and services my clients serve). I think next time I'll negotiate a small fee for each consultation booked, if possible plus fat commissions, especially for paid consultations. This was my rookie mistake starting out about 15 months ago. Nevertheless it's still profitable.

    I focus in one industry in which I used to work so I know the value of the clients. I used Adwords average CPC to negotiate commissions assuming a 1% conversion rate (I took avg. CPC x 100 which amounted to quite a bit ... more than my commissions). I did this to give me leverage asking for high commissions.

    You could easily structure this as a % of the sale as well.
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    • Profile picture of the author mrtrance
      Originally Posted by jgant View Post

      @Techie Turtle & @ ZRIM

      I hired a call center and got my own toll free number that I put on all my web properties promoting my clients. When a prospective customer calls my tel. number, my call center answers the call as if they are my client such as "hello, XYZ firm". My call center takes the callers' names and tel. # and records it in a database for me. Once the name is taken, the receptionist forwards the call to my business client and gets the right person. This is done while caller is on hold and my hired call center deals with my client's receptionist to forward the call appropriately.

      This set up is pretty much leak-proof. Each month I download the spreadsheet of all callers and send it to my client for payment. MY client cross checks every lead and pays me commissions for each sale.

      @RimaNaj2011 - I don't get paid for consultations. I only get paid when a lead hires my client.

      You can certainly set this up a number of ways. I'll be expanding hopefully in 2013 bringing on another client or two once I've maxed out my current campaigns (targeting all towns and services my clients serve). I think next time I'll negotiate a small fee for each consultation booked, if possible plus fat commissions, especially for paid consultations. This was my rookie mistake starting out about 15 months ago. Nevertheless it's still profitable.

      I focus in one industry in which I used to work so I know the value of the clients. I used Adwords average CPC to negotiate commissions assuming a 1% conversion rate (I took avg. CPC x 100 which amounted to quite a bit ... more than my commissions). I did this to give me leverage asking for high commissions.

      You could easily structure this as a % of the sale as well.
      When you say "all my web properties" I'm assuming you mean that all these sites are yours and you control them, but just have a unique toll free number on the site that leads come thorough. So is your business model along the rent a site model or lease where you get a domain, rank it high for many local keywords, and then negotiate with a client about getting leads for that niche/site and then just transfer over all the calls you get to the client and then each month go over how many calls they got and get paid? Is that how you are doing it?

      How come you need an actual call center to do achieve this? Couldn't you just put a tracking# number on the site that forwards to your client's # and then each month you can see from the tracking# data how many calls they received and charge accordingly?
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  • Profile picture of the author CageyVet
    So to address the issue of messing up a clients NAP on "their" web properties. A trick that you can utilize is to keep their NAP in text format in the footer of the website or in a place that is not highly visible. Do not hide it with CSS or anything but just sort of out of the way. Then replace the area where their call to action is located that includes their phone number with an image with your new virtual trackable phone number. make sure the name of the file, the Alt and title tags have the original phone number located in it. This way if Google indexes the image, it still shows to them as the original NAP phone number but to visitors of the website it is the virtual number that they see.

    To do Internet Marketing on a client's website, it is very hard to setup a fool proof lead tracking mechanism unless you have the budget to drop in a CRM system into that business for them to use for their sales funnel.

    If you want to get into the Lead Gen business, the best way to do it is by owning the properties yourself. This is because you have full control over all aspects of the SEO, web copy, tracking numbers etc etc. Plus if a client decides to leave, you can quickly transition to another client with minimal downtime and revenue loss if any.

    Setting up a tracking number and sending the leads directly to the client is one model but with this method you rely on the client to start the customer conversion process off themselves. So you usually only can charge a lead gen price per lead but if you wanted to go to a commission based model which can be more money in your pocket then a call center/automated system is better. Adding an automated system or a call center model to pre-qualify the leads then you can end up with much higher conversions and happier clients because they are getting less tire kickers wasting their time.

    The best thing about the Lead Gen business model is that there are many different ways to employ it....
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    • Profile picture of the author mrtrance
      Originally Posted by CageyVet View Post

      So to address the issue of messing up a clients NAP on "their" web properties. A trick that you can utilize is to keep their NAP in text format in the footer of the website or in a place that is not highly visible. Do not hide it with CSS or anything but just sort of out of the way. Then replace the area where their call to action is located that includes their phone number with an image with your new virtual trackable phone number. make sure the name of the file, the Alt and title tags have the original phone number located in it. This way if Google indexes the image, it still shows to them as the original NAP phone number but to visitors of the website it is the virtual number that they see.

      To do Internet Marketing on a client's website, it is very hard to setup a fool proof lead tracking mechanism unless you have the budget to drop in a CRM system into that business for them to use for their sales funnel.

      If you want to get into the Lead Gen business, the best way to do it is by owning the properties yourself. This is because you have full control over all aspects of the SEO, web copy, tracking numbers etc etc. Plus if a client decides to leave, you can quickly transition to another client with minimal downtime and revenue loss if any.

      Setting up a tracking number and sending the leads directly to the client is one model but with this method you rely on the client to start the customer conversion process off themselves. So you usually only can charge a lead gen price per lead but if you wanted to go to a commission based model which can be more money in your pocket then a call center/automated system is better. Adding an automated system or a call center model to pre-qualify the leads then you can end up with much higher conversions and happier clients because they are getting less tire kickers wasting their time.

      The best thing about the Lead Gen business model is that there are many different ways to employ it....
      Thanks for clarifying this NAP and tracking issue.

      But like you said it is best to control the website and own the domain so that you can test different ideas and method. So with lead gen sites is it like the rent a site method in that you get a keyword rich local domain (maybe exact match, for example "chiropractorincity" ) and setup the site with generic content that is not geared to any particular location and add tracking# and then just rank the site for many kws, start getting leads, and then try to get clients on board to take on the leads. Is that how the lead gen system working for you?
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      • Profile picture of the author Techie Turtle
        Originally Posted by mrtrance View Post

        Thanks for clarifying this NAP and tracking issue.

        But like you said it is best to control the website and own the domain so that you can test different ideas and method. So with lead gen sites is it like the rent a site method in that you get a keyword rich local domain (maybe exact match, for example "chiropractorincity" ) and setup the site with generic content that is not geared to any particular location and add tracking# and then just rank the site for many kws, start getting leads, and then try to get clients on board to take on the leads. Is that how the lead gen system working for you?
        In this case, we lose Google Places.
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        • Profile picture of the author mrtrance
          Originally Posted by Techie Turtle View Post

          In this case, we lose Google Places.
          Yes that would be the case so I'm assuming that folks try to rank their lead gen site above the GPlaces 7 pack which is doable.

          If those that are doing lead gen sites can give some feedback on this matter in regards to not being able to do GPlaces since now the site is not associated to a physical location.
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          • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
            I just started the lead gen site so I can't tell from experience, but just imagine 1800dentist except most of the traffic is through SEO
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          • Profile picture of the author Techie Turtle
            OK, so I was talking to my girlfriend that's been in the apartment managing business for a long time: they track their referrals from 3-4 of the largest apartment "directory" sites. Let me re-phrase that: these apartment directory sites give them their own toll-free # as well as a unique email address being set up. They can track the performance of each ad in each directory with 100% accuracy (assuming no technical issues are involved). She said those directory sites work very well for her properties and their ROI justifies the ad cost.
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  • Profile picture of the author CageyVet
    So if you are looking to do Lead Gen, do not worry about anything that is tied to the customer's site....Google Local, their website, facebook, youtube etc etc....non of that is nor concern.

    Think of Lead Gen is you have your own business and that business is to gather leads....once you have gathered a lead, you send it to someone willing to pay for that lead. The only interaction with your paying client is when you send them the lead and the invoice every month. Other than that, all they know is you are gathering leads for them....

    Then the actual lead generation is entirely up to you....creating websites, using web 2.0 sites, youtube, forums, PPC, social media, your own business directory etc etc etc....how ever you want to get leads to contact your customer's business is you choice.

    The main thing is that you have a system in place to track the leads you are sending to your client in order to invoice for them.
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    • Profile picture of the author RimaNaj2011
      Originally Posted by CageyVet View Post

      So if you are looking to do Lead Gen, do not worry about anything that is tied to the customer's site....Google Local, their website, facebook, youtube etc etc....non of that is nor concern.

      Think of Lead Gen is you have your own business and that business is to gather leads....once you have gathered a lead, you send it to someone willing to pay for that lead. The only interaction with your paying client is when you send them the lead and the invoice every month. Other than that, all they know is you are gathering leads for them....

      Then the actual lead generation is entirely up to you....creating websites, using web 2.0 sites, youtube, forums, PPC, social media, your own business directory etc etc etc....how ever you want to get leads to contact your customer's business is you choice.

      The main thing is that you have a system in place to track the leads you are sending to your client in order to invoice for them.
      I have the user fill out the contact form (with zip code, reason for visit, etc) and i planned on just sending those to the businesses. how well do you think that would work out?
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  • Profile picture of the author shyanz
    i'm charing SGD500/month for 5 keywords, guarantee only 1 keyword to reach 1st page of google.

    Quite easy to rank for local businesses though. I only use social backlinking thats all.
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  • Profile picture of the author CageyVet
    If your client is fine with that form of lead then why not. Usually depends on the industry and if that industry is fine with a contact form being filled out over a phone call.
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