How can I push my ads to be first in adwords?

16 replies
  • PPC/SEM
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hi all

i see my ads in 4th postion in adwords how can i push it to be first one ?
#ads #adwords #push
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  • Profile picture of the author andre james
    Are all the ads targetting the same keywords? How do your competitors ads differ to yours?
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    • Profile picture of the author wmwm300
      yes , all the ads targetting the same keywords

      i tried similar ads words of my competitors
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  • Ads are ranked by the formula (bid x QS).

    Given two competitors with the same bid, the one with the better QS will get priority and show above you more often than not. Conversely, if you both have the same QS, the one of you with the higher bid will be above the other.

    The question is, what is your QS? I don't recommend increasing bids if it is below 7. If so, work on improving your ads to increase your QS.

    The other thing is, what is a typical CPC in your niche? You can have a good idea of this using the keyword tool. With great QS, you should bid around that amount. You'll need to to get in the first or second position because you should assume competitors in those positions are bidding the average bid or higher. You should also assume that they may have QS above 7 and likely 9 or 10.

    So if the typical bid is $0.50, someone with a QS of 9 would have an ad rank (bid x QS) of 450. This is the likely ad rank you need to get near the top. If your QS is 7, you'd need to bid at least (450 / 7) = $0.64. If your QS was 5, you'd need to bid $0.90. That's why it's important to have a good QS to start with.

    This is of course rule of thumb. If there are competitors with great QS of 9 and 10, they could bid $1 instead of a more typical $0.50 which means that their competitors such as yourself need to bid even more, even with great QS yourself.

    It doesn't mean you'll pay more. Say there is one or two advertisers bidding $1 with a QS of 9 while the rest are around $0.50. Your actual CPC is the ad rank of the advertiser below you divided by your QS. So if the competitor below you is ($0.50 x 7) = 350 ad rank, with a QS of 10, you'd pay (350 / 10) = $0.35. Note that what your own bid is doesn't matter, just your QS. But if you managed to push the 900 ad rank competitor below your (QS=9 and bid =$1), you'd be paying (900 / 10) = $0.90 instead, assuming that value is not more than your bid. Again, QS is very important but so is competitors' QS and bids.
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    • Profile picture of the author wmwm300
      thanks so much for your reply with all these info i appreciated .

      ok , in my case this an example in the below snap shot , there is no quality score , why ?

      https://pasteboard.co/22fDw3Zkg.png
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      • Profile picture of the author Nik M Harith
        That's because Google's new algorithm which shows null for new keywords that has low activity/search volume. You might need to hit more impressions and CTR to let them calculate the score right for you.
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  • Profile picture of the author svetod
    Start by bidding higher to get higher CTR which will lead to higher QS and you will get to a higher position.
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    • Originally Posted by svetod View Post

      Start by bidding higher to get higher CTR which will lead to higher QS and you will get to a higher position.
      No, no, no.

      Bidding higher usually gets you higher position (your ad rank increases as I said earlier based on the formula bid times QS). Higher ads do get higher CTRs, just like organic results get higher CTRs as people tend to click the first results rather than those lower on the page.

      But just because your CTR is higher, your QS doesn't change. QS takes into account position. What you need to understand is that it's not your absolute CTR that is being used, it's your CTR relative to all competitors at that position. If you have a poor QS in 5th place, it's still going to be poor in 1st even though your CTR may be much higher. That's because your competitors also see an increase. Their ads are still better than yours and thus your QS is lower.

      As Tony pointed out, conversions have to be taken into account. You want to maximize profits. However, a little-known fact is that conversion rates are often higher in the higher positions. Searchers not only click more often on the top ads (and organic results), they tend to buy from them as well. Better ads also tend to get higher conversions as well. But don't put all the focus on ads, they are not the main driver of conversions, your landing page is. The ads are there as the carrot to get traffic, your page needs to close the sale effectively.
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    • Profile picture of the author dburk
      Originally Posted by svetod View Post

      Start by bidding higher to get higher CTR which will lead to higher QS and you will get to a higher position.
      Hi svetod,

      Yes, bidding higher tends to improve CTR, however no, that doesn't usually improve your QS.

      Quality Scores are not based on CTR, they are based on "relative CTR", relative to your competitors' CTR at the exact same ad rank position. So while increasing your bid may improve your ad rank position in the auction you are still competing with other advertisers' CTR for that higher ad rank position.

      To improve your Quality Score you have to improve your CTR performance as compared to other advertisers in the exact same auction competing for the exact same ad rank position.

      What works to improve Quality Scores

      There 2 primary things to focus on to improve your Quality Score:
      1. Account Structure
      2. Ad Copy


      Search Terms, Not Keywords

      You account structure is super important, because account structure determines which ads gets displayed for a given search query.

      I know some of you are thinking it is simply keyword targeting that triggers my ads, as long as I pick relevant keywords I'm golden, right?

      Wrong, it is a little more complex than that.

      Many people will throw a bunch of relevant keywords into a single ad group, write an ad or two and think that should be good enough, right? Wrong.

      How you split up your keywords into discreet ad groups is very important to getting good CTR and good QS. Your selection of keyword match types and how you organize those into ad groups will determine precisely, or in some cases imprecisely, which ad is matched to a given search query.

      Be Specific

      Keywords are what we use to trigger ad impressions but what is crucial is which search terms are being matched. A single keyword, especially if it is a broad match, or phrase match keyword may match many different search terms to the same ad, including many that may not be relevant matches. Structuring your account so that each specific search term will always match relevant ad copy is crucial to getting superior CTR, and as a result great Quality Scores. It cannot be done without proper account structure.

      That brings me to the ad copy, Your ad copy needs to be a specific as possible to the actual search term that triggered the ad. The only way to consistently match them up while being very specific, is by having proper account structure.

      Value First

      Not only does your ad copy need to be highly specific, in needs to have a very compelling value message that will trigger the click response. Value-centric headlines work best, not only for your ads, for your landing pages as well. Let people know upfront precisely what value they can expect from your offer, be clear, and be specific, never try to be clever, or obtuse, that just doesn't work well in advertising.

      Beyond the core ad, also create compelling ad extensions, including sitelinks, callout extensions, location, and call extensions. These will all help to increase CTR rleetive to your competitors, provided they are compelling.

      Always Test.

      Everything you do in advertising is a test. Use A/B split testing and test different value propositions, and different wording of the same value propositions. Create multiple variants for each ad group, measure and optimize performance based on the data from your results. Never trust your instincts solely, always test and confirm, you'll be suprised by how often your instincts can be wrong, or how your audience will vary from your own expectations.

      HTH,

      Don Burk
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  • Profile picture of the author Tony Marriott
    After understanding what others are saying about quality score and bid price then consider if you really want to be in the number one position.

    You need to understand not only what position 4 is costing you but what are your conversions (actual sales).

    Moving the ad to number one may get more clicks but that may not convert 'equally' to conversions.
    So if you need to double your ad spend to get to number one but that only gives you 50% more overall conversions (sales) then you are losing money.

    Your goal is to get maximum money back from minimum ad spend.

    Unless your current ad is converting like crazy then sure, throw everything at it, including more money, to make as much money as you can as fast as you can.

    But generally you are trying to maximize profits so also consider:

    What keywords are actually converting? Find more related keywords.
    What keywords aren't converting? Get rid of them
    What countries are/are not converting? edit countries
    What age/sex/income etc? - edit targeting
    What platforms are/are not converting? - change bid percentage as required.

    Lots of ways to improve your conversions. You should be testing them all. Including the pages you are sending your clicks to and and subsequent pages that will end in a conversion.

    And doing the above will likely increase your quality score
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    • Profile picture of the author wmwm300
      thanks a lot , am studying what your doing

      i have another question , is display ads is have a different criteria for ranking the ads
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      • Profile picture of the author Nik M Harith
        I totally agree with Tony on this. Based on my experience running a 6-figure AdWords budget with a 7x-10x ROAS and low CPA, I realised that increasing search position doesn't necessarily uplift your conversions drastically. At times, you're just ended up paying more CPA for a lesser ROAS (which is bad metric for advertising) - hence only increase search position if your conversions are super low and only if you have extra budget to burnout in order to fully test your keyword effectiveness. Should you've maxed out the position but the conversions don't work, I encourage you not to bid on that keyword but find other search terms that can give you higher CTR and conversions and optimise from there.
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  • There's no QS shown because Adwords does not yet have enough data to calculate one. Used to be they'd estimate it but not anymore, you just need enough data.

    Also, if this is a display campaign, they have a QS equivalent but not calculated in quite the same way. So display campaigns won't ever show a QS, at least at the keyword level. What you want to look at is Relative CTR where a 1.0 is average. This is a campaign level metric.

    Search and display are two very different things. You should have them in separate campaigns.

    As far as I know and can tell, serving of display campaign ads are the same: bid times QS (relative CTR in this case) and your cost is also calculated the same, just replace QS with RelCTR from my earlier response. I'm sure Google also takes into account image ad sizes (a 468x60 ad is compared to competitors of same size and not the 768x90 ads) and the domain where they appear (more precisely, the page) so your RelCTR is compared to competitors also having ads served on that page and not other pages.

    Since most pages display only one image ad, it's very important to get your quality as high as possible to even show your ads there. Otherwise, you'll have to bid and pay more.
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  • Profile picture of the author solutionstechly
    Do keyword research & add good keywords and improve your keywords quality score. Also write attractive Ads..
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  • Profile picture of the author sallaid
    Higher bids + best relevancy between keywords, ads and landing pages.
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  • Profile picture of the author Jordan Stark
    Have you tried ad cloning?
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  • Profile picture of the author simplio
    I think you have to follow the cloaking method
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