Standing out from the crowd

15 replies
  • ECOMMERCE
  • |
I'm just beginning my journey into e-commerce so this is a simplistic question.

I've recently become a grandmother and I'm thinking of opening an online toy store and targeting other grandparents. We love to spoil our grandbabies!

But how do you compete with Amazon and Walmart?

I would plan to use Facebook ads, of course.

I'm thinking of trying to emphasize educational and classic toys.

Any thoughts appreciated

Rose
#crowd #standing
  • Profile picture of the author Enfusia
    Hi Rose,

If it were me, I wouldn't compete at all.

I would find a source for really classic hand made wooden toys like the kind that were available when today's grandparents were kids.

They will strike at the heart of the grandparents for nostalgia and they have a much higher perceived value.

Then you could add classic toys like Radio flyer, Little Red Wagon and more.

Stay a little more high end, but bring the quality.

You might find retired guys who would love to build toys. If you go this route, go with the American made and push that. Take pictures of the guys making the toys and put them on your site.
    Send a picture of the guy who made the toy with the toy when you ship it etc...

Most likely your sources will be China or other countries where labor is cheaper.

I hope that helps.

Patrick
    Signature
    Free eBook =>
    The Secret To Success In Any Business
    Yes, Any Business!
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[11204686].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author toydistrict
    You could set up a WordPress website and network in your local area. There should be social gatherings in your area or clubs or even set one up in your local library, where you can meet your potential customers. .

Been in the toy industry for over 20 years. Most of our sales occur offline. Online is only a small percentage. There is so much you can do offline. Will most of your intended audience even be online?