How To Get Your First Job On A Freelance Site

27 replies
I am currently a freelancer over at oDesk. I know there is some money to be made by doing little freelance projects, however since I just started what would you all suggest to increase my chances of winning a proposal?

I have completed all the usual like finishing my profile and taken a few tests so im good to go.
#freelance #job #site
  • Profile picture of the author Romen esko
    Hello Friends,

Heard freelancer.com is a scam. But I might be wrong.Better to do some research. The best way of freelancing is to actually meet people and let them see you portfolio. When needed they will recommend you to their contacts.And use that website to hire people for any projects - you obviously cannot build up ANY track record until you get an actual gig and can use them as a future reference.

Best Regards
    Romen esko

[REMOVED]
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[7004901].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author Rebeccha Haase
      Originally Posted by Romen esko View Post

Hello Friends,

Heard freelancer.com is a scam. But I might be wrong.Better to do some research. The best way of freelancing is to actually meet people and let them see you portfolio. When needed they will recommend you to their contacts.And use that website to hire people for any projects - you obviously cannot build up ANY track record until you get an actual gig and can use them as a future reference.

Best Regards
      Romen esko
      You are here to only promote your link. Nothing else.
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[7037065].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author Julzwriter
      Banned
      [DELETED]
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[7129422].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author vutshuvo
    it is very important to be confident , if you want to be successful freelancer.
    i am working as freelancer in different market place.
    so be confident and be expert in your sector.
    Signature