Here's a simple and relatively cheap idea for you to try:
1. Find a CPA free-trial offer that pays about $30+ per lead. Weight loss, health supplements, education and teeth whitening are great ones that appeal to a wide audience.So, could you turn a profit? Let's say 1 in 5 of your flyers converts a single person. That's 20 conversions at $30 for a total of $600. 50 copies at Kinkos costs about $1.50. A Priority Mail flat rate envelope to ship your flyers is $4.90. Postering service for 100 half-page flyers in San Francisco (Thumbtack Bugle) costs $45. If you don't already use AWeber, you can get your first month for just $1.
2. Set up a simple landing page with an AWeber subscribe form that leads the customer to the CPA offer after the form is submitted. Blogger works great for this and is free.
3. Design an eye-catching, half-page black & white flyer with pull-tabs containing your URL. Use bit.ly to create a shortened link or buy your own domain. (Ex: WhiterTeeth4U.com) You can use Word to create the flyer. Make sure it speaks to the potential customer and offers a solution to a problem that they have.
4. Print two on one sheet at home then make 50 copies at Kinkos. Cut the sheets in half then cut the pull-tabs. Kinkos has large paper cutters and scissors you can use. If you pull a couple of tabs off yourself it will make people more likely to take one because they think others have done the same, hehe.
5. Choose a big city (San Francisco, LA, New York, Chicago) and find a postering service there. Ship your flyers to them and have them posted around the city.
Total cost: $52.40
Total profit: $547.60!
Not too shabby for only 1-2 hours of work on your part. And, on top of that, because of the AWeber form, you've been building an email list of people that you KNOW are interested in similar products in the future.
Even if the worst case happens and you only get 2 conversions it has paid for itself. Hope this gives you some ideas and helps gets your gears turning.