FB Ads+CPA Case Study (Very Small)

18 replies
Hi, I tried a gamine offer name walking dead. Payout is $1.60. Check Image for landing page and ad copy. No conversion till Now.

Demography

US
Age=15-20
Interest: Everything related to walking dead


FB Stats:
Website Clicks?
29


Reach?
10,382


Frequency?
1.63


Total Spent?
$16.45


Avg. Cost Per Website Click?
$0.57

CRT
0.192%

So fat it seems. This is going to be loser even though it's too small data to make any comment. I think there some problem with my landing page, demography and ad copy. I need to work on it.
#ads #case #cpa #small #study
  • Profile picture of the author sufeyh
    you have to understand in this CPA world, you can only find out by testing. I like to call it troubleshooting.

    Your CTR is ok so your ad copy and image is no problem.

    For conversions there are 2 factors:
    First you have to check if the offer converts well in the first place, if it does not then there is nothing you can do about that and you should stop promoting it.

    If that is checked and it does convert well, then it is your landing page. You'll have to change it and test different landing page to see what works.



    Hope this helps.
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    • Profile picture of the author Al amin
      Originally Posted by sufeyh View Post

      you have to understand in this CPA world, you can only find out by testing. I like to call it troubleshooting.

      Your CTR is ok so your ad copy and image is no problem.

      For conversions there are 2 factors:
      First you have to check if the offer converts well in the first place, if it does not then there is nothing you can do about that and you should stop promoting it.

      If that is checked and it does convert well, then it is your landing page. You'll have to change it and test different landing page to see what works.



      Hope this helps.
      Thanks. Yes I know the Process. It's all about testing. I think the problem is with Landing page
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      • Profile picture of the author DarioIM
        I also think that problem could be the landing page. I would personally test

        - shorter text on the key points (too many repetitions)
        - i would try a different picture or a close up of the one you already have. More focus on the zombie eyes and brightness also.
        - call to action button way larger than that.

        Only an opinion
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  • Profile picture of the author AliceChavarria
    1.) You would have to use more attention grabbing image to higher up that CTR

    2.) Don't put more than 2 interests into any campaign or you won't know what interest is converting or vice versa..
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  • Profile picture of the author HarryKarnes
    you could easily fetch 0.4% CTR on those new rhs ads , just put some kinda borders or something at least..
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  • Profile picture of the author watsonovedades
    Try a totally diff LP
    you can also try a LP rotator soo you can test LP faster
    and find the winner

    Cheers
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  • Profile picture of the author CarynDavis
    Banned
    don't stick with one landing page or banners, give them enough impression and find out which one is doing better and stick with it, you will need to test couple of those here and there before finding success..
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    • Profile picture of the author Al amin
      Originally Posted by CarynDavis View Post

      don't stick with one landing page or banners, give them enough impression and find out which one is doing better and stick with it, you will need to test couple of those here and there before finding success..
      Yes. I know testing is everything. This was just small quick test and I will lest 3 Lp. Thanks.



      Originally Posted by watsonovedades View Post

      Try a totally diff LP
      you can also try a LP rotator soo you can test LP faster
      and find the winner

      Cheers
      Thanks for good idea.


      Originally Posted by HarryKarnes View Post

      you could easily fetch 0.4% CTR on those new rhs ads , just put some kinda borders or something at least..
      Yes, I was thinking about is as well. A red board to stand out.

      Originally Posted by AliceChavarria View Post

      1.) You would have to use more attention grabbing image to higher up that CTR

      2.) Don't put more than 2 interests into any campaign or you won't know what interest is converting or vice versa..
      Thanks an awesome tips.

      Originally Posted by DarioIM View Post

      I also think that problem could be the landing page. I would personally test

      - shorter text on the key points (too many repetitions)
      - i would try a different picture or a close up of the one you already have. More focus on the zombie eyes and brightness also.
      - call to action button way larger than that.

      Only an opinion
      Thanks Larger CTA might work.
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  • Profile picture of the author badboy_Nick
    The problem as I see it is that The Walking Dead series is actually not running at the moment. I believe when the new episodes are being aired (next month I believe?) this type of product will get a LOT more traction.

    So I think it really is down to proper timing with this kind of product. Once the commercials start running again on TV and the episodes are on, it will get a lot more exposure and people will start buying their merchandise. Until then, I would prepare all your campaigns so you can roll them out as soon as the first commercial is on TV. Then people will be back on the bandwagon

    Nick
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  • Profile picture of the author FannieLaine
    Nick hit the nail on the head, sometimes you need to consider these outer factors too or you would end up pulling your hair thinking what might be going wrong! lol
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    • Profile picture of the author Al amin
      Originally Posted by badboy_Nick View Post

      The problem as I see it is that The Walking Dead series is actually not running at the moment. I believe when the new episodes are being aired (next month I believe?) this type of product will get a LOT more traction.

      So I think it really is down to proper timing with this kind of product. Once the commercials start running again on TV and the episodes are on, it will get a lot more exposure and people will start buying their merchandise. Until then, I would prepare all your campaigns so you can roll them out as soon as the first commercial is on TV. Then people will be back on the bandwagon

      Nick
      Thanks Nick this what I missed. The timing was bad.

      Originally Posted by FannieLaine View Post

      Nick hit the nail on the head, sometimes you need to consider these outer factors too or you would end up pulling your hair thinking what might be going wrong! lol
      Yes. Thanks for reply
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  • Profile picture of the author Navyskater23
    I would personally cut the campaign.

    If your paying $.57 per click, and the offer pays out $1.60 then that means you would need a 33% conversion rate just to break even, and if you have a lander in front of that lander then it might not happen.

    I would suggest promoting something that pays a little more, or possibly just building a fanpage, and testing out that offer as well as a few others things related to the walking dead on that.

    Also consider doing FB ads for offers to foreign countries.

    Sometimes you can get cheaper clicks by doing that.
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  • Profile picture of the author ThomasLloyd
    It's a good point, try to promote something that is at least paying $5 or you would have hard time specially on FB to get profit!
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    • Profile picture of the author unifiedac
      I totally agree with @NavySkater23, the math just doesn't add up. Generating the conversion rate you need to make this CPA viable is practically impossible.

      The only way you could make it work would be to significantly reduce the CPC. You should be able to get traffic for under $0.10 per click. But then again, even if you generated 1,000 visitors for $100 and you had a CTR of 10%, you would still be making peanuts.
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  • Profile picture of the author Al amin
    Yes. I should focus on high paying offer. Thanks All
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  • Profile picture of the author watsonovedades
    Yes high paying offer can bring your campaign from the dead
    and make it a winner with a few adjustments, not always but it can happen
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  • Profile picture of the author miklanderson2
    In order for this to work, you're going to have to get your CPC down. To do that, you're going to need to grab people's attention and make them want to click the ad. I'm a huge Walking Dead fan, but nothing about your ad made me want to click on it.

    Maybe a screen-capture from the game would be more effective. I would also change the URL on the ad. If it's for a Walking Dead game, I would use something related to zombies.
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  • Profile picture of the author DerekSmooth
    you would get butchered if you are sticking with such low paying offers on networks like FB and adwords! glad to find you decided to go with higher paying offers..
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