Why the inactive contacts cannot be removed from Getresponse

by eds 4 replies
Hi,

My question is in the title. Curious to know why..

I know they do not count towards the paid limit, but to me it's simply annoying that I cannot remove them (from the history)..
Do all the autoresponder services keep the history of removed emails?

Some of the removed (inactive) emails where used just for the testing and now they are going to stay in the inactive history forever? WHY?
#email marketing #contacts #getresponse #inactive #removed
Avatar of Unregistered
  • Profile picture of the author abbyhartz
    Hi there,

    Very sorry for any inconvenience those inactive contacts remaining in the
    account may cause you.

    Inactive contacts are kept for statistical and compliance reasons (e.g. to prevent
    re-adding contacts that have chosen to unsubscribe and to monitor if the
    removal rate is not exceeding the accepted rate).

    Again I do apologize for any trouble or confusion this may cause.

    Thanks,
    Signature

    Abby Hartz
    Community Specialist
    GetResponse.com

    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[9985920].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author ggarnett
    At least Getresponse does not charge you for unsubscribes like Aweber does! I think aweber also charges you if you have the same subscriber on 2 lists such as your freebie subscribers and your paid list. I don't think Getrespose double dips like Aweber does!


    TIP- If you do use Aweber you can contact them and get them to delete the unsubscribes so you are not charged for them.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[9986321].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author eds
    Thanks for getting back to me with your explanation.

    I half-expected this "statistical" explanation, but what about these scenarios:

    1) Someone unsubscribes by error, he/she will never be allowed to get back onto that list? Or any other lists?
    2) What about the testing emails only used by me and my developers? Does it mean that those cannot be used again?
    3) What if - again by mistake - I delete the whole campaign with the active contacts? Let's say when cleaning the list, setting wrong filters, you know it may happen..
    Then the contacts will be "prevented" from adding back to a restored campaign? Did you have cases like that?

    And what is an "accepted rate"?

    Sorry for too many questions..

    Thank you for your support and guidance.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[9987089].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author abbyhartz
      Originally Posted by eds View Post

      Thanks for getting back to me with your explanation.

      I half-expected this "statistical" explanation, but what about these scenarios:

      1) Someone unsubscribes by error, he/she will never be allowed to get back onto that list? Or any other lists?
      2) What about the testing emails only used by me and my developers? Does it mean that those cannot be used again?
      3) What if - again by mistake - I delete the whole campaign with the active contacts? Let's say when cleaning the list, setting wrong filters, you know it may happen..
      Then the contacts will be "prevented" from adding back to a restored campaign? Did you have cases like that?

      And what is an "accepted rate"?

      Sorry for too many questions..

      Thank you for your support and guidance.
      Hi there,

      So sorry for any delay in my response, and I am more than happy to answer as many questions as you have!

      1) If someone accidentally unsubscribes from one of your lists, they may certainly sign themselves back up via a web form or landing page for that list. Unsubscribing from one list does not make it so they cannot sign up for another list in your account. This method only keeps the account owner from being able to add subscribers back into lists manually, that the subscriber has removed themselves from.

      2) If you are using a test email and are signing up for your list(s), and then want to remove yourself, you may easily do that by manually removing those unwanted test addresses via the "Search contacts" section of the account:

      How can I manually remove a contact/contacts from my list? - GetResponse Support

      You may certainly re-add those email addresses into that same list, or others, because they were removed manually yourself, and did not unsubscribe from that list.

      3) If you accidentally delete the entire campaign's worth of active contacts, again you can certainly add them back if you removed them manually, as in #2 above. As well, our Support team could help you with potentially the help of IT to restore those contacts for you if they were all removed in error.

      Contacts can only not be added back into a campaign by the account owner if they have unsubscribed themselves from the campaign or marked a message as spam.

      All removals are "kept" in the account so you may track unsubscribes/who has unsubscribed, but also how others were removed, though importantly these do not count toward the account's limit.

      The complaint and unsubscribe rates are monitored by our Compliance Team, they have specific methods to track this, and if you'd like some specifics on that I'd recommend reaching out to: gr-compliance@cs.getresponse.com and they'd be able to give you some more information on this.

      I do hope this helps.

      Thanks!
      Signature

      Abby Hartz
      Community Specialist
      GetResponse.com

      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[9994130].message }}
Avatar of Unregistered

Trending Topics