Best way to verify leads

20 replies
Hi, Ive got a capture form page and im looking at a few ways to verify the leads that come in as a way of sorting the fake\false entries to the legit ones.

I've found one good way which is verifying with email with a service which can charge as low as 1 cent per verify real time. I'm looking for another solution for verifying or more filtering the first and last names by referring to a "sh*t list". Meaning keywords that can be seen as bad words.

I think im sorted for implementing email verification but doesnt anyone know of any other methods or how i would implement them?
#leads #verify
  • Profile picture of the author Marc Rodill
    Yes - absolutely. The best way to verify your leads is to actually try to sell them something..

    That's the best way.

    Every source of leads you have is going to perform differently. You need to track your results so you know your metrics. It's not really optional.

    If you're going to buy advertising...

    You want to make your money back within some reasonable period of time that you can afford. If you got a three month funnel that boosts your value per customer, that changes the entire game.

    You can afford to spend more.

    So really - there is only lead verification strategy - start small, buy small, test small. Pitch them and see how they perform over time. If they don't buy anything, ever, at all, period, no matter what...

    Well...

    Dump that source.

    For example, for the hell of it, let's say you're doing solo advertising. For the sake of simplicity, you have two providers. Provider A and Provider B.

    And let's just say you sell a product for $97 on the front-end, and your average conversion rate is 1%. So for every 100 clicks or visitors you get to your sales page, you make 1 sale.

    This makes the math easy. So let's say those things are two, and you've tested your funnel over time. For every 100 visitors, you make one sale, and you earn $97. And that's it.

    That's all you sell. You don't have a funnel.

    How can you verify your leads?

    Okay. So you buy a solo ad from Provider A and Provider B and you buy 100 clicks each. Let's say Provider A is $1 per click, so pay $100 bucks. And Provider B is $0.50 a click, so you pay $50 bucks.

    Provider A - on average, is converting for you at your typical 1.5%. So you're spending $100 for 100 clicks, and making one and a half sales on average. So for every $100 you spend, you make $145.50.

    But you're getting 1.5 customers.

    Then Provider B, you're spending $50 for 100 clicks, but let's say it's only converting at half of a percent. So you're making 1 sale for every 200 clicks.

    So you're spending $100 for 200 clicks and you're making one sale, and you're earning $97. In other words - you're losing $3 and getting one customer.

    Now you know how your leads are performing.

    Do you stop doing Provider B and only do Provider A because Provider B only converts at half of a percent? No. You add together your sales from both providers and you get an average.

    So let's do the math.

    Provider A: $1 per click. Spend $200 for 200 clicks. Sales: 3 sales. Revenue: $291. Earnings: $91

    Provider B: $0.50 per click. Spend $100 for 200 clicks. Sales: 1 sale. Revenue: $97. Earnings: $3 loss.

    $91 + -$3 = $88 earnings.

    Now why would you keep Provider B - even if you're losing money - and it's bringing your total earnings down?

    One: Because your total earnings are still positive, aka. you can "afford it".

    Two: You're getting a customer, aka. you can sell to that customer again later, on the back-end.

    And customers are as good as money in the bank.

    Anyway...

    That's a lot of math. I almost went blind typing it. But secretly - this is a money math business.

    Don't tell anyone.

    Marc
    Signature
    Long Lost Warriors! The Secret Sales System! Act Now! Buy Now! Right Now!
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10364387].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author irawr
      Banned
      Hey Marc, you didn't even read his post.

      To bodnar88: The best way to do this is to utilize data providers, this isn't cheap and it's not 100% accurate, but you won't get anything "better."
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10364403].message }}
      • Profile picture of the author bodnar88
        Originally Posted by irawr View Post

        Hey Marc, you didn't even read his post.

        To bodnar88: The best way to do this is to utilize data providers, this isn't cheap and it's not 100% accurate, but you won't get anything "better."
        Yeah thats what i started to think too.
        {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10364407].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author bodnar88
      umm, so to verify leads that fill out your capture form tho?
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10364406].message }}
      • Profile picture of the author Marc Rodill
        Originally Posted by irawr View Post

        Hey Marc, you didn't even read his post.

        To bodnar88: The best way to do this is to utilize data providers, this isn't cheap and it's not 100% accurate, but you won't get anything "better."
        Originally Posted by bodnar88 View Post

        umm, so to verify leads that fill out your capture form tho?
        I still stand by what I said.

        He's talking about leads that are filling out his form - which is exactly what I thought he said in his OP.

        Originally Posted by bodnar88 View Post

        Hi, Ive got a capture form page and im looking at a few ways to verify the leads that come in as a way of sorting the fakefalse entries to the legit ones.
        I did read it, thank you.

        Are you trying to say I can't possibly read and response that fast?



        If leads are filling out his form and not buying anything - ever - they suck.

        What more verification do you need?

        What are you going to do - cross check everyone who opts in to your list?

        If you have to verify the person who literally *just* gave you their email...

        Maybe you should source your leads from somewhere else.

        Anyway...

        This is just advice. Do whatever you want.

        Lol...
        Signature
        Long Lost Warriors! The Secret Sales System! Act Now! Buy Now! Right Now!
        {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10364426].message }}
        • Profile picture of the author JohnMcCabe
          Marc, if he's paying based on list size, he wants to get the fakes off his list before he gets to the point of concluding they don't buy anything.

          I send a test message asking people to confirm that the email did, in fact, arrive as promised. If I get a hard bounce (email does not exist), they get deleted. If they get three soft bounces in a row (mailbox full, etc.), they get deleted.
          {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10365308].message }}
          • Profile picture of the author Marc Rodill
            Originally Posted by JohnMcCabe View Post

            Marc, if he's paying based on list size, he wants to get the fakes off his list before he gets to the point of concluding they don't buy anything.

            I send a test message asking people to confirm that the email did, in fact, arrive as promised. If I get a hard bounce (email does not exist), they get deleted. If they get three soft bounces in a row (mailbox full, etc.), they get deleted.
            True. I was under the impression he wasn't buying a llist. That they were filling out the opt-in form so they were fresh. But if he's buying a list - then I stand corrected!

            That's a smart idea. Do you often buy lists, John?
            Signature
            Long Lost Warriors! The Secret Sales System! Act Now! Buy Now! Right Now!
            {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10366355].message }}
            • Profile picture of the author JohnMcCabe
              Originally Posted by Marc Rodill View Post

              True. I was under the impression he wasn't buying a llist. That they were filling out the opt-in form so they were fresh. But if he's buying a list - then I stand corrected!

              That's a smart idea. Do you often buy lists, John?
              Bought one back in 1999. Rented a few since then.

              Actually, I was referring to services like aweber, which charge monthly fees based on the number of records in your database. If someone puts in a fake address, it still counts until it's deleted.

              I use a self-hosted solution, but I still don't want undeliverables on my lists. Too many, and it affects your deliverability.
              {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10366458].message }}
              • Profile picture of the author Marc Rodill
                Originally Posted by JohnMcCabe View Post

                Bought one back in 1999. Rented a few since then.

                Actually, I was referring to services like aweber, which charge monthly fees based on the number of records in your database. If someone puts in a fake address, it still counts until it's deleted.

                I use a self-hosted solution, but I still don't want undeliverables on my lists. Too many, and it affects your deliverability.
                Cool. With Aweber it makes total sense. They're charging you by the subscriber. Yeah - it's tiered but still. I do see a lot of people irritated that you have to cull down the numbers by hand, too.

                I'm not an expert about this, but since you're self-hosted and in charge of your own deliver-ability, I'm guessing that's probably more important than the money you might be losing if you were paying Aweber.

                I like your strat checking your bounces. I never thought of it that way.
                Signature
                Long Lost Warriors! The Secret Sales System! Act Now! Buy Now! Right Now!
                {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10366614].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author DIABL0
    What data fields are you collecting?
    Signature
    How to Build LARGE EMAIL LISTS on a Budget and MONETIZE Like a PRO
    20+ Years Exp . . . . . . . . . . . . Email - CPA - PPL
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10365329].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author bodnar88
      Originally Posted by DIABL0 View Post

      What data fields are you collecting?
      The data fields i collect on my landing page are

      First Name
      Last Name
      Email (can use external API to check is email is exists plus a combination of regex rules on the field E.G. must contain @.com etc)
      Address
      City
      Post Code
      State
      Mobile
      DOB

      As above, i believe ive spoken to some people and they have like a keyword list which the fields refer to that if entered it can check this "bad keyword list" and flag any spam. But unsure how i would implement this or where i could get something similiar.
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10366098].message }}
      • Profile picture of the author DIABL0
        Originally Posted by bodnar88 View Post

        The data fields i collect on my landing page are

        First Name
        Last Name
        Email (can use external API to check is email is exists plus a combination of regex rules on the field E.G. must contain @.com etc)
        Address
        City
        Post Code
        State
        Mobile
        DOB

        As above, i believe ive spoken to some people and they have like a keyword list which the fields refer to that if entered it can check this "bad keyword list" and flag any spam. But unsure how i would implement this or where i could get something similiar.
        Are you wanting to do this real-time as the lead is submitted or after?

        You can also check first and last name together
        Donald Duck
        Jack Meoff
        etc...

        You could check the zip code to see if it is correct for the city

        You could check if the area code given at least matches their state. These days it's easy for someone to have a number that doesn't match the city they live in, but it should at a minimum match the state.

        You could check their IP address location against the location entered.

        Of course all this requires databases to check against, which will drive up the cost.

        Are you using this data or selling it?
        Signature
        How to Build LARGE EMAIL LISTS on a Budget and MONETIZE Like a PRO
        20+ Years Exp . . . . . . . . . . . . Email - CPA - PPL
        {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10366710].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author Randall Magwood
    I use a special outside service. Or just delete all of the unsubscribers off your list at the end of the month. Or delete all of the leads that who have reached the end of your email sequence, and delete them so that they don't cause you to pay for more than you have to with your email autoresponder.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10366674].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author mjcole76
    I use a software called email verify pro to verify all my emails, and also delete inactive subscribers every few months
    Signature
    Private Message Me To Get The 2 Most Costly Mistakes Affiliates Make And How You Can Avoid Them Make Ten
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10367093].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author bodnar88
      Selling data but its about lead quality on our end and do what we can do to have a good rep.
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10367626].message }}
      • Profile picture of the author DIABL0
        Originally Posted by bodnar88 View Post

        Selling data but its about lead quality on our end and do what we can do to have a good rep.
        I figured you were selling, as it's not as important and probably not worth the added expense if your using them.

        Are you wanting to do this real-time or after submitted?
        How far are you wanting to take the filtering?
        Signature
        How to Build LARGE EMAIL LISTS on a Budget and MONETIZE Like a PRO
        20+ Years Exp . . . . . . . . . . . . Email - CPA - PPL
        {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10368206].message }}
      • Profile picture of the author Marc Rodill
        Originally Posted by bodnar88 View Post

        Selling data but its about lead quality on our end and do what we can do to have a good rep.
        That changes everything IMO. Makes total sense. FreedomBlogger has good advice. When they subscribe, make it so they have to use an email to get the promised value in return. Won't stop people from using throwaways though.

        The other thing would be to go for full contact information. That's way more valuable than just an email as well. Especially these days, an address plus email address is heads and shoulders above just email addresses.
        Signature
        Long Lost Warriors! The Secret Sales System! Act Now! Buy Now! Right Now!
        {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10368321].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author FreedomBlogger
    There are a few things you can do to make sure people use their real emails.

    You should clearly state that the information requested (your lead magnet) will be sent to the Email Provided. Make it very clear to the visitor about this.

    When they see that the information requested will be sent via email - why would they use a fake email? .. you get what I mean!

    You can also use a Double Opt-in Feature or Confirmed Feature. This means that they will need to verify their emails before having access. This is a feature that your Auto-Responder Service should have.

    These are the two best ways to make sure you get legit emails to your list.

    I hope this helps!

    Keep up the great work!
    Signature
    At the beginning, I thought making money online with a blog was super super hard. Not anymore. Learn the art of making money online blogging - step by step - HERE.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10367659].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author blitz20
    I use ehygenics to verify and clean my names
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10368782].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author conradomahy524
    One thing I would NEVER do to verify a lead (many people do this however) would be to simply upload the contact information into Get Response or Aweber, for example. Unless that person has agreed to receive information through that particular autoresponder, any message you send them will be considered straight up spam, since they did not in fact agree to being contacted by that autoresponder in the first place.

    With that being said, if you DO contact them this way (not recommeded), the message will still provide some useful information such as deliverabilty and complaint percentage for example.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[10372225].message }}

Trending Topics