If I Gave You a Marketing Budget of $10k, How Would You Spend It?

51 replies
Marketing Challenge:

If I Gave You a Marketing Budget of $10k, How Would You Spend It?

Additional Details:
- The product converts at 3.4% and works out to about $85 for every 100 visitors.
- You have to spend the full $10,000 in a month.
- Article marketing may not be an option because you need to see a positive ROI in the same month.

What would be your plan, step by step?
#$10k #budget #gave #marketing #spend
  • Profile picture of the author steveweber
    If the market is big enough, then most of it should go toward PPC....IMO.
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  • Profile picture of the author Desmond Ong
    Hey Ron,

    I will spend $2,000 in PPC, $3,000 in PPV to build my list.

    Then I will spent the rest of the money reproducing my site into other languages (assuming that you are selling a product on your site).
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  • Profile picture of the author Scott Murdaugh
    Depending on the product using the $10k to get it on a CPA network and starting a lead generation campaign may not be a bad way to go.

    Hard to say without knowing what the product is.

    -Scott
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    Over $30 Million In Marketing Data And A Decade Of Consistently Generating Breakthrough Results - Ask How My Unique Approach To Copy Typically Outsells Traditional Ads By Up To 29x Or More...

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  • Profile picture of the author JayXtreme
    I was sat here...

    Itching to respond... but I just knew the answer of PPC would come flying in from somewhere.

    PPC isn't a plan... it's one facet of the potential promotions...

    @ Ron... you've given us very little to work with here details-wise.

    Peace

    Jay
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    Bare Murkage.........

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  • Profile picture of the author TheRichJerksNet
    Ron,
    While I could very well give you a full step by step plan the problem would be I would be giving away a million dollar idea.

    I could easily take $10,000 and spend it in one month and turn a profit of $10,000 a month and all without using PPC, Article Marketing, Social Network Marketing, and etc..

    James
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    • Profile picture of the author Steven Wagenheim
      Okay Ron, I'll bite.

      First, I had to do a little math. According to your figures, that means it's a
      $25 commission and I'm making 3.4 sales for every 100 visitors.

      For the sake of simplicity, let's just say I make 3 sales for every 100
      visitors and that comes out to $75. So in order to just break even, having
      to spend $10,000 a month, I'd have to make 400 sales a month. To do
      that, I'd need about 13,000 visitors a month or 450 visitors a day.

      I would probably break up my promotion into 4 parts, thus making it easy
      for each part to generate the required number of visitors, or about 120
      visitors for each segment of promotion. I would then only need 4 sales
      per day, roughly, for each part.

      The 4 parts would be as follows:

      1. PPC
      2. Article Marketing
      3. Solo Ads (through Ezines, private sites, etc.)
      4. Lead Generation Programs

      PPC

      I obviously can't spend more than 75 cents per click or I don't break even.

      Let's assume I can get a 4th position for the main keywords for 50 cents
      per click. 100 clicks will bring me in 3 sales for $75 and cost me $50.

      So let's make my budget, for now anyway, $100 per day.

      That's $3,000 per month and that will bring me 6 sales per day through
      PPC. That's 180 sales for the month.

      Only 220 sales left to go.

      Article Marketing

      To generate enough traffic, I wouldn't be able to write the articles myself
      so I would have to outsource.

      Now, my normal CTR on my resource box is about 20%. So, if I am going
      to get my 120 visitors for the day out of article marketing, I"m going to
      need 600 views per day.

      Now, let's assume this is a highly competitive niche where I know that
      upon initial submission, I'm only going to get about 25 views for each
      article on the first day and then nothing after that.

      That means I will need 24 articles submitted each day. Let's say I outsource
      at a cost of $3 per article. That's a total expense of $72 per day to make
      my $75 for my 3 sales. And that assumes that these articles get no more
      views in their lifetime after day 1, which we know is unlikely.

      My total cost is $2,160 for the articles for the month.

      That brings my total cost up to $5,160

      That gives me another 120 sales added to the 180 I have for PPC which
      gives me 300 sales for the month.

      Only 100 more sales to go divided between solo ads and lead generation
      programs.

      Solo Ads

      I am going to assume this is a product in the MMO niche. That makes
      this very easy. There are some excellent safelists online with great
      memberships that offer solo ads to the contact (not list) email addresses.

      The solo ads usually run about $30 a piece and go out to an average
      of about 5,000 to 10,000 people per mailing. Let's assume a 2% CTR, which
      is about what it is.

      That means 100 to 200 people will be clicking on each solo ad we run.

      So let's for argument sake asy it's only 100 clicks per day. That's 3 sales
      per day for each solo ad.

      Let's do the math.

      $30 x 30 solo ads = $900 expenses

      Add that to our previous total and we have $6,060 expenses.

      Our 3 sales per day gives us another 90 sales.

      Add that to the 300 sales I have so far and we're now up to 390 sales
      for the month. We have almost reached out quota through just the
      first three methods. Only 10 sales left to get through lead generation
      programs.

      Lead Generation Programs

      There are about 5 good lead generation programs online that, between
      the 5 of them are good for about 1 sale every other day or 15 sales a
      month. that comes out to 75 sales per month for the 5 programs.

      ** NOTE ** Don't even think of PMing me for these sites. I don't
      have the time to answer 200 PMs that I know are coming. If
      you PM me about this, you will NOT be answered.

      The 5 programs will cost me $150 per month. So my expenses are now
      up to $6,210.

      That means I have to spend $3,790 more dollars each month. I now have
      to figure where that's going. I'll show you how I do that in a minute.

      In the meantime, I now have 465 sales for the month, or a gross income
      of $11,625.

      I have spent $6,210 to make this.

      My net profit is $5,415 or 46.58%

      That's not too bad.

      But...I still have to shell out $3,790 more dollars or I don't qualify.

      So...I have to look at each form of promotion to see where I can easily
      spend more money.

      PPC

      Forget it. I'm just about getting all the traffic I'm going to get spending
      50 cents per click. I don't want to spend more per click unless I have to.
      So spending more for PPC (really out of my hands) is not an option.

      Article Marketing

      This is where I can EASILY spend more money.

      At $3 per article, I can get 1,263 more articles each month.

      Let's now do some math as to the return.

      1263 x 25 = 31,575 views per month

      31,575 x .20 = 6,315 clicks per month

      6,315 x .034 = 215 sales per month.

      That's an extra $5,375 per month in sales.

      Add that to the $11,625 so far and I'm up to $17,000 in sales for the
      month.

      I've spent $10,000.

      My net profit is $7,000.

      That's $84,000 a year net profit and all I've done is:

      1. Set up a PPC campaign
      2. Outsourced articles
      3. Run a solo ad each day
      4. Let lead generation programs autorun for me each day.

      My total daily workload in hours is probably about 1 hour per day.

      And this doesn't take into account any of the articles that MIGHT get
      some views and clicks in subsequent months.

      There you have it Ron.

      That's what I'd do.

      PS - I would, if it were MY product, build a backend product into
      it at about $97 per sale.

      Do the math on 2% conversion of previous customers.
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    • Profile picture of the author Ron Douglas
      Originally Posted by TheRichJerksNet View Post

      Ron,
      While I could very well give you a full step by step plan the problem would be I would be giving away a million dollar idea.

      I could easily take $10,000 and spend it in one month and turn a profit of $10,000 a month and all without using PPC, Article Marketing, Social Network Marketing, and etc..

      James
      James, you can tell us here in this thread - nobody is even reading this stuff . Or at least shoot me a PM. Don't keep me hanging man.
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    • Profile picture of the author Black Hat Cat
      Banned
      Originally Posted by TheRichJerksNet View Post

      Ron,
      While I could very well give you a full step by step plan the problem would be I would be giving away a million dollar idea.

      I could easily take $10,000 and spend it in one month and turn a profit of $10,000 a month and all without using PPC, Article Marketing, Social Network Marketing, and etc..

      James
      Then why can't you come up with $10,000 to pay a doctor bill?
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      • Profile picture of the author TheRichJerksNet
        Originally Posted by Black Hat Cat View Post

        Then why can't you come up with $10,000 to pay a doctor bill?
        Not sure what that has to do with anything but ...

        1. 1/3 of my bill is paid by me and I will pay the rest and all without starting a thread begging for money. The rest will be paid in the next few months, no big deal..

        Why is this any of your concern anyways...

        James
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    • Profile picture of the author Michael Mayo
      Originally Posted by Razer Rage View Post

      Easy.

      I would run 500 WSO's.
      In one month?

      $100 says you can't. :p

      Michael

      PS, Allen, If he does then 10% affiliate commission will be fine!
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  • Profile picture of the author nicholasb
    here is what I would do.


    First I would compile a huge keyword list 2k plus

    then I would run ppc campaing in yahoo msn and bing to get the lowest cpc.

    I would set the max cpc at around .47 to get a good amount of clicks.

    then I would use tracking 202 to see what keywords were converting I would then stop bidding on the keywords that didnt convert and then ramp up the ones that did.

    I would then see what keywords were converting then start the seo plan.

    some o these keywords will probably need 2k back links or more so I would then outsource a team of people to focus on each keyword until they were ranked, so about 1-2 keywords per week

    depending on how many people we hired.

    of course we would have hosting and would focus on ranking each page of a wordpress blog on the site.


    we would then hyper link only to a squeeze page.

    we would then take all of out converting keywords and test if it is more viable to send all this traffic to a squeeze page to increase conversions through email.

    The bulk of the traffic would be through seo while finding out all the converting keywords and making sales with yahoo and mas ppc.

    we would then survey this list to see exactly what they want.

    we would also focus on recruiting affiliates from other top authority sites in the niche.

    try to schedule interviews mail swaps and that sort of thing.

    I would also hire a pr agent to try and get us local news coverage, and then hopefully national.

    I would then add many expensive upsells to the product including video, mp3'a, and maybe even dvd's

    I would try to maximize the overall value of our customers with high converting backend offers and some type of continuity.

    I would then relaunch the product using jeff walkers product launch formula method.

    after we had a good idea of the conversion rate and value of each customer, I would structure the launch at a little higher price. calling it a 2.0 version which would be just a better version of the first.

    we would then contact all of our affiliates and let them know we were relaunching.

    I would make an affiliate page offering some kick ass prizes and also a section on affiliate marketing. A full training portal for affiliates, not just swipe files.


    I would then have some banners created and advertise in all the top forums related to the product, I would also check the content sites that accept banner ads.

    I would also seek out the best damn copywriter I could find for the 2.0 launch using most of the profits from the first months profit campaign.

    I would also try to add some type of monthly continuity program.
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    • Profile picture of the author Martin Luxton
      Do a competition.

      Every entrant has to do a video with a link to your site in the "about" and upload it to the top 10 video sharing sites (using Tubemogul). They also have to post a link to your site and the video on their own Word Press blog.

      100 prizes of $100.

      Should get a few hundred videos and one way links with that many prizes on offer.

      Martin
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  • Profile picture of the author freudianslip27
    If this is your own product (if not, then this advice won't help, sorry!), one option on spending some of the money, would be to pay someone to research potential jv partnerships for the product you are selling.

    You could then get the physical addresses of these people, and send them a package in the mail (not a run of the mill letter, but something that would get their attention) explaining the benefits of jv'ing with you and how you can help them.

    You could hire someone to manage this for you fulltime, and bring yourself a ton of potential sales partners.

    Matt
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  • Profile picture of the author Brian Johnson
    Originally Posted by Ron Douglas View Post

    Marketing Challenge:

    If I Gave You a Marketing Budget of $10k, How Would You Spend It?

    Additional Details:
    - The product converts at 3.4% and works out to about $85 for every 100 visitors.
    - You have to spend the full $10,000 in a month.
    - Article marketing may not be an option because you need to see a positive ROI in the same month.

    What would be your plan, step by step?
    I would start out by hiring a content writer in the
    states that enjoys writing and I would pay him / her
    well.

    Content rules.

    Best,
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  • Profile picture of the author TheRichJerksNet
    Ron,
    Many lurkers back there just waiting for the next proven real idea ...lol I have no idea what type of site you have or your plans but I personally would not need $10,000 (although the extra money would come in handy for the project) to create something that I already know is in demand and needed by more than just marketers. Already researched, tested, and proven - Approx $5,000 and approx 30 days can have something ready that would in fact generate $10,000+ a month each and every month.

    If you are serious would not mind shooting you a PM at all as long as you are also willing to sign a contract...

    James
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    • Profile picture of the author Lance K
      In your case, I'd consider...

      A)

      Hiring someone to do some reverse engineering on which YouTube publishers get the most views to their videos, have the most channel subscribers, etc. Then I'd hire someone else on commission to contact them and sell them on your service.

      B)

      Putting it up as a cash prize (or prizes) in some sort of viral video publishing contest. Then work your PR magic.

      C)

      Advertising on Facebook.
      Signature
      "You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want."
      ~ Zig Ziglar
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  • Profile picture of the author MichaelHiles
    I'd buy a mylar balloon kit and pretend my kid got stuck in the gondola before it took off for a national news camera ride.



    I keeed... I keeed.....
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    • Profile picture of the author nicholasb
      Originally Posted by MichaelHiles View Post

      I'd buy a mylar balloon kit and pretend my kid got stuck in the gondola before it took off for a national news camera ride.



      I keeed... I keeed.....
      yeah all he was forgetting was his web url painted on the balloon
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      • Profile picture of the author USHwy129
        Originally Posted by nicholasb View Post

        yeah all he was forgetting was his web url painted on the balloon
        that was my first thought too...he wanted publicity but what a waste, there were a lot of eyes on that balloon...he flunked out of marketing 101 I guess....
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        • Profile picture of the author Killer Joe
          Originally Posted by USHwy129 View Post

          that was my first thought too...he wanted publicity but what a waste, there were a lot of eyes on that balloon...he flunked out of marketing 101 I guess....
          Actually, he got his Masters in Disasters with that stunt.

          He held the attention of every major news channel on TV so any additional exposure would have just been a waste of bandwith.

          Now, if he had a sex tape on his website he was selling...

          KJ
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      • Profile picture of the author Charann Miller
        Originally Posted by nicholasb View Post

        yeah all he was forgetting was his web url painted on the balloon

        ...and on your bright orange jumpsuit as they haul you into custody for wasting police time, your 15 minutes of fame right there. You can't buy publicity like that.

        Kidding aside, I would outsource my traffic generation, the majority being keyword optimized articles, I could probably buy 2,000 decent quality articles which would continue to push traffic to my money sites for years to come.
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  • Profile picture of the author Gene Pimentel
    I'd spend it all on Traffic Sage.


    (do I win? )
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  • Profile picture of the author Brad Spencer
    Ron,

    I like Brian McElroy's idea.

    I'd spend the money getting a JV manager to promote to affiliates and spend it all on leveraging traffic.

    Somehow, I'd create some viral stuff that spreads like a viral loop...so it constantly promotes your product like Hotmail did in the 90's...

    Even if you could create a viral app for the Iphone to spread the product...that would be wise.

    The money has to focus on leverage points and finding ways to consistently increase the volume of traffic...like converting to other languages as someone has suggested...

    Cheers,

    Brad
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    • Profile picture of the author Lance K
      Originally Posted by Brad Spencer View Post

      I'd spend the money getting a JV manager to promote to affiliates and spend it all on leveraging traffic.
      I was going to suggest that as well, but Ron's already done that.
      Signature
      "You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want."
      ~ Zig Ziglar
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  • Profile picture of the author jacktackett
    Ron,
    first, it was a pleasure to meet you in person in Raleigh last week- thanks for coming!

    Next, I've not seen anyone mention Press Releases and news stories. If appropriate in your niche a targeted press release can generate some traffic for very little investment/time. Getting a news story does require some connections etc so may not be appropriate or timely enough. I've had some pretty good luck with both PRWeb and webwire in generating traffic to my sites.

    good luck!
    --Jack
    Signature
    Let's get Tim the kidney he needs!HELP Tim
    Mega Monster WSO for KimW http://ow.ly/4JdHm


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  • Profile picture of the author DogScout
    If spent all on SEO
    That is the gift that keeps on giving
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  • Profile picture of the author khairulazan
    This is th good discussion to read on...

    The $10k to marketing will result in various marketing technique...

    For me I will spend some of the $10k to test first...

    Which method convert well, then maximize the the $10k on that method..
    Signature
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    • Profile picture of the author James Clark
      I'm assuming you have a Squeeze Page set-up along with a Sales Page, OTO, etc. In my own Marketing efforts, traffic centers are set-up, would use that method, but would place 100% effort on improving the copy writing at each step.

      Second, build a "Product Ladder" and sell more to the customers that are during business with me now.


      Jimmy.
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  • Profile picture of the author Steve Powers
    wow,if I had that amount,I will invest it on the ppc to gain traffic as possible as I can.
    Sometimes,the limitation of funds makes us dilemma.
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  • Profile picture of the author realoptions
    I would create an awesome product and spend the money that's left over on marketing.
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  • Profile picture of the author TheRichJerksNet
    I find it very interesting how some say they would spend that amount on PPC but no real plans... Ok you have a product but how do you build a recurring profit from that ?? PPC in my opinion is not going to really build that recurring income without other marketing methods in place.

    Granted I do not really do PPC so I am by far no expert on that stuff but I just like to think outside the box and not put all my eggs into one basket.

    James
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  • Profile picture of the author Slin
    Set up a site about a niche, buy my own product (or PLR to one)

    Set up a squeeze page, then outsource article marketing and do PPC to gain traffic, build a huge list, then profit.
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  • Profile picture of the author Sylvia Meier
    Alright this is sooo off the normal responses you will get here on the WF, but it would get you so much better targeted traffic from a major source, now this also depends on your target niche, but could be used to work with pretty much anyone, just the timeframe would be the issue.

    I would use 1k or so of the budget to leverage into 10k trade dollars with a barter exchange (I do this all the time), from that 10k of trade dollars I would do a media buy of a daily newspaper, could get quite a bit with the 10k and I would still have 9k cash in my pocket. I would then use the ad to direct people to my website, where they could purcahse the product and with only 1k in, and 10k worth of advertising, I would already be at a positive ROI (just made 9k in trade dollars), and any sales would be gravy.

    Or if I have a niche it would work with I would use all 10k, leverage it into 100k trade dollars, use that 100k trade dollars to purchase a really big ad in a major paper like the washington times, and then I would sit back and watch the sales come in.

    Just my spin on it.

    Sylvia
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  • Profile picture of the author ddistco
    Ron ,

    First of all I think it is a great idea that you placed your brainstorming idea to the best brainstormers on the planet.

    If I had the $10k I would find the niches that had the highest search results and is an increasing Google search trend. Next , I would seek out a good copywriter and graphics contact.

    I would then create a video marketing series of teaser videos to point to the new niche website and hire a PPC expert to run my campaigns on Google. I would then hire proficient SEO company to optimize my website to the hilt and have my copywriter create a compelling AR Series of messages to send to my subscribers.

    Can you tell I don't want to do any work. I believe in outsourcing to documented professionals who have a successful track record - LOL
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    Mark Coble
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    Local Search Marketing Services
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  • Profile picture of the author Master Blaster
    If you are talking about your own product I would simply recruit affiliates.

    If you are talking about an IM product I would use some money to outsource a killer bonus to give with it.

    If you are talking about anything else PPC on the best key words, and build list.
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    Turn Gmail into an autoresponder, defeat Google promotion tab! http://jcdean.biz

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  • Profile picture of the author James Schramko
    I wouldn't restrict myself to a 'budget' because budgets suck.

    Budgets in business create capped opportunities.

    I wouldn't 'spend it' because investing is better.

    I would (and do) focus on how to make a return
    on my investment then I throw as much at it until
    I no longer make a return.

    Think breakthroughs.

    In terms of things that require an investment you could get these done for you:

    - Paid press release
    - Pay Per View Traffic
    - Pay Per Click Traffic
    - Traffic Geyser submissions
    - Traffic Bug
    - SE Nuke
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    • Profile picture of the author Lance K
      Originally Posted by James Schramko View Post


      I wouldn't 'spend it' because investing is better.
      I've been wondering when somebody was going to bring that up.

      I was going to, but I figured that most people here would be looking at it as an investment and think that I was just nitpicking. It's a good point to bring up though.
      Signature
      "You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want."
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      • Profile picture of the author James Schramko
        Originally Posted by Lance K View Post

        I've been wondering when somebody was going to bring that up.

        I was going to, but I figured that most people here would be looking at it as an investment and think that I was just nitpicking. It's a good point to bring up though.
        Words like Budget are incorrect in modern marketing. The 'budget' should be unlimited.

        We all know how much the old corporate CYA (Cover your arse) mindset kicks in when we have budgets to spend.

        Investing in marketing is the way to go. Track, Test and Measure and you can try out as many marketing channels as you want.

        There are only a handful of traffic channels mentioned in this post so far.
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  • Profile picture of the author Daniel E Taylor
    Honestly I would spend most of it on Google Adwords sending traffic
    to an opt-in page that converts around 23%-30% and when they opt in
    send them to the sales page. (This will allow you to recoup and make some
    extra cash during the process).

    Before you know it you have a huge list and you can keep marketing
    creating products, running sales, and just make money in your draws
    by sending one email out per day.

    And before anyone says anything realize this isn't a theory, this is
    what I actually did...

    Daniel
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    Self Actualization is one's true purpose. Everything
    else is an illusion.

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  • Profile picture of the author Folusho Orokunle
    I agree with Daniel's Idea.

    But with one Caveat. I would also build an authority site in the niche. This is what I do in any market that I want to be a major player in.

    A few months back I got GOOGLE SLAPPED after spending 100k in just one of my accounts with Google.

    But since I had spent (about 10k) some money outsourcing the creation of an authority site in this niche, I was still get over 20,000 FREE visitors a month after the slap.

    I subsequently CHEATED ON GOOGLE with Yahoo and Bing and still bank over $10k/month with the site because of all the FREE and low cost traffic I'm getting.

    The best part about PPC is that you can get a lot of market analysis done very quickly so you know which keywords to target.

    If you're in a niche that caters to the mass market, I would also consider doing a "refer a friend" viral campaign that you use to build your list and a community for your authority site.

    Peace and God Bless.
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  • Profile picture of the author JeffH
    You already have data:

    "Additional Details:
    - The product converts at 3.4% and works out to about $85 for every 100 visitors."

    I'd figure out where I'm already getting my best conversions and SPEND IT ALL ON THAT.

    JeffH
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  • Profile picture of the author Jacer
    A little research on your product website reveals that 66% of your visitors are female, 52% are over 50 years old, and 76% don't have kids. That is some very specific and helpful data.

    I would find ways to market to this specific group of customers. You can get some very cost effective advertising by connecting with owners of websites that have a similar audience. Do some research, contact those sites directly, and advertise to their audience any way possible(banner, email, etc)
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