so far I've been treating Internet Marketing like a "JOB" (apologies for using such filthy language here...):
all my efforts were so far either
- 'create product, flog it, move on to next', without building a real list (yes, shame on me) or
- do an affiliate promotion by building websites, driving traffic to it and cashing in the cheques (some rather successful in terms of cash generated, but again, no list)
So, in an attempt to become a 'real' Internet marketer, with passive income, here's my (ambitious?) plan for March 2010:
I'd like to set up a bunch of affiliate sites that
a) build me a list AND
b) generate on average $1000/week
(by the end of the month).
Here's my thinking (and this is where I'd appreciate your input):
going backwards, to make $1000,
one way to look at it would be to take the good ol' rule of thumb: for every name on your list, expect to make $1/month. So: "all" I need is to add 4000 people to my list and I'm done...
Say I get a good 'freebie' offer out, can I expect a 10% signup rate?
If so, I'd need to have a tota of around 40.000 visitors to my sites in a month, i.e. around 1333/day and I should have my list within 1 month.
any comments so far?
here a maybe more practical calculation:
so, the other way would be:
assuming I have:
1) average profit per sale: $20 (so I'll pick affiliate products with an average of $20 payout)
2) average signup-rate to my list: 10% of visitors (see above! I know some people talk about 30-60% signup rates, but, let's start at the lower end -- I have picked a bunch of keywords for which I have a great offer, so fingers crossed the 10% is ok...)
3) a 10% sales-conversion (ok, ok, hear me out): follow-up the list with 5-7 pieces of great content (plus a "share my private resource"-section where I review related affiliate offers), then the affiliate sale. I know, 10% is high, but if you look at the usual "cold traffic" conversion rates (where people report between 1-2%, then 10% (sales) of 10% (signup to list) is the same as 1% from cold traffic. Except, this is no longer cold....
then I need to have
10 signups for 1 sale ==
(10 * 10 signups) = 100 visitors for 1 sale
as I need $1000/20 = 50 sales per week, I need
(50 * 100) = 5000 visitors/week to get my 50 sales/week.
that's just over 700 unique visitors to my site every day.
so, whichever way I look at it, I need around 700-1300, let's call it 1000 visitors/day to my site.
If I were to go the SEO route (not likely in the 1-month time-frame, but like I said, this is my 'passive income' project), then assuming I'm getting 20% of front-page traffic once on page 1, then (and here's my question to the SEO gurus out there):
can I assume that if GAKT gives me a daily search-volume (exact match) of 100, then if I'm in 2nd or 3rd pos (make an effort to have a double-indented listing) I can get around 20% of those clicks?
If so, I'd need 1000/20% = 5000 exact match searches per day according to GAKT.
Meaning: assuming I can find 10 KW with around 500 exact match searches per day, then *all* I need to do is build 10 sites, get them ranked for that keyword and I *should* be done.
in the meantime, any other suggestions on how to drive around 1000 visitors/day to my site(s) to get this up and running until I'm ranking?