What happens when you flip a blog with WPRobot installed?

8 replies
My title says it all

Do you have to disable WP Robot? Or does it keep running? How does that work?
#blog #flip #installed #wprobot
  • Profile picture of the author getsmartt
    I think WPRobot sells a developers license, if you sell a site without owning the developers license, then you have to remove WPRobot, if I understand their terms correctly

    James
    Signature

    Was mich nicht umbringt, macht mich stärker

    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3022455].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author Diana Lane
      Originally Posted by getsmartt View Post

      I think WPRobot sells a developers license, if you sell a sit without owning the developers license, then you have to remove WPRobot, if I understand their tems correctly

      James
      James is right, but even with a developer licence you still have to remove WP Robot if the blog sells for less than $140 (although the version that you pass on to the customer allows them to use it for three sites, so as I understand it offering a bundle of three sites for sale for $140 and including WP Robot with them is not a problem). A developer license gives you access to a page on the WP Robot site where you have to submit the URL of the site sold, the price it fetched and the customer's e-mail. You then put the customer's e-mail into the WP Robot options in the admin of the sold site, and your customer is then licenced to use the plugin and request support from the plugin creator if necessary.

      If you don't have a dev licence or the site fetches less than $140, then you'll need to remove WP Robot. This usually leaves the content pretty much intact, but one thing to watch for is the shortcodes that WP Robot leaves when you've opted to include prices (at least with the Amazon module, anyway). I discovered this at the weekend when I sold at site for just $99, removed WP Robot and then had to edit a ton of pages to remove ugly shortcodes which were left as a result. I seldom have reason to remove WP Robot and almost never include prices anyway and must have done it by accident on this occasion, which is why I hadn't encountered the issue before, but there may be other shortcodes I've not noticed - perhaps with modules I don't use - which are left behind when the plugin is removed. Check your pages afterwards just to be sure.
      Signature

      Plot short fiction, long fiction, even outline non-fiction * Edit the question prompts to suit your genre * Easily export text and image files for use with your word processor or Scrivener.
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3022780].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author Darla
      Originally Posted by getsmartt View Post

      I think WPRobot sells a developers license, if you sell a site without owning the developers license, then you have to remove WPRobot, if I understand their terms correctly

      James

      This is also the way I understood it. I stand to be corrected as well if this is not the correct interpretation of the terms.
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3024179].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author sbucciarel
    Banned
    The only time I transfer a commercial plugin with a site is if I
    1) bought the developer's license
    2) Transfer ownership of the plugin to the site owner if it's a single use license.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3022813].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author John Lenaghan
      Originally Posted by sbucciarel View Post

      2) Transfer ownership of the plugin to the site owner if it's a single use license.
      This is what I usually do too. It can be a good benefit and add to the selling price, especially if they can turn around and use it on all their sites.

      I just buy them a license after they've paid me, so I'm not out-of-pocket anything up front.

      Originally Posted by TiffanyDow

      What happens to the posts already on there? Do I have to remove those too?
      Not according to this post on the WP Robot support forum:

      website flip guide « WP Robot Support Forum

      John
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3024357].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author TiffanyLambert
    So that's cool but now I have another question.

    Let's say I delete the WP Robot plugin.

    What happens to the posts already on there? Do I have to remove those too?

    Tiff
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3023069].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author Diana Lane
    You don't need to remove the posts, but you do need to check through them to make sure that WP Robot hasn't left any shortcodes behind in them (I only found them once in a site where I accidentally let WP Robot include prices in the data that it fetched from Amazon, but there could be other circumstances I'm unaware of that cause them to appear too).

    They're dead easy to spot and look something like [WPRloadsofgarblednumbers]
    Signature

    Plot short fiction, long fiction, even outline non-fiction * Edit the question prompts to suit your genre * Easily export text and image files for use with your word processor or Scrivener.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3023092].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author linaO
    I bought a site off flippa a couple months back with wprobot installed. The seller did not inform me of it; he purchased the standard vs the dev license. Plus I won the site for $30. I told the seller about what he's doing is wrong and the makers of wprobot could ban him for selling sites without the license. He looked the other way, of course. Glad you're at least making sure ahead of time before flipping the site. WPRobot is awesome.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[3024315].message }}

Trending Topics