Can someone check my math... Pleeeez!

41 replies
Hi Warriors,

You might have read in one of my posts that I don't do math. Who knows why it escapes me, but it is a constant struggle. This is where you come in.

I'm trying to figure out how many visitors I need based on these numbers:

Goal: $2500 month (minimum) from Commissions that pay $34 per sale

I figure:
Number of sales to reach $2,500 = 74 (7400 visitors x 1% = 74)


Here's my dilemma. The deeper I get into the numbers, the more I confuse myself.

If the least I can expect is a 1% conversion rate, this means I need to get XXX many people to my site. From that I need 1% to click to the affiliate site. From there, I need another 1% to buy the product.

Again, based on the average expected conversion of 1%. Of course, I'd like to see 5% or more.

Anyway, I need to know:

1) how many people I need to get to my own site so that
2) enough people land on the affiliate page for me to make 74 sales.

Can you do the numbers? Because I'm lost.

Appreciate your genius.

Sylvia

PS: Maybe we need to add a Math Forum for people like me. :rolleyes:
#check #math #math question #pleeeez
  • Profile picture of the author Istvan Horvath
    If your calculation is correct and you need 7,400 visitors on the sales page and before that only 1% of your readers go/click to the sales page, then add two more zeros and you get how many visitors you need on your site: 740,000.

    1% of 740,000 = 7,400
    1% of 7,400 = 74

    However, I doubt you need to calculate with 1% on both sites...
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    • Profile picture of the author sylviad
      Yes, that's the number I came up with, too, and it seemed outrageous... 750,000 visitors per month. Can you really get that many targeted visitors in a month?

      Starting from scratch, that's quite an intimidating figure, especially when you see the numbers people put out on visitors per article, which might be 10%-15% on average.

      Sylvia
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      • Profile picture of the author Tom Ryan
        I think you are looking at this the wrong way Sylvia. Yes, a 1% conversion rate is a standard starting place for doing your calculation, but in your example you are also assuming a 1% ctr to the actual sales page, which is extremely low.

        If your presell copy is even somewhat decent you should get a better ctr than 1%. Try aiming for at least a 20% ctr on your presell. If you hit 20% ctr with a 1% conversion you'd need 37,000 visitors to make the 74 sales.
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        • Profile picture of the author Alexa Smith
          Banned
          Originally Posted by Tom Ryan View Post

          in your example you are also assuming a 1% ctr to the actual sales page, which is extremely low.
          ^^^ This ... exactly.

          Originally Posted by Tom Ryan View Post

          If your presell copy is even somewhat decent you should get a better ctr than 1%. Try aiming for at least a 20% ctr on your presell. If you hit 20% ctr with a 1% conversion you'd need 37,000 visitors to make the 74 sales.
          Much more realistic.

          And the 20% CTR on the pre-sell ought to be a minimum, really. (You do want to use a minimum, though, to estimate this).
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        • Profile picture of the author sylviad
          Originally Posted by Tom Ryan View Post

          I think you are looking at this the wrong way Sylvia. Yes, a 1% conversion rate is a standard starting place for doing your calculation, but in your example you are also assuming a 1% ctr to the actual sales page, which is extremely low.

          If your presell copy is even somewhat decent you should get a better ctr than 1%. Try aiming for at least a 20% ctr on your presell. If you hit 20% ctr with a 1% conversion you'd need 37,000 visitors to make the 74 sales.
          Ah, yes. I see your point. If I've captured their attention once, they're already interested, which means they would be half-way to buying by the time they get to my page. The subsequent leap from there to the buy button should be much easier.

          I see one of my older sites getting something like 6 visits to the sales page and 6 sales. Or in other cases, sales of 1 in 8. I thought that was pretty good. The slowdown was from visits to clicking the affiliate link. 80% were bounces and of the 20% that weren't I did quite well with conversions. Not sure what that means.

          Sylvia
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          • Profile picture of the author myob
            Sylvia

            As you can see by any calculation or model, you're missing a whole lot of sales by not building a list from these visitors.
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            • Profile picture of the author sylviad
              Originally Posted by myob View Post

              Sylvia

              As you can see by any calculation or model, you're missing a whole lot of sales by not building a list from these visitors.
              Yes, I know. I need a much better system for that, something I keep meaning to do. Some of my sites have the opt-in form in a column or low down and I know I need to set it so that they get it smack in the forehead as they transition through my site. Still trying to decide exactly which way is best... pop-in when they land, pop-out when they leave, pop-up when they click the affiliate link or just sitting on the page "above the fold"????

              I tried several of those ones that overlay the screen with a gray matte or something, but they didn't work properly so I gave up. And I really liked that concept, too.

              Sylvia
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              • Profile picture of the author Linda_C
                Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                Yes, I know. I need a much better system for that, something I keep meaning to do. Some of my sites have the opt-in form in a column or low down and I know I need to set it so that they get it smack in the forehead as they transition through my site. Still trying to decide exactly which way is best... pop-in when they land, pop-out when they leave, pop-up when they click the affiliate link or just sitting on the page "above the fold"????

                I tried several of those ones that overlay the screen with a gray matte or something, but they didn't work properly so I gave up. And I really liked that concept, too.

                Sylvia
                Just an idea.... why not create a squeeze page that gives away a related freebie. Then when they download the free item, pitch the affiliate product on the thank you page and also set an autoresponder to promote an affiliate product. Maybe send a "sample" of the paid product as a thank you for trying your free download. You'll build a list and have 2 shots at selling the paid/affiliate product.
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                • Profile picture of the author sylviad
                  Thanks Linda,

                  The thing is, I'll be sending them to the pre-sell page first simply because I lead into it in my article resource box. I'd just rather not send them to a squeeze page at that point.

                  Plus, I can't send them a sample of the paid product because it's not my product. It belongs to the affiliate vendor. But I get your point.

                  I've seen people put the pop-up opt-in form after they click the affiliate link and before sending them on to the sales page. That would be similar to the squeeze page, but I'm a bit reluctant to do that. It might give them too much time to think.

                  Sylvia
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                  • Profile picture of the author Linda_C
                    Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                    Thanks Linda,

                    The thing is, I'll be sending them to the pre-sell page first simply because I lead into it in my article resource box. I'd just rather not send them to a squeeze page at that point.

                    Plus, I can't send them a sample of the paid product because it's not my product. It belongs to the affiliate vendor. But I get your point.

                    I've seen people put the pop-up opt-in form after they click the affiliate link and before sending them on to the sales page. That would be similar to the squeeze page, but I'm a bit reluctant to do that. It might give them too much time to think.

                    Sylvia
                    You're welcome. I wouldn't put anything between the affiliate link and sales page either!! If they're clicking, let 'em click!

                    You could always create a separate squeeze page - not on the page in your resource box -- and throw a few links/articles to the squeeze to see how it performs.

                    Also? If you write the vendor and ask if you can give away a sample chapter of their amazing book to boost sales, they might be open to that. After all, if you sell more, they sell more.

                    Another thought -- are you split testing 2 pre-sell pages to see if you can boost conversion? The higher you can get conversion, the less likely you'll need 70000000000000 gajillion visitors. lol.
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                    • Profile picture of the author sylviad
                      Linda,

                      Some vendors do offer giveaway reports to affiliates. I could check.

                      The sites that converted were doing quite well with the few visitors I was getting but then it all stopped. It's in large part because I had to move my site and did not get the entire blog portion, which was where I was directing a lot of traffic. Right after that, it all went haywire. No sales. Less visitors. Lowered PR. All in a few months.

                      Marketing basically stopped on those sites because I was starting these new ones. Not much traffic is getting to the presell landing pages yet because most comes from blog posts and pinging. The preview pages are not getting pinged or changed every few days. Most visitors just want to read the posts and move on.

                      So no. It's not really possible to test 2 presell pages just yet without some traffic on one as a measure.

                      I'm still working to get indexed for relevant keywords.

                      I get that if I can convert more people, I won't need as many visitors. What I don't really understand is that before I'd done much marketing at all, my sites got a high bounce rate. After a bit of work, it went down a bit. I checked the visitor logs and the visits that I call "real" (those who come from something I did - article submission usually) or something I can actually track. From this it seems that the bounce rate is being caused by other things, and I wondered if it was people hitting your site to collect data rather than people actually interested in the content and offers.

                      It also could be other marketers checking the site to see what they can learn - what with all the new software around these days that helps them with that and encourages it. How can you tell what traffic is real and what isn't?

                      Sylvia
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              • Profile picture of the author DireStraits
                Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                Yes, I know. I need a much better system for that, something I keep meaning to do. Some of my sites have the opt-in form in a column or low down and I know I need to set it so that they get it smack in the forehead as they transition through my site. Still trying to decide exactly which way is best... pop-in when they land, pop-out when they leave, pop-up when they click the affiliate link or just sitting on the page "above the fold"????

                I tried several of those ones that overlay the screen with a gray matte or something, but they didn't work properly so I gave up. And I really liked that concept, too.

                Sylvia
                In my humble opinion, pop-ins, pop-ups, pop-outs - or anything that goes "pop" at all - are a bad idea.

                "If it has a tendency to pop, let it drop" - that's what I say. (Don't bother Googlin' that quote like you might others in this thread - I just made it up. )

                Nothing is more preferable, in my experience, than simply positioning an incentivised opt-in form prominently above the fold. Usually in a column aligned to the right, in my case.

                But it depends on what's on your site, I guess, or the order in which you prefer to lead your visitors through your sales process. On my sites there are articles, and occasionally other forms of content, that I'd prefer my visitors to read - or at least see. If there were no articles, crappy "SEO-only" articles or no real content at all, then maybe I'd use a squeeze-page or some form of JavaScript annoyance to "twist their arm" into opting-in, instead. But I err more towards taking an "organic approach": I'd like my visitors to land on my site and see what else I have to offer before they opt-in. It's an opportunity to "warm them" a little more, I think, since there's a good chance what brought them to my site in the first instance was an article they found enjoyable/helpful to read.

                As I say ... just my opinion, based on what I'm doing and what's working for me. Testing for yourself, wherever possible, is never a bad idea, of course.
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                • Profile picture of the author sylviad
                  Originally Posted by DireStraits View Post

                  In my humble opinion, pop-ins, pop-ups, pop-outs - or anything that goes "pop" at all - is a bad idea.

                  "If it has a tendency to pop, let it drop" - that's what I say. (Don't bother Googlin' that quote like you might others in this thread - I just made it up. )

                  Nothing is more preferable, in my experience, than simply positioning an incentivised opt-in form prominently above the fold. Usually in a column aligned to the right, in my case.

                  But it depends on what's on your site, I guess, or the order in which you prefer to lead your visitors through your sales process. On my sites there are articles, and occasionally other forms of content, that I'd prefer my visitors to read - or at least see. If there were no articles, crappy "SEO-only" articles or no real content at all, then maybe I'd use a squeeze-page or some form of JavaScript annoyance to "twist their arm" into opting-in, instead. But I err more towards taking an "organic approach": I'd like my visitors to land on my site and see what else I have to offer before they opt-in. It's an opportunity to "warm them" a little more, I think, since there's a good chance what brought them to my site in the first instance was an article they found enjoyable/helpful to read.

                  As I say ... just my opinion, based on what I'm doing and what's working for me. Testing for yourself, wherever possible, is never a bad idea, of course.
                  Thanks, Michael - and I do like your quote. Good one! And memorable.

                  Basically, I have two landing pages - either an article that adds more information to the one that got them there, or in many cases, a product review. I've refrained from cutting into the review with an opt-in box, choosing to put it in the right hand column instead. But, I'm rethinking that. Maybe putting it after the first 2-3 paragraphs would work better.

                  And before you repeat what others have already said, yes I've tested all over the place (right column, left column, pop-up (slide-in or whatever you want to call them) and at various places down the center of the page. The results are always dismal.

                  Which tells me they don't like what I'm offering in exchange. Or it could be that they never get that far - (boing, boing... bouncy, bouncy...). 84% bounce rate? C'mon. What's that all about?

                  Maybe I'd do better with a huge NET!

                  Sylvia
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                  • Profile picture of the author DireStraits
                    Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                    Basically, I have two landing pages - either an article that adds more information to the one that got them there, or in many cases, a product review.
                    Yup - same here. I usually link to two pages from my article resource-boxes. One will be another related article on my site, and the other will be a product pre-sell page.

                    I use the same template throughout all pages on my site, however, so no matter which page they come to - pre-sell or article-page - they will still be presented with my opt-in form in exactly the same position.

                    Sorry if you've mentioned this already, but is your actual opt-in incentivised in some way? Some people seem to make the mistake of only incentivising squeeze-pages, and not opt-ins throughout their site ... but I think it's rare for a visitor to be motivated to give out their email address without one.

                    They still need their arms twisting a little bit.

                    Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                    I've refrained from cutting into the review with an opt-in box, choosing to put it in the right hand column instead. But, I'm rethinking that. Maybe putting it after the first 2-3 paragraphs would work better.
                    Well, as I say, I always prefer to keep my opt-in forms in the same place throughout my site, but I can't see that there'd be a problem with perhaps having one in two (or even more) locations on a single page?

                    In any case, good luck with your continued testing/tweaking.

                    Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                    Which tells me they don't like what I'm offering in exchange. Or it could be that they never get that far - (boing, boing... bouncy, bouncy...). 84% bounce rate? C'mon. What's that all about?
                    It could be.

                    When you say "what you're offering in exchange", are you referring to the free content on your site or to some opt-in incentive? Because although the content on your site may be free and useful, web users have sort of come to expect that from many sites they visit. It doesn't necessarily strike them that "hey, this site has awesome content so I'll give out my details and sign up to this person's mailing list and pray that I'll receive more of the same (or something similar)".

                    They need to be asked/told what to do, and/or informed what's happening, every step of the way.

                    Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                    Maybe I'd do better with a huge NET!
                    I'd think so, yes! Just be careful where you drag it ... those things tear more easily than you might imagine, and they're monstrously expensive to fix.
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              • Profile picture of the author lillyc
                You can calculate using these formulas with your numbers to help you out in your business:

                Calculating cost per sale:
                If you paid $25 for the visitors and generated a total of 213 sales to your offer the calculation would look like this:
                $25 / 213 sales = 11.7 Cents Per Sale


                Cost per visitor: total website spend / total visitors


                Return on Investment:
                ROI= (Gain from Investment - Cost of Investment)
                ___________________________________
                Cost of Investment
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    • Profile picture of the author Alexa Smith
      Banned
      I agree with Istvan that on the basis of the figures you provide, the answer is 740,000.

      I also agree with his inference that these figures may not quite be right. Ok, maybe 1% will buy after clicking on the affiliate-link (and that's probably a reasonable assumption, while quietly hoping for better), but you'll surely get a lot more than 1% to click-through from your site to the sales page? I'd hope so, anyway, otherwise you're selling to only 1/10,000th of the traffic, or 1/(100 x 100).
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      • Profile picture of the author myob
        Do not worry about your difficulties in Mathematics. I can assure you mine are still greater.
        - Albert Einstein
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        • Profile picture of the author sylviad
          Originally Posted by myob View Post

          Do not worry about your difficulties in Mathematics. I can assure you mine are still greater.
          - Albert Einstein
          Is this the theory of relativity guy?
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          • Profile picture of the author Alexa Smith
            Banned
            Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

            Is this the theory of relativity guy?
            The same.

            During his stay in Princeton, New Jersey, Einstein used to play his violin in a string quartet. He enjoyed these sessions, but the other musicians were a little less enthusiastic about his skills. After a private performance, on one occasion, the cellist commented "He's not too bad at all, overall, but he just can't count".
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            • Profile picture of the author myob
              Originally Posted by Joe.Mc View Post

              Ah, but whilst Einstein's theories are still the best we have to go on they are not 100% fact... it could turn out at some point in the future that his maths was a little off after all! :p
              All science is merely theory - nothing is 100% factual. Even gravity itself is only an unproven theory, because it fails to explain particle behavior in quantum mechanics. But, we digress.


              As far as the laws of mathematics refer to reality, they are not certain, and as far as they are certain, they do not refer to reality.
              - Albert Einstein
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      • Profile picture of the author sylviad
        That's the thing. If my math or thinking is way off, then if you had the same goal, what traffic numbers would you want to achieve it?

        Sales: $2,500 @ $34 per sale = ? visitors at ? percent?

        Sylvia
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        • Profile picture of the author myob
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          • Profile picture of the author Istvan Horvath
            Originally Posted by myob View Post

            Assuming 1% conversion, you'll need about 7,400 visitors to earn $2,500 (74 sales).
            Yes, she figured that out... see the OP.

            Things got complicated when she assumed that:
            a) 1% of the readers would click through to the sales page
            b) 1% of those that clicked through would buy

            I think that's wrong but if one calculates with those numbers... you need 740,000 visitors
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            • Profile picture of the author sylviad
              Originally Posted by Istvan Horvath View Post

              Yes, she figured that out... see the OP.

              Things got complicated when she assumed that:
              a) 1% of the readers would click through to the sales page
              b) 1% of those that clicked through would buy

              I think that's wrong but if one calculates with those numbers... you need 740,000 visitors
              Exactly! Who the heck can drive that many visitors in a month, unless you're using some spamming software?
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              • Profile picture of the author Istvan Horvath
                Originally Posted by sylviad View Post

                Exactly! Who the heck can drive that many visitors in a month, unless you're using some spamming software?
                As some smarter (I mean smarter than me) marketers above demonstrated it for us - you don't really need that many because the CTR should be higher than 1%...
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                • Profile picture of the author sylviad
                  Originally Posted by Istvan Horvath View Post

                  As some smarter (I mean smarter than me) marketers above demonstrated it for us - you don't really need that many because the CTR should be higher than 1%...
                  No, no. I get that. Just sayin'.
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  • Profile picture of the author realreview
    Hey Silvia,

    It might not be for you but if you use a exit pop up script you could smash those %ages through to the sales page. Your conversions may be lower but with a much higher sales page visit count you may sell more.

    As they say, test test test
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    • Profile picture of the author sylviad
      Originally Posted by realreview View Post

      Hey Silvia,

      It might not be for you but if you use a exit pop up script you could smash those %ages through to the sales page. Your conversions may be lower but with a much higher sales page visit count you may sell more.

      As they say, test test test
      Maybe this is one solution to my bounce rate, which sits around 80-84%.

      Sylvia
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  • Profile picture of the author JamesGw
    You can probably expect a .5-2% conversion rate on the affiliate site and a 30-60% CTR from your site to the affiliate site, depending on how well set up it is.

    74*200*3.33 = 49,248
    74*50*1.66 = 6,142

    So you'd need ~6000-50,000 visits per month to pull in that much cash. It depends on how well the product converts on the affiliate page and how well-optimized your page is.

    Edit: fixed wrong total for max.
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    • Profile picture of the author sylviad
      Originally Posted by JamesGw View Post

      You can probably expect a .5-2% conversion rate on the affiliate site and a 30-60% CTR from your site to the affiliate site, depending on how well set up it is.

      74*200*3.33 = 24,642
      74*50*1.66 = 6,142

      So you'd need ~6000-25,000 visits per month to pull in that much cash. It depends on how well the product converts on the affiliate page and how well-optimized your page is.
      Well, that all looks impressive, but I have no idea what that means.
      74 (x?) 200 (x?) 3.33 =
      or is that divided by?

      Because I tried 74x200x3.33 and 74x200 divided by 3.33 and couldn't get your 24,642 number.

      And what is the 3.33 and 1.66?
      I can only assume 200 represents 2% and 50 is .5%.

      See, if I knew the formula, then I can use it again and again... hopefully.
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  • Profile picture of the author lillyc
    Sylvia, to fix your bounce rate you must test your website with people to find out what they see that is not working well and fix it. Secondly, you must get Google Analytics or some way to track metrics. If you use Google you can track different areas of your page to find out where the high bounce rate is coming from. For example, the bounce rate could be coming from your homepage, cart, product area, or anywhere on your website. The key is to find out where it is occurring and fix that issue. It could be causing you sales.
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    • Profile picture of the author sylviad
      Originally Posted by lillyc View Post

      Sylvia, to fix your bounce rate you must test your website with people to find out what they see that is not working well and fix it. Secondly, you must get Google Analytics or some way to track metrics. If you use Google you can track different areas of your page to find out where the high bounce rate is coming from. For example, the bounce rate could be coming from your homepage, cart, product area, or anywhere on your website. The key is to find out where it is occurring and fix that issue. It could be causing you sales.
      I already know... it's my home page.

      If I send them to an inside page, they often travel to another page. This is more with my static site than my blog site. My static home pages are too generic, that I know, but I'm not focusing on those sites at the moment. I'm working to get my 3 main blogs profiting.

      Which brings me back to the point of my thread - figuring out how many visitors I need to reach my income expectations.

      This will give me a better idea how much marketing I need to do and where and how to maximize it. I don't mind work, but I don't want to work THAT hard - like, 740,000 visitors a month worth.

      Sylvia
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      • Profile picture of the author lillyc
        Why not redesign the homepage, make more sales with less visitors and increase your revenue? I looked at your website and you could use a lot more content on your blog and make that the homepage. Then send people to your e-book page by using keyword content on your blog.
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        • Profile picture of the author sylviad
          Michael,

          My opt-in forms usually include a free report related to the topic, although I still have some old forms on my older sites that don't offer anything. But I'm not worrying about those at the moment. They aren't being marketed and aren't making money.

          Since I don't have free reports for all my newer sites, only 1-2 have such an offer to opt-in. But you make a good point - I should have the form on every page, not just the home page or on one article page.

          Oh, I do have the opt-in form in more than one place on several of my sites, but again, not on every page. Except one site I have it at the top left column with an offer that appears on every page automatically, but no one cares.

          I've a lot of work to do on all my older sites because the opt-ins are stale and uninspiring. I have about 15 opt-in forms all over the place and none are drawing sign-ups.

          Sylvia
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        • Profile picture of the author celente
          Originally Posted by lillyc View Post

          Why not redesign the homepage, make more sales with less visitors and increase your revenue? I looked at your website and you could use a lot more content on your blog and make that the homepage. Then send people to your e-book page by using keyword content on your blog.
          i would agree here. Its all about coversions.

          People are after more content these days. Quality stuff to help them. IF it does they usually come back and buy.
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        • Profile picture of the author sylviad
          Originally Posted by lillyc View Post

          Why not redesign the homepage, make more sales with less visitors and increase your revenue? I looked at your website and you could use a lot more content on your blog and make that the homepage. Then send people to your e-book page by using keyword content on your blog.
          Which site was that? I'm in the midst of making some changes to the second site in my sig file (if that's the one you mean) because the affiliate product offers changed. That site actually was doing well until they dropped the product. I'm still deciding how to reorganize it.

          The first site in my sig doesn't have a blog, nor does the last one. These are not the sites I'm talking about.

          Sylvia
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  • Profile picture of the author TryBPO
    (Dollar amount you'd like to make) / (Dollar amount you get per sale) = Sales Needed

    (Sales Needed) / (Sales Conversion % i.e. .01, .015, etc.) = Number of Click to affiliate site you need

    (Number of clicks to affiliate site needed) / (Your clickthrough rate to affiliate site i.e. .20, .30, etc.) = Amount of traffic to your site needed

    (Amount of traffic to your site needed) / (Clickthrough on the SERP i.e. .4 for #1, .25 for #2, etc.) = Number of searches that need to be done per month
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  • Profile picture of the author sylviad
    Originally Posted by ncmedia View Post

    Unfortunately there are way too many variables and change that occur from product to product, and skill set to skill set, for there to be any real sense on this equation for you. Some averages as above at best imo.

    I get 9-10K uniques/day on one money site and clear 50-100 sales every single day. Other sites I get 50K uniques for the month and get 12 sales/month (as a vendor). Affiliate pages even with high CTR can still yield all kinds of various results, and then one quick change of a header or call to action or a vendor doing so to the money page, and bamm you double your conversions, so it's never normalized or standardized.

    You could theoretically go direct, pay good money on adwords/media buy with a perfectly matched publisher, and get 74 sales in one day paying $1/click and getting 500 clicks. Or you could lose $476.xx and make one sale too... This is unfortunately the beauty and beast of conversion mastering for both vendor and affiliate. Once you match up well though, and have a peaked campaign, scale that like never before and aim for 740 sales, a day.
    Your figures pretty much tell me exactly what's wrong with my sites - they don't get nearly that many visits. Without visits I don't get opt-ins or sales. None of my sites have ever broken the 5,000 visits per month barrier, and clearly I need AT LEAST that many per DAY.

    I'd never do AdWords - based on my past poor success rate. I've run ads and never made a dime. I couldn't get the impressions up at the price I was willing to "waste" on PPC. I say 'waste', because there's no guarantee and if you're not getting results (clicks, sales or otherwise), it's waste. It always amazes me to hear people talk about how "easy" and "fast" it is to make money with a good PPC campaign. It's been the exact opposite.

    I was making regular sales with 2 of my sites, but then almost overnight, it all stopped and I haven't been able to gain it back. A large part is my own fault for not marketing efficiently and regularly, as I discovered in reading Alexa's and other Warrior posts.

    But thank you for sharing. While I can't help feeling jealous of your figures, they also encourage me, just when I'm feeling tired of the struggle and about to give up. There may be hope for me yet.

    Sylvia
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  • Profile picture of the author TPFLegionaire
    Hi Sylvia,

    In order to find out what your visitor are actually doing on your website , you could use the following tool:

    Pricing & Signup for ClickTale

    Their free plans should be enough for you to get a feel for what's up with your visitors.
    Disclosure: I am an affiliate of theirs, so obviously no affiliate link in the above

    best of success!
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    • Profile picture of the author TryBPO
      @TPFLegionaire

      Good recommendation! I LOVE Clicktale and used them in another life, but completely forgot about it! I have a need for them soon so will bookmark and get back to them...definitely a good resource.
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  • Profile picture of the author TryBPO
    What's the problem with a pop-up if they're leaving the site, aside from being a tad bit sleazy? For many of my sites I KNOW they're not going to be returning visitors (If I DID have returning visitors, I would understand the interest in not blocking their leaving the site) and so I don't see how it would be that bad of a thing.
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