Top of Google & Page 1 Placement Doesn't Get the Phone To Ring or Increase Traffic

37 replies
It's very frustrating!

How many times have you gotten to the top of Google, Yahoo, & Bing in a particular niche and it offers absolutely NO VALUE to your bottom line or even increase your sites traffic?

On one hand, logic and research would make you think that dominating the search engines would bring in more business and/or site traffic. We've read the research, listened to the claims, and bought the WSO's and other 'guru' ebooks and courses. You know the numbers, right?

On the other hand, it just doesn't get the phone to ring or the orders to come in or in my case increase my site traffic.

For example, I recently launched a site and quickly got on page one of Google, Yahoo, and Bing for my search term. I bought the keyword loaded domain name for two years as the icing on the cake for my niche. The keyword gets 74,000 monthly global searches.

Being on page one of the top three major search engines hasn't even caused me to have more site traffic. There's been no major traffic spike or even a mild increase to account for being on page one. I'm using AWStats on my server and Google Analytics to measure the results.

Don't get me wrong, I know I need to add article marketing, press release marketing, etc. to my marketing mix. So, I don't plan to totally rely on page one placement as my all inclusive traffic solution, but it should have had at least some impact.

To date, I have zero impact on my sites traffic or revenue for that matter.

I'm not trying to put a damper on anyone's SEO career here, but so far the results speak for themselves.

Is it even worth it anymore to ensure that you're at the top of the search engines?

My bottom line doesn't think so.
#google #increase #page #phone #placement #ring #top #traffic
  • Profile picture of the author Gaz Cooper
    Is the 74,000 exact searches or is it a broad search ?? If its a broad search there is a very good chance when you do an exact that number will drop dramatically which means you will be getting potentially a lot less traffic than you expected.

    Gaz Cooper
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  • Profile picture of the author Kevin Riley
    Originally Posted by marketingrep4u View Post

    Is it even worth it anymore to ensure that you're at the top of the search engines?

    My bottom line doesn't think so.
    It's not worth it to get in front of people if what you're presenting doesn't convert. Getting traffic is only part of the equation. Conversion is the other.

    So, if you're getting to the top of Google, but the listing that appears there does not grab a searcher's attention and make them want to click through, your listing isn't converting. I've seen many a top ranked result on Google that is vanilla bland and doesn't compel you to go to the site.

    Therefore, I'd take a close look at your website's page title first and what it is offering Google searchers.
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  • Profile picture of the author mosthost
    For all intents and purposes, the Google ship has long ago sailed away. Real time traffic is more exciting that SERPs these days for many.
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    • Profile picture of the author Michael Shook
      True enough, you have to be selling something that somebody wants in a way that makes them want it more.

      If someone was at the top of the list for something like Chinese horoscopes, they might make less money than someone else with a steady position 5 or 6 for free insurance quotes.
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    • Profile picture of the author marketingrep4u
      Originally Posted by mosthost View Post

      For all intents and purposes, the Google ship has long ago sailed away. Real time traffic is more exciting that SERPs these days for many.
      How would you generate 'Real time traffic' and please define the term from your point of view?
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  • Profile picture of the author website12
    Banned
    This is crazy I have made a full time income for 4 years. With affiliate websites were I get most of my traffic with seo.
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  • Profile picture of the author Fermina
    I am curious also if the 74k searches are broad?
    And as Kevin has stated getting the traffic is different from getting conversions
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  • Profile picture of the author MissLauraCatella
    What spot are you in on the first page?

    For nearly all intents and purposes, top 3 are all that matter.
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  • Profile picture of the author SocialMediaOwls
    Before you run out and spend time getting top 10...you may want to research what converts and what doesn't.

    I just had someone email me an hour ago and they told me they found my GiftAuto product on ShareASale and they wanted to know what the conversion was on the product. He was bragging to me that he was number 5 for "facebook games" and then he started belly aching that he wasn't making a cent...
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  • Profile picture of the author flowbee77
    Originally Posted by marketingrep4u View Post

    It's very frustrating!

    How many times have you gotten to the top of Google, Yahoo, & Bing in a particular niche and it offers absolutely NO VALUE to your bottom line or even increase your sites traffic?

    On one hand, logic and research would make you think that dominating the search engines would bring in more business and/or site traffic. We've read the research, listened to the claims, and bought the WSO's and other 'guru' ebooks and courses. You know the numbers, right?

    On the other hand, it just doesn't get the phone to ring or the orders to come in or in my case increase my site traffic.

    For example, I recently launched a site and quickly got on page one of Google, Yahoo, and Bing for my search term. I bought the keyword loaded domain name for two years as the icing on the cake for my niche. The keyword gets 74,000 monthly global searches.

    Being on page one of the top three major search engines hasn't even caused me to have more site traffic. There's been no major traffic spike or even a mild increase to account for being on page one. I'm using AWStats on my server and Google Analytics to measure the results.

    Don't get me wrong, I know I need to add article marketing, press release marketing, etc. to my marketing mix. So, I don't plan to totally rely on page one placement as my all inclusive traffic solution, but it should have had at least some impact.

    To date, I have zero impact on my sites traffic or revenue for that matter.

    I'm not trying to put a damper on anyone's SEO career here, but so far the results speak for themselves.

    Is it even worth it anymore to ensure that you're at the top of the search engines?

    My bottom line doesn't think so.
    This is true. Just because you are on Page One it does not mean all of the visitors you get are buyers.

    Some people are so obsessed with Page One that they don't take the time to do anything else.

    All you have to do is see the WSO section. Every other WSO is about getting to Page One through backlinks, etc.

    For once I would like to see a WSO on "getting you 3,000 buyers" as opposed to "getting you 3,000 visitors" Now that would be NICE!
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    • Profile picture of the author marketingrep4u
      Originally Posted by flowbee77 View Post

      This is true. Just because you are on Page One it does not mean all of the visitors you get are buyers.

      Some people are so obsessed with Page One that they don't take the time to do anything else.

      All you have to do is see the WSO section. Every other WSO is about getting to Page One through backlinks, etc.

      For once I would like to see a WSO on "getting you 3,000 buyers" as opposed to "getting you 3,000 visitors" Now that would be NICE!
      AMEN!!! Anyone have any suggestions on this one?
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      • Profile picture of the author myob
        I agree with Kevin Riley. The problem could be that your copy itself is not converting. You can test this easily by driving traffic with paid media such as solo ads, and in the future consider checking conversions before spending the time and effort for ranking. Something is definitely amiss that you are not even getting traffic.
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      • Profile picture of the author flowbee77
        Originally Posted by marketingrep4u View Post

        AMEN!!! Anyone have any suggestions on this one?
        There is always a misconception that 1,000 visitors can be "converted" into buyers; this is not true. Therefore you get responses like "you are doing something wrong."

        Think about this. That's like saying that a random 1,000 "people on the street" are just as good as a random 1,000 "people at the mall"; people at the mall are buyers, people on the street are not. (bad example I know but you get the idea)

        What you want are "buyers"; you can make much more money on google page 40 from actual "buyers" than google page 1 from junk "visitors".
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        • Profile picture of the author Mark Andrews
          Banned
          What is the long tail keyword you are targeting?

          And what is your website address?

          It could be that you're simply missing your target market by a mile.

          Real traffic definition... is simply your precise target audience.

          If you're not reaching these people, hitting their emotional hot buying buttons, if you're not providing them with the exact solution they need right now providing the perfect solution to their feelings of frustration and pain i.e. their problem, if you're missing this at all at any stage of the process you aren't going to get the sales you want.

          It would be helpful if you provided more information...
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          • Profile picture of the author shock_s
            One of my niche sites moved up to page 1 from page 2 and 3 for 4 keywords. Traffic is up about 70%. As Kevin mentioned, it could be the keywords. It could also have something to do with your site description. Some niches have lots of searches and few buyers. You have to pull the visitors to something they want to see.
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  • Profile picture of the author mookinman
    Are you absolutely sure you're at number 1? Try searching from another computer in a different location, you might get a nasty surprise!
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  • Profile picture of the author Cee
    If you want to make sure what your search position really is and you have firefox you can download a free plugin search position checker called Ronk Checker (yes it's spelled with an o). This checks your websites search rank on google, yahoo and bing.
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  • Profile picture of the author chimehost
    Maybe you are looking at the numbers the wrong way -

    Go to Google keyword tool, search for the keyword, use exact and look at the local volume

    Take that number and divide it by 3. After that take that number and lets say CTR rate in google.com at 15% for ranking 2-3 position. After that you have to worry about conversion.

    For example -

    30,000 local searches for exact term

    30,000 / 3 = 10000

    10,000 x 15 % CTR = 1500 visits

    1500 visitors x 3-4% conversion = around 50 buyers

    It's just an example but many factors can play a role. If your site is really optimized, you can get higher conversion rate. If your meta tag, title is catchy, you can get more users clicking on your website in Google.
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  • Profile picture of the author AVLopez
    It really depends on how many searches are exact match to your keyword. If the over is 70,000 but the exact is 100, then your not going to see anything.
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  • Profile picture of the author Andyhenry
    This is the reason you need to do research before wasting time on seo. A lot of people confuse rankings with traffic and sales and don't do their keyword research properly.

    I always run some PPC campaigns for any new keywords to see which ones actually get traffic and convert into buyers BEFORE spending time trying to rank organically for them.

    It's often surprising which ones are a waste of time that looked good just based on keyword research numbers.
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  • Profile picture of the author Tsnyder
    Post the url and keyword you targeted.

    I'm willing to bet that the only computer your site shows
    up at the top on is your own.
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    If you knew what I know you'd be doing what I do...
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    • Profile picture of the author ExploringInfinity
      LOL

      I think you should quit at SEO then if you get ranked #1 for a keyword with 74,000 searches and you can't get a few clicks to your search result page?

      bahhaah.

      Learn PPC.
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      • Profile picture of the author Fraggler
        Originally Posted by ExploringInfinity View Post

        bahhaah.
        Constructive?

        marketingrep4u, take a step back and find out the source of the traffic problem. First thing I would do is load up Google Webmaster Tools and see exactly how many impressions you are getting from the search engines. Check the location of these searches and see if you made a mistake with calculating the numbers.

        If the impressions are there but the click through rate isn't then I would have a think about what that traffic is looking for and what you are providing in your headline and description.

        As was mentioned before, you can run a Adwords campaign to test the market and search numbers before committing a lot of time and money into SEO efforts if you aren't quite sure.

        Having a whinge when they problem has nothing to do with Google won't help you fix the problem. Analyse it properly and either adapt or move on.
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    • Profile picture of the author smith33122
      Originally Posted by Tsnyder View Post

      Post the url and keyword you targeted.

      I'm willing to bet that the only computer your site shows
      up at the top on is your own.
      I learned this the hard way and got very over excited - If you are signed into your Google account you will allways be at position 1.

      Sign out of Google and see if this makes a change to your position
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  • Profile picture of the author seoanalytic806
    Banned
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    • Profile picture of the author RashmiP
      My findings are also same. Some of my website's keywords are in no.1 position in global US server, but not getting that much traffic expected.
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  • Profile picture of the author Sue Bush
    This is true. I have do like this some times, but every time, I couldn't find what I want to have from them. My website never found in the No. 1 page.
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  • Profile picture of the author sbucciarel
    Banned
    Originally Posted by marketingrep4u View Post

    It's very frustrating!

    How many times have you gotten to the top of Google, Yahoo, & Bing in a particular niche and it offers absolutely NO VALUE to your bottom line or even increase your sites traffic?
    If the keyword you're targeting is not a buying keyword or if your content doesn't convert, getting to the top of Google will make no difference. It's only one part of the equation.
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    • Profile picture of the author Fraggler
      Originally Posted by sbucciarel View Post

      If the keyword you're targeting is not a buying keyword or if your content doesn't convert, getting to the top of Google will make no difference. It's only one part of the equation.
      Absolutely. The OP seems to be struggling to get traffic though so I think this is a case of not understanding the Google search numbers and maybe some other things like seeing personalised search results.

      Combine a buying keyword with good correct search numbers and you will be on your way to seeing an increase in leads. Once you have the quality traffic you can work on the coversion side of things.
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    • Profile picture of the author warrior4life
      Originally Posted by sbucciarel View Post

      If the keyword you're targeting is not a buying keyword or if your content doesn't convert, getting to the top of Google will make no difference. It's only one part of the equation.

      Fully Agree with you on this one. I have seen lots of people getting on Google page 1, but whatever they are offering doesn't convert. So one should be very cautious when it comes to ranking on google page 1 and converting that traffic into buyers. That's what you really want.
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  • Profile picture of the author George Phillip
    The one thing about ranking #1 for a keyword is you have to look at impression share and click through rate for each positions. That will give you a better indication of how much you will get from a #1 ranking.
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  • Profile picture of the author sloanjim
    yeah agree 100% I even wrote about it coupleof weeks ago in the offline section. I got amny sites to number 1 and they told me they got 1 or 2 calls a month form it..many nothing. Yet the offliners keep telling me this can't be....their phone should be rinig off the hook.

    I am guessing this is why many offline biz have ben burnt. Thry paid a lot of money got to 1 on google then nohing happens.

    I agree it works in some niches a lot better than others I for one cannot see why anyone would search for a restaurant online but many offliners burnt me of this remark. Begs the question does SEO really work for offline biz?
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  • Profile picture of the author lacraiger
    wrong niche...
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  • Profile picture of the author shuvo
    If this keyword did not work for you.Then choose another set of keywords with more competition and get place for them.Its always better to work with a set of keywords as it ensures its profit.
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  • If you want to make sales you need to make sure you are in front of people at the right time in the buying cycle... i.e. when they have done all their research and are ready to buy. You also need to be in a niche that buys!

    This has everything to do with research and the long tail keywords that you choose. Better to have 74 people visit your website that are ready to buy rather than 74,000 browsers.

    Next thing is look at your website... why is it not converting? What is the bounce rate like? You need to look at these things carefully and then split test until you find the answers.
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    • Profile picture of the author ExRat
      Hi,

      Do any of you read Aaron Wall? If not, why not?!!

      Read this post and you'll see how being number 1 in Google doesn't even guarantee that you'll appear above the fold in the SERPs.
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      Roger Davis

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  • Profile picture of the author George Phillip
    Picking buyer keywords is also very important. Make sure you target people who are in the "buying" stage of the sales cycle.
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  • Profile picture of the author Karen Barr
    Go to Scroogle.org and search your keyword from there. You may not be anywhere as near the top as you think.
    I would also re-check your search volume with the keyword tool. Google made some changes to the keyword logic a while ago. It was showing much higher volumes for some keywords than they were actually pulling. And double-check you are looking at exact match, not broad!
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