Clickbank hops vs sales

17 replies
I'm starting to wonder how many hops I need.

Recently on CB, I've been promoting what I think are good products. Yesterday I had 56 hops (according to the hops per day graph on CB).

Normally, according to the stats, you should make a sale every 120 hops or so right?

So if I make around 120 hops per day spread over several products, then 1 sale per day should be realistic expectations. If I have 240 hops then perhaps I can expect to have 2 CB sales and so on.

Everyone with me so far?

I'm just wondering why I'm getting a few hops but recently, sales are way lower.

Can I count on the CB stats?

Also, if I get a low conversion rate (high hops and low sales) then would you recommend promoting products with:

a) higher gravity

OR

b) lower return rate with reasonable gravity

Any ideas appreciated.:confused:
#clickbank #hops #sales
  • Profile picture of the author JRemington
    Just found some good info posts on CB gravity, so no need to answer me about that point.

    But hops vs sales..anyone? How many hops do you get vs sales per day..
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  • Profile picture of the author UMS
    It obviously varies depending on the product you are promoting, but in general a 1% conversion rate is about average.
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  • Profile picture of the author outwest
    1 percent conversion rate to me is damn good, not saying its not average but if you compare that to Adult, its damn good
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    • Profile picture of the author JRemington
      Originally Posted by outwest View Post

      1 percent conversion rate to me is damn good, not saying its not average but if you compare that to Adult, its damn good
      Ok so maybe it could be 0.75% too.

      At least I know that each 150 or so hops I should get a sale, if I'm promoting a decent product.

      Makes things a lot clearer and also makes sense to concentrate on fewer products.
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    • Profile picture of the author h978886
      Very much depends on a variety of factors, i.e. system, quality of optins, follow up, industry, etc.
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  • Profile picture of the author UMS
    It's also worth pointing out that you can't really get any meaningful stats or trends until you have around 1000 hops. Any less than that, then you may see too much fluctuation to get a good idea as to how well the product is really converting.
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  • Profile picture of the author JRemington
    Originally Posted by Chris Kent View Post

    If you get a low conversion rate, how do you know the product is at fault?

    There are many other factors involved. It could be that your approach to the niche is all wrong, it could be poor marketing skills, it could be anything.

    If you show me your promotion in private I am happy to give you my quick 2 cents.
    Thanks Chris but I can't PM yet. I think I need more traffic and then I'll see how well I'm converting or not.
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  • Profile picture of the author majay
    I also agree that a 1% conversion rate is very good.By the way why not try out focusing on one product
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    Its all about Kenya ,all the time

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  • Profile picture of the author Alexa Smith
    Banned
    Originally Posted by UMS View Post

    It's also worth pointing out that you can't really get any meaningful stats or trends until you have around 1000 hops. Any less than that, then you may see too much fluctuation to get a good idea as to how well the product is really converting.
    This ^^^ ... exactly.

    The variation (standard deviation) is very high, and the lower the conversion-rate is, the higher the variation is, and exponentially rather than linearly so. You need at least 1,000 hops before you can measure anything significantly and reliably.

    And attributing causation to "not enough sales" is a whole other story again. There are at least 11 or 12 possible reasons for that, and the likeliest scenario is, in any case, that the true cause is some combination of them in proportions which can't necessarily be worked out reliably anyway ... sorry to sound negative about it, but "discovering the cause" in such situations is almost always rather more complicated than one expects it to be.

    Originally Posted by JRemington View Post

    if I get a low conversion rate (high hops and low sales) then would you recommend promoting products with:

    a) higher gravity

    OR

    b) lower return rate with reasonable gravity
    Neither.

    I declare some authorial bias but I recommend two things ...

    (i) Read carefully this post about product-selection;

    (ii) Read carefully this post from an hour or so ago and especially this detailed and example-illustrated explanation of "gravity".

    I hope they help.
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    • Profile picture of the author JRemington
      Originally Posted by Alexa Smith View Post

      This ^^^ ... exactly.

      The variation (standard deviation) is very high, and the lower the conversion-rate is, the higher the variation is, and exponentially rather than linearly so. You need at least 1,000 hops before you can measure anything significantly and reliably.

      And attributing causation to "not enough sales" is a whole other story again. There are at least 11 or 12 possible reasons for that, and the likeliest scenario is, in any case, that the true cause is some combination of them in proportions which can't necessarily be worked out reliably anyway ... sorry to sound negative about it, but "discovering the cause" in such situations is almost always rather more complicated than one expects it to be.



      Neither.

      I declare some authorial bias but I recommend two things ...

      (i) Read carefully this post about product-selection;

      (ii) Read carefully this post from an hour or so ago and especially this detailed and example-illustrated explanation of "gravity".

      I hope they help.
      Just read your post from beforehand, very interesting.

      Appreciate it a lot everyone who replied, I'm having a hard day
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  • Profile picture of the author JRemington
    Also, what you're all saying about the 1000 hops part is that you need plenty of traffic to get there before you start analyzing stats right?

    Say I write 5 good articles on my site about my niche. Keywords are already researched and looking good.

    My writing skills are fine, I optimize my articles for SEO and so on. I submit the articles to directories afterwards.

    I include 2 links in each of the 5 articles to my great new CB affiliate product. Now my CTR is about 1 in 5 interested readers.

    From every 120 of those who click, 1 buys the product.

    So for me to get 1 sale or 120 hops per day, I need:

    120 x 5 = 600 (CTR rate is 0.2)

    600 total interested uniques over my 5 well written articles, or 120 uniques reading each article per day.

    If this is the case, I think I need to drill down on one product before promoting another. I just don't have enough focused traffic on the best articles.
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    • Profile picture of the author Alexa Smith
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      Originally Posted by JRemington View Post

      Say I write 5 good articles on my site about my niche. Keywords are already researched and looking good.

      My writing skills are fine, I optimize my articles for SEO and so on. I submit the articles to directories afterwards.
      This all sounds good.

      Originally Posted by JRemington View Post

      I include 2 links in each of the 5 articles to my great new CB affiliate product.
      You're not doing this in the article directory copies of the articles, though, I hope? The links in those are links to your landing page, and you're building a list with a prominently incentivised opt-in on your landing page, surely?
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      • Profile picture of the author JRemington
        Originally Posted by Alexa Smith View Post

        This all sounds good.



        You're not doing this in the article directory copies of the articles, though, I hope? The links in those are links to your landing page, and you're building a list with a prominently incentivised opt-in on your landing page, surely?
        Yes Alexa, my list is my main weapon here. I have a good opt-in rate and I've set up my autoresponders.

        But I hope to get sales from people browsing too. The kind that refuse to put their email address in anywhere, ever.

        So my idea is that for anyone coming across my site(s) randomly, at least some will convert. Or even those that I send to read my articles using my list, some of those will convert too.

        I don't know what everyone's experience is with getting conversions directly from their site vs conversions from their list, but from what I gather (and you may agree), the list rules.
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  • Profile picture of the author daveyace
    i don't think you could ever be accurate with it because who knows how targeted your traffic is?
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  • Profile picture of the author website design
    If your sending crappy tricked traffic from unrelated pages then sales will be low. Impossible to say but you could be looking at 1 in 300 or 1 in 1000.

    Second factor is the conversion rate of the product you're promoting. Some sites convert better than others and it's best to find out the stats before investing heavily in promoting an offer. Most Publishers show this rate.

    If you find a high converting product with a killer sales page 1% would be probable.
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  • Profile picture of the author GeorgR.
    While you can "kind of" count on stats and averages, its really not an exact science, rather estimates. Fluctuations and exceptions are always possible.

    CB stats make only sense observing them over a long time, like months....and even then it still can happen that occasionally there are days in a row without sales which i cannot explain. (For example the last week was bad for me)
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