Will deleting account also delete all threads by that member?

5 replies
Will deleting account also delete all threads by that member? Is it even possible to delete an WF account?
#account #delete #deleting #member #threads
  • Profile picture of the author tpw
    It depends on where you want to delete a member.

    There are a couple ways to handle deletions here at the forum.

    Ban does not delete all of the posts by someone, but instead, labels their profile name banned on all of their posts.

    Maybe a forum mod can answer about deleting a profile, but I think deleted profiles may get all posts by that person erased.
    Signature
    Bill Platt, Oklahoma USA, PlattPublishing.com
    Publish Coloring Books for Profit (WSOTD 7-30-2015)
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[4218742].message }}
    • Profile picture of the author Alexa Smith
      Banned
      Originally Posted by tpw View Post

      I think deleted profiles may get all posts by that person erased.
      They can do either ... delete the person and the posts in their entirety, or terminate the account but leave the posts on the board, in which case their username on their existing posts will appear only in small black lettering, accompanied by the word "guest" (I think they do this only rarely - when needing to ban permanently someone whose posts/threads are actually of sufficient value to want to retain them ... though I can think of one striking example it's really not often both those criteria will arise together).
      {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[4218784].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author RobCopywriter
    Best thing to do is just leave the account and not worry about it? Why would you need your posts to be deleted?
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[4326500].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author sbucciarel
    Banned
    My guess is that you could contact the help desk and request that your account be deleted and all posts deleted as well. Not sure you can do that any other way.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[4326804].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author Paul Myers
    No. Deleting an account leaves the associated posts intact, but changes the username to Guest.

    Banning is a different thing, and can have any of a number of different results.


    Paul
    Signature
    .
    Stop by Paul's Pub - my little hangout on Facebook.

    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[4326905].message }}

Trending Topics