Email marketing open rates and CTR rates?

3 replies
Hi Warriors,

Many marketer say that one subscriber's worth is 1$/month.So if I have a list of 1000 subscribers,I would expect around $1000 per month.

Lets say i have 1000 subscibers and sending them email 3 times a week.This makes 12 times in a month.

1000 * 12= 12000.

Lets say Open rate 20% (Average open rate for Marketing)

12000 * 20 / 100 = 2400

Lets say Average CTR 20%;

2400 * 20 / 100 = 480 people clicks to your link.

Average Conservion rate of your product is 8%.

480 * 8 / 100 = 38.

Product value is $15 (Average for different products you promote) so;

I would expect 38 * 15 = $570 for the whole month.

So what is your statistics? $1 per lead seems a little bit high.

Maybe increasing products price may solve the problem but this time conversion rates may decrease.
#ctr #email #marketing #open #rates
  • Profile picture of the author Neil AM
    It doesn't really help much to think 'an extra subscriber is worth $1/month to me' - you'd be better off thinking 'every subscriber on my list SHOULD be worth $1/month to me - how can I make that happen?'

    This could mean better copy, bigger sales chains, subscriptions, more affiliate promotions... there's all sorts of ways you can monetize a subscriber list.

    Btw, I've not heard the $1/month figure before - it was probably just pulled out of the air by someone and it's stuck around. Much like how 84.7% of statistics are made up on the spot. Decide what you want or need to make from your subscribers to make your business work, and then work out ways to get that value.
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  • Profile picture of the author Jamie Hudson
    Yeah, that statistic probably wasn't originated from hard evidence.

    I always base my maths on making $1 per click I send to a sales page. So in order to make a thousand a month from 1000 subscribers, you need to send 1000 clicks.

    To do this you first need a product that gets an EPC of $1. Let's say we are promoting affiliate products. So to get 1000 clicks...

    I would say each email should get a 30% open rate and a 50% click through rate. I always get high click through rates when using 4 links per email and short emails. So each email gets 300 opens...

    And 150 clicks per mailing... That means you need to mail 6.6 times per month to make one grand.

    I would have 1 list where you do it that way just promoting lots of products.

    Then I would have another list where 2-3 emails promotes one product. So you might do 2-3 promos a month on solid products. You provide pre-launch type content, reports, videos of you, reviews and so on.

    The trick is to give away cool stuff whenever you send a promo email and to tell stories.
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    • Profile picture of the author LegionNate
      [QUOTE=I always base my maths on making $1 per click I send to a sales page. So in order to make a thousand a month from 1000 subscribers, you need to send 1000 clicks.[/QUOTE]

      Crazy! I'd never heard this one before, so I checked my two main websites for the month of April to date and sure enough, I've earned about $1 in profit per visitor. Neither site is IM related either; one dropship and one lead generation in a professional field. Very interesting.

      Edit: Why am I dumb and can't quote someone properly?
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