That said, here's why I think conversion rate is highly overrated.
On it's face, if Product A has a 5% conversion and Product B has a 3% conversion, you'd rather promote Product A, correct? It's a no-brainer right - because you'd make more money?
What really matters is how much you will make from sending 100 or 1,000 visitors to the offer. You have to consider the price and payout.
For example, I got an email the other day from my partner saying that the conversion on our recent launch was not that great to start. It was "just 1.3%" he said.
At face value 1.3% seems low, but when you consider that we're paying JV partners a recurring $100 per sale/ per month, the conversion rate is actually killer. That's 1.3 sales for every 100 clicks. That means that they were making about $130 for every 100 targeted visitors they sent. If you consider that it's recurring commissions, if their referrals stay on 3 months, just 100 clicks could produce over $300.
I don't know about you, but I'll take that any day of the week.
So, I think the lesson is, don't just make decisions based on conversion rate - it's highly overrated.