Over the last several months I have been using a Direct Mail Campaign (I probably just lost half of you but bare with me, its cheaper than you think!) that has gotten me an average of 30 new business clients for my offline marketing company each and every month!
I could have released this info as a WSO but I decided to release it free to you guys in the hopes that some of you actually take action instead of trolling the Offline Section doing nothing productive.
All of the links in this thread are non affiliate links! Just links to the services I personally use and would recommend to others.
You can check out my other case studies here:
[Another Case Study] Even More successful than my last!
This is not a thread discussing how to provide offline services of Text Message Marketing. If you wish to discuss how to provide those services see my thread here How I made $200,000 in the last 12 months, all your questions answered!
The Direct Mail Campaign that I used was inspired by many sources on the WF and I will be giving full credit and links where credit is due! Thank you WF you have made my a ton of money and I am just hoping to give some back, so others can do the same.
I will start with the results as that is what you are most interest in I am sure.
NOTE: This can easily be scaled down or up depending on your budget.
I started out mailing these postcards 150 a week for 4 weeks.
This totaled 600 postcards mailed.
Cost of 600 postcards printed and mailed = $270
I split tested two campaigns (as you will learn about below) but I averaged a 10% response rate.
600 * 10% = 60 responses
Out of those 60 responses I ended up with 45 meetings. And out of those 45 meetings I signed 30 new clients at an average of $150 a piece (monthly).
$150 monthly * 30 clients = $4500 monthly Income
$4500 monthly income - $270 cost of mailer = $4230 first month profit
Reoccurring Monthly Profit $4500
I just took my $1 and turns it into $15!
Read below on how you can achieve this too. Keep in mind this was for a simple SMS marketing campaign, I can easily upsell more expensive services now that I have gotten them actual results.
We are going to be targeting the Restauraunt Niche with this walk through but this can be easily adapted for any niche.
Step 1. The List
There are 2 ways to get a mailing list of businesses, you can either buy it or collect yourself.
When you are first starting out you can collect it your self, I would do this by going to Google Maps and searching for "niche + city name".
Then just copy and paste the Mailing Info into excel of all the restaurants. This takes awhile, but if you can know out 20 or 30 of them in 15 mins. There are scrapers around that do this but I have never used one.
THe second way is to buy a list. Personally I use Unlimited Sales Leads & Mailing Lists | infofree.com (not affiliate link) it costs $49.95 a month however if you buy Bob Ross's WSO Direct Mail Cash Machine (not an affiliate link) then you get a discount for half off making it $24.95 a month. This is a great and easy to use list buying service that I highly recommend if you are in need.
Step 2 The Postcard
That's right I used post cards! I do use letters and usually personally prefer them buy for the ad copy I used postcards were the only way to go. Now I split tested 2 different call to actions (CTA). The first redirected to a personalized link/webpage with a video and contact form. The second was a straight Call Me with phone # CTA.
I split my mailing list in half and mailed half using one CTA and half using the other. I got surprising results. The Post Card with the URL/Link CTA had a much lower response rate but the leads were RED HOT and were guaranteed sales. The Call Me CTA got more responses however the conversion to sale rate was much lower. After I ran the campaigns I analyzed the monetary results and they actually came out pretty even as far as ROI from both CTA's. I recommend doing 50-50 as the URL/Link leads are easy money and give you nice bits of encouragement when a sales meeting doesn't go as planned.
Ok now how to actually do both of the methods:
Method 1) Personalized URL/Link
The principle behind this is we are sending the prospect a URL/Link to go to that has their personal business name in it. It peaks their curiosity and they are much more likely to go take a look.
I can not take credit for this fasbulously simple bit of ad copy the credit goes to Jgregory in the I Love Direct Mail! Do you? thread. I highly suggest reading through the whole thing, TONS of great info.
Here is a picture of an example postcard:
It is a very simple yet powerful message that hits the heart of every restaurant owner. And the single CTA of the personalized link makes for a very hard to resist combo.
The link sends the business owner to a web page that is customized with his business name all over it, along with a sales video and a contact form. The leads that I get from this are ultra buyer ready owners because they have watched the video and are interested in starting their SMS campaigns now!
To cover how to create personalized web pages is beyond the scope of this thread. However a new WSO has come out (I am not the author/owner/affiliate/or in anyway associated with it)that does all of this for you turn key. Here is the link
Method 2) Call Me CTA
Method 2 is much simpler in that the call to action is for the owner to simply call you.
Here is a pic of a sample card.
Both of these card are ULTRA simple but with postcards, simple is better.
Now I know a lot of you are afraid of talking to owners on the phone but with this method there is no reason to be scared. Remember they are calling you, they realize they have a problem, they are asking you to help them!
When they call say something along these lines:
You: "Hello, (Your Business Name) this is (Your Name)"
Owner: Hi, this is, Bob, I'm the owner of (restaurant) I got your postcard in the mail and was interested in how your bringing in customers
You: We use a variety of methods to put customers in your seats and spending money. The best way for me to explain would be to simply show you, do you have 5 minutes to sit down with me?
They will either say yes or will try and get more info out of you. Just reinforce that it would be easier for everyone if you simply showed him and get that appointment. NEVER SELL THE PRODUCT ON THE PHONE!!! You are selling the appointment on the phone not your product.
Step 3 Printing
I printed the postcards myself on my home printer. I bought prefforated postcard paper from Paper Direct
You can buy 100 for 12.99 which comes out to about $0.13 each.
You want to use replace the restaurants in the ad copy with your own local examples and us mail merge to create the URL/Link CTA as well as the mailing info needed.
Step 4 Mailing
Mail them first class, for a postcard this costs $0.32 each. I started out mailing 50 a week and have scaled it up since.
Take action and this absolutely works! Just mail out 25-50 a week this costs about $20 a week and will provide you with 10-15 fresh leads each and every week!