Conversion rates

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If I'm buying 100 clicks that results in 400 opt ins and 4 sales, what would you say the conversion rate is? 4/1000= 0.4% or 4/400=1.0%?

I'm not sure why you wouldn't count the 300 since you have to pay for them and they are part of your funnel and should be included.

You could also send 1,000 clicks get 1 opt in and 1 sale and then say your page converts at 100%. I'd venture to say no one would agree to that.

I've never heard of anyone using only sales page views to determine conversion. Who else uses this method?

Would you consider this campaign successful if the sale was $47? Assume 0.36 per click
#pay per click/search engine marketing (ppc/sem) #clicks or buys #conversion #rates
  • Not sure how that could happen..


    Why would this even matter to you? You do this to make money not to boast about conversion rates, right? The most important thing is if you make more money than you invest.

    If you pay 0.36 per click and only get one 47 dollar sale out of 1000 clicks then obviously you are losing a lot of money. It's really easy to calculate if the campaign is profitable or not. Of course, if you go for opt-ins then you need to also consider their lifetime value which you don't know but I assume you still want to earn the money that you invested back as soon as possible.
  • The campaign is successful if you reached your goals, if your goals were to test you page, or maybe make a certain amount, or convert at a certain rate. These could make it a sucsess.

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    If I'm buying 100 clicks that results in 400 opt ins and 4 sales, what would you say the conversion rate is? 4/1000= 0.4% or 4/400=1.0%? I'm not sure why you wouldn't count the 300 since you have to pay for them and they are part of your funnel and should be included.