Register Blogs Advertise with usHelp Desk Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 10th Mar 2010, 12:10 PM   #1
Internet Marketer
War Room Member
 
Join Date: 2009
Location: Madrid-Spain
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Blog Entries: 23
Default
Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi everybody;

I use: Steganos "internet security 12" as Antivirus, it is really good one, but the problem is it interfers with all my softwares and i have to be shutting down the firewall part of it to able to work with the softwares. Now, i wanted to know what known antivirus is good for working online and is softwares friendly??
I tried setting up changes in the firewal tools to set the sofwares as acceptable, it won't aplly.
So i am desperately looking for something good which will not interfere with my softwares and tools to work online.

Cheers,
Kanga is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10th Mar 2010, 12:45 PM   #2
Freelance Proofreader
War Room Member
 
Alan Mater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 1,562
Thanks: 55
Thanked 156 Times in 137 Posts
Blog Entries: 2
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi Kanga,

I use and recommend Avast Antivirus. It's free for personal use and is better than anything I've seen.

If you're looking specifically for a firewall, Zone Alarm offers a free version which works just fine.

Alan Mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10th Mar 2010, 03:58 PM   #3
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Kanga - something to consider is that after Windows XP version came out, Windows began to include their own firewall. It is automatically enabled - You might try going to your control panel and disabling it if you have another software firewall.

You should not need both and this might be why you are having interference.

I also have a router which is a hardware firewall - you can have 1 each software and hardware but should never have more than two firewalls total - this is according to both Dell Computer and Belkin (routers).

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10th Mar 2010, 07:59 PM   #4
Freelance Proofreader
War Room Member
 
Alan Mater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 1,562
Thanks: 55
Thanked 156 Times in 137 Posts
Blog Entries: 2
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Originally Posted by Patrician View Post

Kanga - something to consider is that after Windows XP version came out, Windows began to include their own firewall. It is automatically enabled - You might try going to your control panel and disabling it if you have another software firewall.

You should not need both and this might be why you are having interference.

I also have a router which is a hardware firewall - you can have 1 each software and hardware but should never have more than two firewalls total - this is according to both Dell Computer and Belkin (routers).
Good tips, Pat. I hadn't thought of those.

Alan Mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11th Mar 2010, 09:02 AM   #5
vanhoogy
 
vanhoogy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2009
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 52
Thanks: 30
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

I'm still a fan of Norton... use the minimal program to not slow down your system
vanhoogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11th Mar 2010, 09:28 AM   #6
Freelance Proofreader
War Room Member
 
Alan Mater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 1,562
Thanks: 55
Thanked 156 Times in 137 Posts
Blog Entries: 2
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Originally Posted by vanhoogy View Post

I'm still a fan of Norton... use the minimal program to not slow down your system
What do you mean by minimal? I assume if you're not using all the features then your computer is more vulnerable to viruses. That's one reason why I hate Norton so much... it slows the computer down so much.

There are better alternatives that actually catch more viruses and doesn't slow your computer down.

The fact is that there is not a single antivirus program that will 100% protect your computer from an attack.

Alan Mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11th Mar 2010, 12:07 PM   #7
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

I agree Alan -

Norton users get more viruses than any other program in the corporate world. It's almost like not having security.

I have never had anything serious using McAfee Security Suite for 20 years - and they update it almost every day automatically -

Of course lots of people hate it and I can remember in the past having loads of trouble with the size, uninstalling etc. - however I have to say there is never any problem with it anymore - and it comes free with Comcast ISP so that is nice too now.

I do use the free stuff to check up like every few weeks I run Malwarebytes, RootKitBuster and HijackThis - they never find anything so I guess McAfee really has it together - or I am just blessed!

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11th Mar 2010, 12:17 PM   #8
Freelance Proofreader
War Room Member
 
Alan Mater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 1,562
Thanks: 55
Thanked 156 Times in 137 Posts
Blog Entries: 2
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi Pat,

Running those free programs every now and then is a very good idea. In fact, the free stuff is all you need to protect your computer. However, as I said before, you can't really "protect" it, you can only do your best and use the programs to get rid of the viruses, malware, spyware, etc. once it's already in your computer.

Alan Mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12th Mar 2010, 02:52 PM   #9
Internet Marketer
War Room Member
 
Join Date: 2009
Location: Madrid-Spain
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Blog Entries: 23
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi Pat and Alan,
Thanks to both, and Pat i must say, you went straight to the nerve of this trouble.Again thanks.
Cheers,
Kanga is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 9th May 2010, 11:26 AM   #10
Warrior Member
 
Join Date: 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

I'm fan of Norton anti-virus but I use Free AVG it use the minimal system resource I recommend you AVG, you can download it from trust download (it is a free anti-virus)
Acom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 27th Jun 2010, 09:31 PM   #11
Warrior Member
 
Join Date: 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Re: Steganos antivirus "Firewall"
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Before I used AVG for that. But right now i using Avast anti virus, Avast is very nice anti virus. I had seen not any problem with using this anti virus before to formating my system but I was very tied for having a tough feature. But i like to use Avast anti virus, Its very easy to use.

Genius is an immense capacity for taking trouble.
alenmcmilan is offline   Reply With Quote


Bookmarks

Tags
antivirus, firewall, steganos


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 AM.