Register Blogs Advertise with usHelp Desk Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 25th May 2011, 10:40 AM   #1
YourHomeBizFriend
War Room Member
 
Anthony Jee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 36
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default
Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi Pipsters,

I recently tried to customize my pips site using Kompozer but failed to do so. I googled online looking for solution and what I found is that index.html is the file that we need to edit.

But the thing is I don't see any index.html in my pips file manager, the one that i have is only index.php.

Anyone knows how to solve this?

Regards
Anthony Jee
Anthony Jee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25th May 2011, 11:16 AM   #2
Article Marketer
War Room Member
 
Allen Lundy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2005
Location: Orange, Ca. , USA.
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 151
Thanked 274 Times in 187 Posts
Default
Re: Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Anthony,

I would be glad to help if I can, however:

The very FIRST place you should go is:

Plug-In Profit Site Help Desk


Pat can help you with virtually any issues. If you destroyed your site, she can restore it for you.

Working with a WPBlog is different than a basic HTML site. However, both are relatively easy to modify once you get the hang of it.

I commend you for taking the initiative to make modifications, however, the 1st golden rule is make sure you have a back up of your website or database BEFORE you attempt any changes.

Had you had a back up, you could have just uploaded your database back up and returned your site to it's former - premodified - condition.

NEVER work on your site unless you have it backed up. You'll save yourself a lot of anxiety and grief in the future.

Allen

Amazing Deals On Mens and Womens Jewelry - - Gies Jewelry Shop
Watches for all occasions -Gies Watch Shop
The latest in Cameras and Photography - Good Tyme Photography
Need a new phone or upgrade? - Gies Mobile Phones
Number 1 Source For Kids Toys & Games - Shop For Toys & Games
Allen Lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25th May 2011, 12:16 PM   #3
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
Stephen Meyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2007
Location: Ada,OK , USA.
Posts: 1,535
Thanks: 108
Thanked 343 Times in 228 Posts
Default
Re: Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi Anthony, I am wondering if you have one of the newer Word press sites or the old style Static site? It makes a big difference when you go to modify your site. Word Press can't be modified with a HTML Editor. Instead it is all done from your Word press back office using the Widgets and editors. Of course a static site can be modified with an Editor.

Since you haven't made any changes yet the first step is to know is what type of site you have. it is fairly simple to go from there.

Stephen

Find out how this guy went from being over $40,000 in debt to having total financial freedom and how you can to.Click Here: Freedom ~
Stephen Meyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25th May 2011, 12:28 PM   #4
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Please contact the Helpdesk for support issues.

http://www.pluginprofitsite.com/zendesk

Include
PIPS ID
PIPS Domain
Host cpanel username and password
Wordpress username and password


Originally Posted by nhislove View Post

Hi Guys & Gals.

I know this is off the topic but I know you all would have the experience.

I Need help if you can PLEASE>

I just got locked out of my wp-admin by adding a link in the wrong place.

Is there anyway to get in to fix it (I know what I did wrong but can't get back into wp-admin)

Or

Do I have to go through cpanel and re-install it again and will this work?

when I put in my url it goes to an error page.

Thanks for any advise you all can give.

nhislove

Greg
nmyhouse@yahoo.com

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25th May 2011, 02:22 PM   #5
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

PIPS is PLUG-IN PROFIT SITE - pluginprofitsite.com

If you have a PIPS Site then you have a PIPS affiliate ID. If you have a PIPS site you would have had to give us a domain name so we could build your site.

If you are a PIPS member you have been sent your PIPS username and password for PIPS - the username is the same thing as the PIPS ID.

If you have the newer versions of PIPS it is a Wordpress enabled website. Therefore changes to the site would be made in Wordpress. You would also on Day 9 of the PIPS training have Wordpress usenrname and password.

Originally Posted by nhislove View Post

What is pips id & pips domain?

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26th May 2011, 01:57 AM   #6
YourHomeBizFriend
War Room Member
 
Anthony Jee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 36
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default
Re: Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Originally Posted by Stephen Meyer View Post

Hi Anthony, I am wondering if you have one of the newer Word press sites or the old style Static site? It makes a big difference when you go to modify your site. Word Press can't be modified with a HTML Editor. Instead it is all done from your Word press back office using the Widgets and editors. Of course a static site can be modified with an Editor.

Since you haven't made any changes yet the first step is to know is what type of site you have. it is fairly simple to go from there.

Stephen

Hi Stephen,

How can I tell whether or not mine is the new one or old one? I believe mine is the newer version as I just joined PIPS a month ago?

Thanks

Anthony

Anthony Jee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26th May 2011, 02:15 AM   #7
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: Need help in editing my PIPS site
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

The old sites are written in HTML - they have a link on the left column that says either 'Articles' or if really old they say 'Blog'.

You have to click those links in order to see the blog posts.

With the newest version, the blog post is automatically on your home page when you type in the domain name into your browser.

This is a Wordpress enabled website.

You have no index.html - you have index.php but that is not where you would make changes unless you have a customized site done by Darrin.

The standard PIPS2.0 version custom files are in header.php and footer.php.

Watch these videos for how to modify your Wordpress enabled website.
http://www.warriorforum.com/plug-pro...ml#post3911173

When you want to fix your issue contact the Helpdesk.

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote


Bookmarks

Tags
editing, pips, site


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.