Register Blogs Advertise with usHelp Desk Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 22nd Dec 2008, 02:37 PM   #1
charlie
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default
add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Hi Everyone

can someone explain in some detail how to add pages to my site, i know this is probably pretty basic but i have not got the knowledge to do this so i would be greatful for your help.

thanks

charlene

charlie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22nd Dec 2008, 02:39 PM   #2
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

It is 'basic' to log in to the host server and go to the file manager and create a page, but you would still need to know some HTML principles.

--------------------

UPDATING YOUR WEBSITE

After we build you a website, which is fully functional for the purposes of internet marketing, we do not do any custom design. However, you are free to change your website in any way that you desire - change the look, add links, banners, content or pages.

===========================================

Here are some resources.

Have it done:

PIP Site Help: Home

http://www.pluginprofitsite.com/websiteupdateservices

Only for countries who can’t use Clickbank or Paypal:

PIPS Update Services - Alert Pay

===========================================

Do it yourself:

http://www.pipsitehelp.com/pipvids.php

* If you are updating an affiliate ID, you first of all need to update your PIPS account profile http://www.pluginprofitsite.com/account and this updates the sales page. (don't forget to save it. Replace the wrong number with yours.

(Note if your site was created after 4/30/2008, updating an affiliate ID in your PIPS account profile will automatically update your website so that is all you need to do)
--------------------------------

* If you need to update your website:

Log in to your Host4Profit webpanel with your hosting account username and password.

http://www.YOUR-DOMAIN.com/menu/ (REPLACE "YOUR-DOMAIN" with your PIPS domain name)
===========================================

FIRST MAKE A BACK UP COPY of index.html (index.html is the website)

* From the main directory go to File Manager Open the index.html file with the edit icon.

(it is to the right of the file name and looks like a pencil)

When the file is open and without doing anything to the code, go to the bottom of the page and in the box that says 'save file name'

- type index.bak

now you have two copies of index.html - index.html and index.bak

- you may want to do your changes in index.bak to protect your website

- if you do it this way then, after you test your changes to index.bak, (display the file with big blue 'e' icon to the right of each file name) test the link you added or change you made and also look at everything above and below it to make sure it is still working - click the links, etc to be sure it is okay.

--- if it is okay, then rename index.html to "index1.html" (this is the version with no change) (with the little icon that looks like this "Iab")

--- then rename index.bak to index.html (this is the new version which is now the displayed website)

--- if you changes are not okay, either delete index.bak and start over from making a back up copy of index.html, (a new index.bak) or keep trying on the index.bak until it works right.
===========================================

To UPDATE OR CORRECT AFFILIATE IDs or ADD LINKS OR BANNERS

*Note members who joined on or AFTER May 1, 2008, no longer need to update affiliate IDs on the site. By updating your PIPS account profile, this automatically fixes the sales page AND the site.

From the main directory go to File Manager Open the index.html file with the edit icon.

(it is to the right of the file name and looks like a pencil)

When the file is open click on a BLANK spot at the very top with your mouse.

Hold down the control key with one hand and click F with the other hand (Find)

Now in the box that pops up, put in the wrong number you are seeing.* Click Find and when it finds the number, replace it with your number.

Repeat this until it says 'none found' or 'end of page'

Save the file.

Refresh your browser and view the page

* If you did not include the ID on your application it may be a zero which we added when we set up the site. In this case it would be difficult to find a zero. So instead search for whatever the company domain name is that would be in the link, for example successuniversity.com or empowerism.com, trafficswarm.com, sfimg.com (SFI), marketingtips.com (IMC).

If it is a program or product other than the core programs, then the way to see the URL in the link is to hover over the graphic or link with your mouse (hover means put the mouse/cursor over it but do not click).

With the mouse over the link look down at the lower left-hand corner of your browser status bar (where the 'start' button is) and you will see the URL.
===========================================

NOTE: BE VERY CAREFUL NOT TO DELETE ANY BRACKETS, DITTO MARKS, OR ANYTHING EXCEPT THE NUMBER.

IF YOU DO SO ACCIDENTALLY, THEN JUST HIT YOUR BACK ARROW ON YOUR BROWSER AND GET OUT OF THE FILE WITHOUT SAVING IT. THEN START OVER.
===========================================

To ADD LINKS OR BANNERS -

You will need to learn one of two things. Either basic HTML so you will know where to paste the banner or link without ruining your webpage, or to use a site editor like FrontPage or NVU.

Here is a video done by one of our members about using NVU: http://www.esmartjob.com/blog/websit...tion/edit-page


SEE BELOW
===========================================

If you have the basic PIPS site, I can always restore the file for you if you mess it up. However, keep in mind I CANNOT restore any custom work you have done and you will need to be sure to back up the file so you don't end up paying someone to restore your custom work.

If you have a basic PIPS site and need it restored, contact the helpdesk and give me your domain name, PIPS ID, hosting username and password.
===========================================



http://www.w3schools.com/html/default.asp
http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_examples.asp

http://www.mcli.dist.maricopa.edu/tut/lessons.html
http://www.tizag.com/beginnerT/
http://www.webwizguide.com/kb/
http://academic.brooklyn.cuny.edu/w
http://archive.ncsa.uiuc.edu/
http://www.htmlgoodies.com/
http://www.davesite.com/webstation/html/
http://www.learnthat.com/courses/co

===========================================

If you're looking for an HTML editor here is a site with several you can download for free.

http://www.thesitewizard.com/gettingstarted/nvu1.shtml

http://nvu.com/

http://www.kompozer.net/

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22nd Dec 2008, 04:09 PM   #3
charlie
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Thanks Patricia

can i get pip site help to build me a page, i think that would be easier.

charlene

charlie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22nd Dec 2008, 04:17 PM   #4
OffTheWallflowerChild
War Room Member
 
Patrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,698
Thanks: 6,331
Thanked 2,666 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Yes - I think either Suzanne or Darrin's service.

I was going to joke about that but wasn't sure if you would appreciate my sense of humor.

You want basic/easy directions? Have somebody else do it! hahahaha

PIP Site Help: Home

http://www.pluginprofitsite.com/websiteupdateservices

Patricia Brucoli
Plug-In Profit Site Helpdesk
Patrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22nd Dec 2008, 04:32 PM   #5
Freelance Proofreader
War Room Member
 
Alan Mater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 1,562
Thanks: 55
Thanked 156 Times in 137 Posts
Blog Entries: 2
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Originally Posted by Patrician View Post


You want basic/easy directions? Have somebody else do it! hahahaha
Haha... that's pretty basic for sure.

Basically what I do is go to my file manager and then click on the edit button next to whatever page I want to change. The HTML code for that page will appear.

All I do from there is select all the code and copy and paste it into an HTML editor. From there, you can do whatever you want to it. Change wording, the design, etc.

After you're done, just copy that code and paste it back into the box for that page in the file manager.

Hope that doesn't sound too complicated.

Alan

Alan Mater is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alan Mater For This Useful Post:
Unread 23rd Dec 2008, 12:48 AM   #6
GT
Senior Warrior Member
War Room Member
 
GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2007
Location: Northern Alberta , Canada.
Posts: 2,448
Thanks: 2,399
Thanked 608 Times in 423 Posts
Blog Entries: 357
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Thanks Patricia and Alan for the tips.

Alan, the process I go through has a few more steps in it, but it works about the same. It's the way I learned how to do it, so it works for me!

Charlene, I learned how to create new pages, make changes to pages and how to use an HTML editor from mentors and members in the PIPS Power Group. Specifically, guides provided to PPG members by mentor Suzanne Morrison.

You can pay someone else to do it and that is definitely the easy way. I prefer to learn a bit about the processes (and I am stubborn), so rather than paying someone else to do site changes and SEO (search engine optimization), I "pay the price" in time, effort, frustration and hair loss .

In the long run, I think it is a good investment because you gain a sense of empowerment and freedom when you learn the basics of how things work.

GT

* You Can Begin Earning Affiliate Income HereDirect Commissions and Residual Income!
* Home Business Resources and Affiliate Opportunities
* Visit This Library to Expand Your KnowledgeBlog Post
* Reinventing Your Life - Make the Rest of Your Life the BEST of Your Life!
* Follow Me On Twitter ===> MyPowerSite <===| gtbulmer | StarrBizzcom
GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 23rd Dec 2008, 07:02 AM   #7
Warrior Member
 
fdzlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: JB,Malaysia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

I also do a same way. Copy and paste. But I'm do it in my PC first. I'm afraid that after changed directly to webpanel maybe I'm ruin my site.
I have learned basic about HTML. But my problem is I'm not creative!! I edit my website by myself, but after looking your guys site, I'm become envy with yours. By the way I have feeling that some day my site totally change at least 50% of it. Just need a time. I will do all by myself . I believe this a good way for me to become master of HTML.

FADZLI

fdzlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 23rd Dec 2008, 08:12 AM   #8
Freelance Proofreader
War Room Member
 
Alan Mater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 1,562
Thanks: 55
Thanked 156 Times in 137 Posts
Blog Entries: 2
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

The cool thing about copy and pasting the code in an html editor is that you can see the changes you're making, and if things get screwed up, you can easily "undo" your changes and try again. None of this will be live and no one will ever know.

You can experiment and learn how things work this way. Once everything looks good, just copy and paste back into your file manager for that page, and now the changes are live.

It's a great learning experience. I've been lucky to have learned and had to mess with html quite a few years ago, so it's almost second nature to me now. I've memorized a lot of code and can just type it out if I need something to be a certain way.

Everyone's strengths and abilities are different, as well as the time it takes to learn something new. Go at your own pace and do whatever is comfortable for you.

Alan

Alan Mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 23rd Dec 2008, 08:30 AM   #9
Lee Cole
War Room Member
 
absolutelee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 880
Thanks: 176
Thanked 463 Times in 312 Posts
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

A couple of things that haven't been mentioned. For your site's "home page", the one that you want to appear whenever someone goes to www.yoursite.com, make sure that page is named "index.html". Other than that, it's just a matter of creating the page in an HTML editor then uploading it to your server.

Some HTML editors handle the uploading semi-automatically. But I usually use my web host's FTP program. FTP means "file transfer protocol", that's how computers transfer files from one to another. Using FTP programs is a snap. Find the FTP icon in your CPanel (dashboard for your hosing account), then click on it. You'll see two columns of files, the left is the file system on your desktop (the one your sitting at), the right is the file system on your hosting account. Usually all you need to do to transfer a file from one side to the other is highlight it, then click "upload" to move a file from your computer to your remote, hosting account. or "download" to move a file from your hosting account to your desktop.

FTP'ing sounds very technical at first, but it's not. Just dive in. Worst case, call your hosting account and get them to help you. If you have a host account with a good company like BlueHost, they'll be glad to give you advice.

Hope that helps!

absolutelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 23rd Dec 2008, 01:41 PM   #10
charlie
 
Join Date: 2008
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default
Re: add pages
Share on: 
fb share twitter share gplus share more share

Thanks for all your advise, i think ile give it ago and try and do it myself as you say its a good leaning curve,

charlene

charlie1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Bookmarks

Tags
add, pages


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 AM.