6 replies
  • SEO
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Hello Warriors,

I understood that it is recommended to look for high paying keywords for adsense using the contextual search tool. But I am bit confused by the results I get. I want to find high paying keywords and many times the results are not consistent.

For example (fictitious example) : keyword "natural acne cures" - the bid is $3 but for "acne cures" the bid is $1. In this case the cheaper keyword is composed within the expensive keyword. The advertiser can always target the cheaper keyword. Why would they target the expansive keyword?

Let's assume that I make a few articles with the keywords "natural acne cures" in order to target the high paying keyword. The advertiser can be smart and target the keyword "acne cures" which is much cheaper. The ads will appear in my website for a much cheaper CPC as the advertiser targeted cheaper keyword which is composed within the expensive keyword. What's the point in targeting the expansive keyword?

There are many other examples like that. This leaves me quite confused.

Am I missing something ?

Thank you
#adsense #bid #keywords #sense
  • Profile picture of the author NoMoreWords
    Not everything is as you think it is.

    The idea of targeting the shorter, and more expensive, keyword is that you are going to have a much larger audience. Of course, an advertiser might target your KW "natural acne cures" and pay only a buck, but he is only going to get so much traffic.

    If he chose to advertise for "acne cures" the thing he is advertising would appear to a much larger audience. Because the potential reach is larger, the CPC for the word is much less. If the KW had 1,000,000 search volume and near 5% CTR, high bids for the word would be useless.
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    • Profile picture of the author JackCronfield
      Actually the short one is the cheaper one - the long one is more expansive. This is the reason for my confusion. Also I've noticed that the bid for keyword fluctuate quite a lot.
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      • Profile picture of the author NoMoreWords
        Originally Posted by JackCronfield View Post

        Actually the short one is the cheaper one - the long one is more expansive. This is the reason for my confusion. Also I've noticed that the bid for keyword fluctuate quite a lot.
        Let's imagine that the shorter KW (cheaper) has 1,000,000 searches per month, and the shorter one has 100,000 searches per month (imaginary figures, not exact).

        So imagine your AdWords campaign has around 1% CTR (I know that you're not advertising, you're a publisher right?) So 1% from 1,000,000 would be 10,000*$1=$10,000

        1% from 100,000 would be 1,000*$3=$3,000.

        Why you're going to ask? Small companies can only pay so much if they target the 1,000,000 KW. Therefore the company isn't reaching the maximum potential audience. It's better to pay for a more expensive KW which has a smaller amount of searches per month, but run the campaign for a larger period of time. This way a larger number of UNIQUE clicks will be achieved. And after all that's what you are after, if you're an advertiser.
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        • Profile picture of the author JackCronfield
          Thanks. One more question: I am targeting high paying adsense contextual keywords. But my CPC is extremely low: $0.20 - $0.40
          My traffic is from the USA so it's considered to be good traffic. What's happening here ?
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          • Profile picture of the author NoMoreWords
            Originally Posted by JackCronfield View Post

            Thanks. One more question: I am targeting high paying adsense contextual keywords. But my CPC is extremely low: $0.20 - $0.40
            My traffic is from the USA so it's considered to be good traffic. What's happening here ?
            If your website is new that's normal. This is due to a few factors. The approximate CPC in the keyword tool is the MAXIMUM that the advertiser will have to pay for a click. This doesn't mean that you're going to be cashing $10 for every single click. There are thousands of people that are advertising for a kw, and not all of them pay the same rates. So don't expect to receive large numbers always.

            Also, when your website is new, it takes time to build trust in Google's eyes. Once you get that trust, get a lot of targeted traffic, earnings will go up. Some people say that building trust also has to do with bounce rates, time on site, and pages per unique visitor. I'm not quite sure about that, but it does have some sense.
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  • Profile picture of the author Hansons
    Other thing is you should test yourself, which works good for you..
    Signature

    Is your website Hacked? Try -> www.sitebeak.com
    Is Google Analytics installed Properly? Test -> www.GAtective.com
    Impersonal Google search? Check -> www.impersonal.me

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